Canon Powershot G11 Review

Canon Powershot G11 Review

0Comments

Canon’s G series cameras have been around for a while and are much used by semi pros and pros needing an easy to use backup camera that still offers quality image capture.

PowerShot G11_01.jpg

The G11 continues the breed, with some improvements tucked away under the bonnet but with one or two surprising omissions.

Image capture maxes out at 10 million pixels; the lens is an optically stabilised and reasonably fast f2.8 Canon optic that has a 35 SLR equivalent of 28-140mm … or 5x.

The ten million pixel CCD delivers a maximum image size of 3648×2746 pixels or, in print-speak, a 31x23cm output at 300 dpi. RAW and JPEG capture are available. In the current climate, the movie specs are disappointing with only 640×480 pixel capture.

While many compact digicams shout about their higher res capture — 12 megapixels and more — it’s useful to compare apples with apples: the G11’s CCD measures 14.9mm across the diagonal while the compacts mostly reach 11mm — a significant difference. This is what Canon is all about.

PowerShot G11_04.jpg

At first look, the G11 seemed to be smaller than the previous G10 model and it sort of was — and wasn’t! Overall, the G11 is about five percent larger … a little wider and higher. However it’s still a very compact camera and could fit most outer coat pockets.

Canon Powershot G11 Features

Looking more and more lonely these days is the G11’s optical viewfinder, uncorrected for parallax and with little more going for it than it gives a bright view of the scene, even in bright sunlight. You will have to be careful of vertical parallax when shooting subjects a metre or so from the camera.

Supporting this optical finder is the rear 7.1 cm LCD screen, tiltable vertically and swingable horizontally. Compared to its compact digicams peers the LCD has relatively low resolution but worked well in my shooting adventures with the G11.

What sets the G11 apart is its direct control of the some of the camera’s settings via two concentric mode dials. The inner one leads you to auto, Program, aperture and shutter priority exposure modes, give access to scene modes, two custom settings and movie shooting. A Quick Shot Mode offers display LCD of the camera’s current settings like white balance, image size etc with idea that you view with the optical finder and just fire away.

The other mode dial is an ISO speed dial, which gives direct access to all settings — ISO 80 to 3200: a far better approach than a dig and delve in the finder menu.

The ISO test shot at the 80 setting showed superb quality, with no sign of noise

The ISO test shot at the 80 setting showed superb quality, with no sign of noise


(insert Canon G11 ISO 80 f4.5 1/25 sec.JPG)
Same quality at ISO 800 — ideal for low light work

Same quality at ISO 800 — ideal for low light work

Pretty good at ISO 1600 — with only a slight loss of definition

Pretty good at ISO 1600 — with only a slight loss of definition

Canon G11 ISO 3200 f4.5 1_1000 sec

A direct access to an interesting Low Light Mode is here also: the ISO speed will be varied between 320 and 12,800, with a faster shutter speed, according to ambient conditions.

To the left of these controls is another direct access button to raise or lower exposure compensation: two f stops up or down in third stop increments.

In the area of face detection Canon has chosen a smart approach: aim the camera at a face, press the frame detector button and the AF system will lock on this face, no matter how much you reframe and alter its position in the picture.

The G11’s continuous shooting abilities are less than superb: a rate of 1.1 pictures/second is available, with focus and exposure locked; step back to 07 pics/sec and the camera continues to focus.

Slow waterfall 1.jpg

I managed to capture this shot by using an exposure of f8 at 1/13 second. Had I needed more water blurr I also could have switched in a neutral density filter that shrinks the incoming light levels to 1/8 or three f stops.

Startup Time

The camera was ready to shoot about one to two seconds after startup; follow on shots at about a second each.

Distortion

There was noticeable barrel distortion at the wide end of the zoom, with little visible at the tele end.

Comments

The G11 is a fine camera and should win friends who want an easy to use, high quality picture maker.

Koi 2.jpg

Quality: about as good as it gets with a compact digicam. If you need better colour capture and higher resolution you may have to pick up a DSLR.

Why you’d buy the G11: optical finder; direct access to important settings.

Why you wouldn’t: poor movie specs; poor burst rate.

Canon PowerShot G11 Specifications

Image Sensor: 10 million effective pixels.
Metering: Evaluative, centre-weighted average; spot.
Sensor Size: 14.9mm CCD.
Lens: f2.8-4.5/6.1-30.5mm (28-140mm as 35 SLR equivalent).
Shutter Speed: 1 to 1/4000 second.
Continuous Shooting: 1.1fps.
Memory: SD, SDHC, MMC, MMCplus, HC MMCplus cards,
Image Sizes (pixels): 3648×2746, 3648×2736, 3648×2048, 2816×2112, 2272×1704, 1600×1200, 640×480. Movies: 640×480, 320×240 at 30 fps.
File Formats: JPEG, RAW, Motion JPEG.
ISO Sensitivity: Auto, 80 to 3200.
Interface: USB 2.0, AV, DC input.
Power: Rechargeable lithium ion battery.
Dimensions: 112.1×76.2×48.3 WHDmm.
Weight: Approx. 355 g (body only).
Price: The Canon Powershot G11 is currently $453.99 at Amazon.

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category

Barrie Smith is an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas.

Some Older Comments

  • tk November 11, 2010 04:16 pm

    I just read great reviews. I'm going to get a G11 now:)

  • Stratman October 29, 2010 01:45 am

    @ shangoba:

    Simply proclaiming that the S90 is better than the G11 without furnishing your side of the argument doesn't cut it. You have to express why you feel the S90 is superior to the G11.

    To be fair, I own both the G11 and the new S95 compact. Both have their merits and demerits. I like the fact that the S95 is more portable and that I can carry it everywhere with me but the G11 gives me a more features like higher shutter speeds than 1/1600th of a second, built-in ND filter, the ability to use circular PL and graduated ND filters and not to mention bounced flash photography with an external Speedlite.

  • Shangoba October 28, 2010 02:37 pm

    Get Canon S90, which is much better than G11

  • rmvandy April 21, 2010 05:57 pm

    Eric, it will be more than a "fun" camera if you get it. You'll probably find that, working in much the same style as you do with your SLR, you get good photos that enlarge sharply to at least 8 x 10.

    Seventy-five percent of digital photos can be shot successfully by a subcompact point-and-shoot. Those of us who want to try for the 95th percentile or so bought the G11. Beyond that I have to settle.

  • Eric April 20, 2010 06:45 pm

    I'm a Nikon guy (D3 currently) but I predict that this will be a 'for fun' camera for me at some point in the near future

  • rmvandy March 29, 2010 06:01 pm

    I just received my G11 a month or so ago after reading DPS and other sites extensively. I had wanted something with a much broader zoom range, and with more megapixels. It was like wanting a stretch limo to drive to the store, and a reader here helped me see that. I was moving up from 4 mp and 3x zoom, so the G11 was a real improvement, but realistic.

    The viewfinder was essential to my choice of G11: I've been shooting since I received my first Kodak Brownie in the '50s, (it actually was a reflex), and I just like them. Plus, being farsighted and needing trifocals, the LCDs can be a real bother. But contrary to what one writer here noted, I can't imagine that the difference between a 2.8-inch and 3--inch screen is such a big deal. The G11's has something like 461,000 pixels, and that's very brilliant and detailed.

    But here's the clincher: Most of the people who whine about a mere 10mp or short 5x zoom are shooting either to leave their exposures in a PC (or dumping them on line) or are quick-printing to post-card size. You you don't need 15.7mp for that. Unless you routinely print poster-size for sale in galleries, you don't need a gazillion mp. If you're so good that you need 15 or 24mp, you're photoshopping each image for an hour, and you should be able to create a good blowup with that kind of time investment. You have a $3,000 investment in lighting and even more in good glass. As one writer here put it, it''s just man jewelry for most of them.

    Yes, the G11 takes longer to set up than an S90 or whatever it was, but as Stephen Van or SM noted, in the silver days, we had time to think about our exposures as we dialed them in. Normal people didn't have motor drives or automatics. We had to hand lever each frame forward, press something while we wheeled in the focus, and pressed something else to dial in the exposure. So a G11 takes 0.5 sec to focus after pressing the shutter? So it has a 1.1-sec-per-frame rate?

    I'm getting the best pictures of my life after decades with an f-SLR -- film, that is -- and a few other not-so-hot digitals. The G11 is not a point-and-shoot any more than a Leica is; it's an all-in-one solution for discriminating amateurs and pros. It cost less than $500, and for about $100 more I got a 0.45x wide-angle, 2.2x tele, and 10x macro accessory lenses and mounting tube. And the results are sharp. Canon offers a dive case, and has two standard flashes (270ex and 580ex) and a ring flash that can be controlled through the hot shoe (yes, a ring flash), The included Canon photo software is excellent for color, brightness, and contrast adjustment, too.

    And of course I second what Stephen and SM wrote.

  • nick February 22, 2010 05:17 pm

    My G10 bought in UK and G11 bought in USA ( a saving of over £200) both had printed manuals, which I think should be obligatory as manuals are best in the pocket not on the pc

    Cost cutting I assume

    n

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 22, 2010 06:10 am

    Nope--bought two of the G11s in London, but only a quick start guide and the manual on disk. I don't mind. All my books end up digitised anyway.

  • nick February 22, 2010 02:48 am

    @stephen That’s a pretty loaded set of questions! I’ll give a brief reply but add that the manual included on the disk is pretty comprehensive about the controls and how to use them. Shame they don’t put printed manuals with anything.

    I got a printed manual with my G11, didn't you?

    n

  • sm February 19, 2010 01:59 am

    @ Stephen van Scoyoc

    Great writeup on the G11. If I may suggest, join the Flickr group for G11 users. There are plenty of interesting discussions on add-on third party accessories and off-shoe flash techniques over there. :-)

    @amna

    Congrats on choosing the G11! I've got plenty of cat pics on Flickr and you can post pics of your kitty in the various feline related groups. I mostly take photos of my cats outside in the garden where the lighting is superior to indoor illumination.

  • nick February 19, 2010 01:59 am

    Funnily enough the genuine G10 case had the opposite problem, you needed to be Samson to get the two halves apart. I honestly felt the case was going to tear sometimes, it was that hard to separate.

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 19, 2010 01:24 am

    Yep, same nuisance with the snap. I have been taking it off all the way, but I think I'll give the pliers a go! Probably all that way.

  • nick February 19, 2010 01:21 am

    G11 cases. Yes I bought one of these cheap cases for my G11. It's not as good as the Canon one I had on my G10, but is as you say perfectly good for the money. In fact I think I paid less! I found the top cover came unclipped from the base when hanging down rather too easily, I was constantly picking it up again, but a few squeezes with a pair of pliers seems to have fixed that!

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 19, 2010 12:54 am

    G11 Cases--Maybe should start this on a new thread, but I'll take a chance it's fine here. I wanted a leather case for the G11, but the Canon offering seemed pretty dear so I took a chance on one of many being offered on e-bay here for £19.95 including postage. I was delighted to find it's a very nice case. They are available in black and brown and I imagine they all roll out of the same factory in Hong Kong. If you've been tempted by one but worried about the quality I can say that they are very reasonable for the price.

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 19, 2010 12:44 am

    I should have added one other thing about the OV OE dial. It's particularly useful in night photography where meters are often unreliable and the sensor in the camera does not behave predictable. Say you are wanting to photograph a street scene. With the camera on a tripod or suitable braced on a wall or car, you shoot one photo in normal, then move the dial to +1 and snap a photo, then move to +2 and snap a photo. Repeat the other way and then review the images. You will quickly see the effect and may often find that one of the compensated photos is the best rather than the one the camera thought might be best.

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 19, 2010 12:37 am

    That's a pretty loaded set of questions! I'll give a brief reply but add that the manual included on the disk is pretty comprehensive about the controls and how to use them. Shame they don't put printed manuals with anything. However, I think you will find that the controls you asked about will make good sense if you read any good book on photography, particularly those that are more traditional as the G11 seems to cater to that.

    The star button is an exposure lock. It's in a pretty clumsy place. If you want to expose for a particular part of the scene where there are many different light levels, you point the camera at the part of the scene you want exposed correctly and push the star button. You will see two bars appear on the screen that will show the exposure the camera has selected. Now, when you press the shutter button halfway, a star will appear along with the set exposure. If you press this button by accident you can press it again to set new settings, or turn it off by pressing the shutter button half way, releasing it, and pressing any other button. I find that pressing the Func Set button twice is the easiest way to turn the lock off again or simply snap the shutter and start over (faster actually).

    For a little more control in these situations, for example, where you are photographing a person against a bright background like the sky, you might use the dial on the left top with plus and minus 1-2. Moving to a +1 will allow double the light to enter the camera from what the meter wants and +2 will allow four times the light to reach the sensor. Likewise, going to minus settings will reduce the light. Experienced photographers will either use this intuitively in various shooting conditions or use it to bracket their exposures to ensure getting a perfectly exposed photograph.

    The other two dials are also traditional dials with a few modern extras. Auto does everything and I can't tell you much about it because I never use it. P is program and this will automate most features of the camera. Tv will allow you to set the shutter speed while the camera will sort out the lens opening (aperture), Av will allow you to set the aperture while the camera will sort the shutter speed, and M allows you to control both. Why would you want to control these? If you want to photograph a stream and show the water moving rather than frozen you might have a disagreement with the camera. The camera might be keen to choose 1/1000 shutter speed which will freeze the water in place. Using Tv you can set the shutter speed at 1/30 and the camera will be forced to stop down the lens opening. On the G11 you may have to also use the neutral density filter to avoid overexposure. You can do the same thing in Av (also called aperture priority) by adjusting the lens opening until the desired shutter speed is achieved. Many photographers have one preference or the other, often depending on what sort of camera they had in the "olden" days.

    Finally, the dial with numbers 80-3200. These can be chosen, I believe, when the camera in in P, Tv, Av, and manual modes. These are equivalent to traditional film speeds. As with film, 80 and 100 will give the finest image, but that may not be the effect you want nor will it always be possible to shoot at these speeds. In dim light you may have to bump it up or you may want a coarser image such as that obtained with faster films like Tri-X at 400 or beyond.

    I hope this helps a bit as a starting point. The best advice I can give is to buy a small notebook and make notes about each photograph you take. Pick one subject, like your cat, and experiment using different settings. Your image editor should also tell you what the settings were for each photograph you took. Also, disable the flash when doing these things because the flash has a way of taking over the control of the photograph and results. Also, get a basic book about photography and follow it by setting the controls the way it describes. Then you can see the dramatic effects that manipulating these controls has. It's very empowering.

    Good luck.

  • Amna February 18, 2010 10:54 am

    Nice convo ya'll are having here :D (Yeah I read it all..)

    I just got the G11 this past weekend, and I've been playing with it all week. Mostly taking pics of my cat since I can't leave the house. It seems like a great camera so far, but I came here in search of help on using it.
    I think I've figured out the 2 dials on the right, but what is that small dial with numbers on the left side for? I know I sound like a big newb...BC I am. I've only used easy peasy Casio and Sony cybershot P&S cameras so far. (And I had a Kodak advantix back in HS..hehe :).
    I bought this one BC my Casio P&S just died on me while on vacation in Bali..it just stopped working. Maybe had something to do with the fact that it had been dropped twice...(not by me.)
    Also, what does the star/asterisk button do?? How come the manual doesn't have any useful info?
    Thanks in advance!
    :D

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 13, 2010 03:39 am

    Very profound (grins). I agree, for me, the G11 feels about as right as I'm prepared to spend. I really want a digital Leica, but I can buy another convertible for that amount of money! A bit larger than a G11 would be more comfortable for me. Then again, I wear an Ollech and Weiz instead of a Rolex. Story of my life.

  • nick February 13, 2010 03:31 am

    It's always been the case that a sizeable portion of camera owners are more into the owning than the using. In the same way many people with state of the art sound systems play a lot of awful music through them!

    People are into the specifications of the medium not the message its capable of

    Gosh thats profound innit?

    I had a praktica too, but I really loved my next camera a Spotmatic F. Lovely tactile camera to use and I think ergonomics contribute as much as what's inside, they make you enjoy taking photos. Some of these dSLRs are really ugly brutes and lumpy to use, all you want to do is put them down again

    So to return to the G11, I really like using this camera. It feels right, although not quite as right as the G10

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 13, 2010 03:04 am

    What I find really interesting about all this is the amazing capability of all the SLRs now available. When I was working at my peak most of us would have given our eye teeth to have the power of even entry level cameras today. Few of us could afford or justify Nikons although certainly most of us wanted them. I'm even more surprised, although I shouldn't be I suppose, to find that most of those cameras are in the hands of those who don't really know much about photography (I'm being generous here) and have no intention to learn. The most profitable photo I ever took (front page, top half, full colour on a Sunday) was taken with a Praktica EE2 which was pretty much outclassed by just about anything else although it did have a first rate lens on it.

    I suppose it was brought home to me by somebody, who shall remain nameless, who borrowed one of my cameras and two weeks later showed up with a business card announcing him to be a professional photographer. What could I do? Bury my head in my hands and cry. Sometime later, when he was worrying over a photo that didn't quite work, I began to explain about depth of field, lens sharpness at wide open apertures, and the importance of the relationship between lens openings and shutter speeds. His eyes glazed over and he began talking about buying a new lens that would work better. Sigh. I don't remember if I ever had business cards or not, but I had plenty of work.

    On this site I've seen a lot of people wanting to learn about photography and what I want to say is that plenty of us learned quite a lot on some pretty bad cameras. The basics haven't changed and I was not too surprised to find that a book I bought when I was twelve still nails it all on the head and applies to a point and shoot from 1950 (yes, they existed then) as well as a top of the range Nikon today. Understanding those basics has dramatic results with a G11 or a DSLR and separates the ones who think they look competent with metal and glass around the neck from those who really are.

    I watched a friend of mine, who is far better than I am and still working as a pro, take a punter's camera at a group shoot--it was a Samsung prosumer something or other--and proceed to shoot a series of stunning photographs that the owner didn't know it was capable of, small sensor and all. Of course, I've watched him bouncing around at informal gatherings with a £60 camera from Sainsbury's taking stunning, professional shots that later ended up on websites.

    So, I'm trying to encourage people to start at the beginning and really test out their gear to see what it is capable of. The results will be stunning and the efforts of a determined photographer will often far outstrip the results of better equipment in the hands of the less informed and experienced.

  • nick February 13, 2010 02:19 am

    Well Its odd, it maybe driven by the fact that, I think, Canons top end dSLR lenses are cheaper than Nikons

    And I think too, to be controversial here, a lot of press photographers these days are just monkeys with cameras. Especially the paparazzi. All they need is a camera capable of hi rez pics and so they go for, or are issued with, the cheapest pro kit, which I think is generally canon here in uk

    Certainly Nikon have the cheaper entry dSLRs though. The D40 is in every tourist's hand here in london!

    b

  • Andrew Areoff February 13, 2010 01:59 am

    Thankd for a highly comprehensive article. I have a powershot S90 and it is a superb camera for close-ups and gorund level shots. I considered the Powershot G11 but it wasn't quite compact enough to carry around in my pocket which is important when I might have up to two other cameras on my person at the same time.

    Moral of the story is to have the right camera for the shot in hand.

  • Leifur February 13, 2010 01:16 am

    Horses for courses .......

    I've got a Nikon D300 for low-light non-flash portraits and family photos, a D3000 to take hiking in summer (and good weather), a G10 for marginal weather and winter hiking and a D10 (my latest toy) for real lousy weather. As far as I'm concerned nothing beats Nikon on the DSLR front (not that I can claim to be an expert!) but Canon rules on the compact front.

    Incidentally, what brought me here was a search for the G10's (or G11's) minimum aperture - from ruined photos taken in the snow it seems to be a very fast f/8 (which compares poorly with my D300's f/22).

    I wonder why this number is never published ....

  • sm February 13, 2010 01:13 am

    @ nick

    I noticed the trend amongst serious amateurs and pros shifting towards Canon dSLRs lately. But in Malaysia where I'm from, there's a great Canon/Nikon dSLR divide. I noticed that a lot of local professional wedding photographers prefer the midrange and high end Nikons while non-pro enthusiasts go for Canon EOS models.

    However, entry level Nikons like the D60 and D3000 are priced cheaper here than say, the EOS 450D - therefore the Nikons tend to appeal more to consumers who just want a dSLR with a kit lens. It's most probably price driven.

    Back in the early 80s, Nikon dominated the film SLR scene. I often see enthusiasts toting the lovely Nikon FE (I was a student then, couldn't afford one) and teenagers of my age having the budget Nikon EM. I chose the Canon AV-1 instead and later, the EOS 620. Ever since cameras had been Canons for me, except for a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W150 which I carry with me everywhere.

    The Sony was my 2nd choice as I couldn't find a Canon IXUS that had the features that I wanted. By the time Canon introduced both the PowerShot S90 and G11, it didn't make sense to get another small digicam (overlapping the Sony's role), therefore the G11 was the logical choice for me.

    For some reason, Nikon hasn't been able to come up with something better than the G-series in its Coolpix line. But Nikon does make highly respectable midrange and flagship dSLRs though. :-)

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 13, 2010 12:54 am

    Yeah, have to admit that I went back to the review source I consider most detailed and it clearly said the same about plastic. I was probably scanning, saw metal, and carried on. I'm not disappointed. I'm probably the same way with road signs! Not a very proud claim for a guy who earns a living editing and writing books!

    I always hankered after Nikons, but ended up with Canon by accident. I was on an assignment when all my German gear was stolen from a client's office. I popped into a pawn shop, the only thing within a hundred miles that sold cameras, and bought a beat up AE-1 to finish the job with. Except for a Chinon or something like that it was all he had. I was walking across the top of a dam in the US, with water running over it, to photograph an Ingersoll Rand drill 300 feet out on the span. I must have been crazy. Got the pics and Ingersoll was happy. Sheesh. It had a winder and a few accessories so I just built from there. The lenses never seemed quite as good as the Zeiss (except for the L glass 1.2 50 mm), but the kit was reliable and worked for as long as I did. The body gave way to a bevy of A1s. It didn't really matter--to me a camera is still just a box with a hole in it and every new model always seemed a compromise on the ones before.

    If you want something heavy to club people with you would be one of the few I recommend the Sigma SD-10 to! Bulk and weight unmatched by any of the competition along with a rugged poly body and metal chassis!

    I always loved MF and I have been thinking about 8X10...

  • nick February 13, 2010 12:51 am

    I guess one day they will take the same quality though. Probably hard wired to our eyes

    Ah well I was always a Nikon person, I felt rather bad buying the G10 and then the G11 but Nikon dont make anything comparable unfortunately

    I see in my travels that the majority of pros use canon dSLRs , was never thus back in the day, I wonder why?

    n

  • sm February 13, 2010 12:45 am

    @nick

    "And people say the G11 is bulky….."

    +1 for your last statement, Nick. It never ceases to amaze me that people who had never had the experience with old school film SLRs expect digital P&S cameras to be the size of a tiny cellphone and yet take full frame dSLR image quality. :-)

    I still love the old Canon FD-mount SLRs of the seventies and the 1st generation EOS film SLRs of the late eighties!

  • nick February 13, 2010 12:30 am

    Actually all the reviews I read before I bought the G11 mentioned the 'plastic' rear shell. yes it may be over metal, it's just the feel I dont like

    Ah well Nikons eh? I have a Nikon F Photomic with the motor drive, quite a rare thing as they had to be custom fitted to each individual camera. The battery grip takes 8 AAs! Which adds to the enormous weight. But when I was photographing bands 1976/ 81, it came in handy as a weapon to deter security or to clear a path to the stage. That camera with a 28mm plus a Nikkormat with a trombone zoom was a fearsome photo combo for gigs and they never ever failed to work flawlessly even after you'd bounced them off some punk's head a few times.

    And they still do work, although its been a while since I used the motor drive to be honest. I'm not sure I could still carry the load. I still have a stoop from the old days.

    And people say the G11 is bulky.....

    N

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 12, 2010 11:23 pm

    I'm going to have to stand corrected. After scraping around a bit with my pocketknife inside the battery compartment I found that indeed, the front half is metal while the rest is plastic or polycarbonate. I suspect, however, that this is built around a metal chassis as is common with better cameras, but I'm not going to get out my screwdrivers to find out! It's good plastic, but plastic just the same. The review I trusted for that tidbit was fooled as I was. Good plastic...what an age we live in.

    I couldn't imagine concert photos in anything but grainy Tri-X! That's always been the shame of digital--it's like having a camera with only one kind of film. Who thought that was a good idea?

    I'm all thumbs with gloves and have never been good at wearing them and using a camera. Guess that's why I prefer more tropical climes--why again am I here in England???

    The zoom was a disappointment although I tend to set it near 50mm equiv and leave it there. The Leica Digilux 1 I was using had a lovely smooth and precise zoom as well as magnesium body--a good thing since it took at least two really sound four foot drops onto wood and stone floors and kept working flawlessly. I'll try to be gentle with the G11. It might not survive.

    I'd better leave it there or I might start browsing ebay for a Nikon F series...I'm already starting to drool.

  • nick February 12, 2010 11:09 pm

    I would definitely agree about 'noise', I too am a tri-x at 800 + (Nikon F and F2) kind of guy and nothing (repeat nothing) gets better pictures of live bands. Digital is too clean for that job. Recent shots by the legendary Penny Smith of Blur at Glastonbury last year done on her old Pentax Spotmatic show how film just is so much better.

    The G11 does have a plastic rear shell though, you can feel it and if you tap it with your fingernail you can hear it too. And when I was in austria last week in intense cold, you noticed the rear shell stayed 'warm'

    Wearing gloves as I was obviously doing most of the time, the accidental button push became more of a problem particularly as you say with the wheel and its inner etc.

    I like focusing manually personally, at least on a SLR, I have never seen how auto focus benefits anyone but people shooting action/animals/sport etc

    yes the G11s zoom is notchy... but any motorised zoom is not as good as a manual 'trombone' type zoom

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 12, 2010 10:40 pm

    The subject of noise seems to come up a lot as a negative thing. Many of us who used film saw grain, ie noise, in the faster films as an opportunity to adjust our approach and do something creative with it. It seems that now, a camera is expected to produce a velvet smooth result at all ISO settings and exposures rather than producing a "noisy" image that is attractive and subject to some artistic expression. One of my own trademarks has always been B&W images on Ilford's 3200 pushed to 12,000 and beyond and yielding both a useful and attractive result. When compared with my beat-up SD-10 (which is marvelous for B&W because of the full colour information and non-interpolated pixels in the RAW image--this info is used by my plug-ins to translate the colours into the same grey scale algorithms that were used by popular films like Tri-X, TMAX, Agfa, etc.), the G11 at least has attractive noise--that is, it is evenly distributed like film grain rather than clumpy, green, and banded as the SD-10 generally produces--ugghh. I can see possibilities here. My point here is that quality isn't only about the size of the sensor or the megapixels, but also about how the camera processes the image. Let's not forget that five years ago everyone, pros included, thought a 6mpex image was the bee's knees. All cameras, including those with smaller sensors, have improved impressively.

    Buttons are always a love or hate thing as we all have such different fingers. I haven't had a real problem with the buttons except that I do wish the wheel was either rubberized or had sharper teeth on it and I often find that in turning it I have also activated the function buttons inside of it. I'll get used to it. The chassis is metal, by the way, and I don't get the impression that it is plasticy or flimsy in any way.

    Other users have noticed and I agree that the zoom control on the G11 is a bit notchy and not very precise. When used with central exposure and focus rather than evaluative it is quick to lock on and lag time is very short--remember that at one time we had to focus manually and lock exposure as a second step.

    As it has for decades, different cameras appeal to different users and suit themselves to different purposes. The differences between my SD-10 and the G11 are stark indeed with each having a long list of both pros and cons yet each serves a particular purpose to me and, moreover, each is capable of delivering impressive results when I use them appropriately. Incidentally, before my use of an SD-10 inspires any hoots of derision I must add that I can't think of anyone I would recommend it or the SD-14 to. For most people, the Nikons and Canons (I used Canon A-series for years and year, Prakticas and Exactas for years before that) are better choices. The controls on the SD and the G11 are very similar, which is to say, they are as traditional as they could be as digitals with reliance on old-fashioned dials on the top plate. Newer generations are probably very adept at menus and buttons, but I'm afraid I'm an old dog getting a bit long in the tooth!

  • nick February 12, 2010 10:16 pm

    @barbara
    If you have a G10 hang on to it, mine got stolen so I bought a G11 but while the G11 has some attractive features I do miss the G10's bigger screen, its all metal construction and the fact that the rear buttons aren't so easily pressed by mistake. The G11's buttons are a real pain in that respect!

    As for the improved noise on the G11, mehh, no big deal in average use.

  • sm February 12, 2010 05:12 pm

    @Richard Eng:

    No, you are NOT a liar. You said "majority" of your shots were taken at f/2. Majority is NOT all. Read my post again before you respond with a knee jerk reaction.

    "What a nimrod…"

    Hoo boy, it takes one to know one, doesn't it Dick? ;-)

  • Barbara February 12, 2010 04:19 pm

    For Adam (above)
    Yes, this camera is a beaut for street photography (I have the G10) It can hang comfortably around your neck and is unobtrusive. I used mine in Tanzania and Nepal (in both countries, the locals are not that keen to be photographed) and it worked really well.The huge LCD allows for quick and easy composition.

  • Barbara February 12, 2010 04:14 pm

    My Canon G10 really complements my Nikon D300. It is perfect for everyday shooting. Not sure whether I will up-grade to the G11 but it is tempting! A great combination of camera's for me.

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 12, 2010 09:20 am

    I was very tempted by the S90 for those very reasons--small size, excellent fast lens, cool lens ring control--but I needed both the optical viewfinder and a hot shoe and, frankly, my hands seem to work better with a slightly larger body. In all fairness, 28mm (equivalent) has always been a very popular focal length. It's not by accident that more fixed focal length cameras were 28mm than any other. The results are generally sharp. It works for most general shooting and it's cheaper and easier to make a fast lens at that length. Shooting at 2.0 isn't my first choice as it's seldom the sharpest f-stop for a given lens, but it makes some shots possible that might otherwise elude. I don't have any first hand experience with the S90, but it certainly seems to fill the bill for an excellent, pocketable reportage camera.

  • Richard Eng February 12, 2010 08:54 am

    I prefer the S90 over the G11 because I can carry it in my shirt pocket! The best camera is the one you always have with you and there's no way I can carry the G11 everywhere with me.

    I prefer the S90 over my 40D when travelling. It's so much more convenient. I reserve the 40D for special photographic expeditions and applications.

  • Richard Eng February 12, 2010 08:49 am

    sm wrote:
    "Any S90 user who claims to take photos only at 28mm focal length to get that sweet f/2.0 aperture, without using the zoom has got to be the biggest liar in the photographic world."

    Um, I went to Europe over Christmas -- Paris, Luzern, Milano, Maranello, Firenze, and Roma -- and took over 400 pictures with my S90. The majority of the photos were taken at 28mm (and in many instances, I benefited greatly from f/2). Am I the biggest liar in the photographic world?

    What a nimrod...

  • Allen Grove February 12, 2010 07:30 am

    I am really interested in the G11. I take a lot of shots from aircraft, in my job as a commercial pilot. I have used a Samsung L85 for about three years, as it suits this use very well. Bizarrely it shoots tiff or jpeg. I have a Pentax K7 which I occassionally use in this role, but as you can probably appreciate a compact is more convenient. DOF does not matter, everything is shot at infinity. Low light noise does, 5X zoom (could use more but have got by with the L85 in that regard). Aperture is not particularly important except for sharpness. I can't see that parralax error will be a problem with the viewfinder at the distances involved., and the tiltable lcd is a bonus.
    Sounds like I am talking myself into buying a G11, but I am wondering if anyone has any other ides, bearing in mind that the over-reaching requirement is image quality (which is degraded by the windows: a serious advantage of a compact is that small frontal area of lens lens also = less window and distortion, easier to avoid flare, dirt, scratces etc. ) , and the camera has to be a compact with a zoom, capable of shooting RAW. Suitability for street photography is a bonus. Is the G11 the right camera for what I want, or is there an alternative?

  • Gus Jackson February 12, 2010 07:09 am

    Stephen - Awesome review - Thanks very much for taking the time. I have and love the G9.

    I just used Amex points and will get the G11 for free.

    I would love to take my 5D MII on trips but, it is often just too much to take. The G9 and G11 fit the bill nicely!

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 12, 2010 04:45 am

    I guess I better finish the 50 cent tour. This isn't about agreement or dissent, but simply a few comments by a user with some extensive hands-on experience with the G11.

    Strictly speaking, the G11 is neither a "Point-n-Shoot" nor a "compact." It is a reportage camera--that is a camera capable of delivering images professional enough for journalism and having sufficient controls for a photographer to control the images, getting what he or she wants rather than what the camera thinks is a good image. Comparing it with a DSLR is a rather pointless exercise (and most of these are being used as Point and Shoots). The point of a reportage camera is that it is always there, ready to be used. Canon didn't just slap a "G11" on a £50 camera and stick a high price on it, thinking there might be someone stupid enough to pay it. There is a purpose behind how the G11 is designed and made.

    Exposure control is more important and has more effect on a digital camera than it did on film owing to the narrow latitutde of digital sensors which makes them barely equal to fujichrome in that regard. The camera, no matter how brilliant its programming, doesn't know if it's focussing on a polar bear in a forest or a wooden shack in a field of snow--only the photographer knows how the image is supposed to look and it is the photographer who compensates using exposure controls. On the G11, the over/underexposure dial falls conveniently under the left thumb allowing quick and accurate compensation for that backlit subject or those shadows that are the real subject of the image. Experienced photographers will find this feature reassuring on the G11 as most know from experience what a particular scene demands.

    Also topside on the G11 are controls for speed and exposure modes. Depth of field, which is a bit of a challenge on a smaller sensor, isn't the only important exposure control or technique. How does a camera know if I want the water frozen in place at 1/2000, gently flowing at 1/60, or blurred into oblivion at 1/2? Want that car to look like it's moving? Then panning it at 1/60 gives that result. Quickly changing the speed allows for major changes to the shutter/aperture openings the photographer wants. The G11 does this handily. On the street, do I want it to look as though the pedestrians are walking? or frozen in time like statues? Again, this comes from a knowledge of and control of shutter and aperture relationships--hardly something to trust to a camera's programming.

    How does the G11 fare under less than ideal lighting? Surprisingly well. Perhaps this is from refinement as well as reducing the sensor from 14 to 10 mpx. Recent night-time exposures of up to 10 seconds yielded crisp images with little or no noise. Although I often work with images from APS and full-frame sensors, I had no trouble getting plenty of information from the image to produce good photos.

    The point to the G11 is that it is always there, ready to be used. In a coat pocket, laptop rucksack, boot of the car, a camera like this gets the photos that can't be got by the DSLR, snug as bug in a rug in a cupboard somewhere. Some of the best photos I ever sold existed only because I had a camera--the editor didn't care if it came from a Nikon or a Ricoh rangefinder with a 3.5 lens and max 1/500 shutter speed. The camera is a good choice for anyone who both knows and wants to maintain control over the photo process. It doesn't replace an SLR if that's what one wants to use--it's an adjunct that fills a need with a professional image and as full a range of features that can be squeezed into a small camera.

  • nick February 12, 2010 04:45 am

    oh while I am online so to speak, differential focus can be achieved with this camera. Obviously u need maximum open aperture, but u must also be zoomed in. Using it wide, as with any wide angle lense, will result in too much depth of field even wide open. The exception being when u use it in macro (tulip) mode, then backgrounds soften very nicely

  • sm February 12, 2010 04:38 am

    As a long time Canon PowerShot A80 and A620 user, my transition to the PowerShot G11 wasn't that all a daunting experience. In fact, the G11 is much superior in terms of image quality and features compared to all the PowerShots I've used in the past.

    No P&S camera with an optical viewfinder has 100% frame coverage and the G11 is of no exception. I've always chosen cameras with optical viewfinders as a backup framing method. I have been in situations at the beach at midday where it was simply impossible to frame shots via the A620's LCD - the sunlight simply overwhelmed the rear display. I used the optical viewfinder as an alternate means of composing and I got pretty good results without using the LCD.

    Understandably, people who knock off the G11's viewfinder are either dSLR users who expect over 97% frame coverage (as in a dSLR) or those who are too used to framing using the LCD live view. The G11 is not a true rangefinder camera and it was never meant to be one. But it's good to know when the situation demands it, you can use the G11's viewfinder as a photographic lifesaver. It's useful when your battery is critically low as taking photos using the optical viewfinder consumes only 1/3rd of the G11's battery.

    That said, anyone who dismisses the G11's OVF as poor should look through the tiny peep holes of some Canon IXUS and Sony Cyber-shot ultra-compacts. They'll be glad that the G11's viewfinder is a lot bigger.

    As for the G11's price point, I think it's reasonable. The G-series has always been Canon's premium compacts. You can't expect Canon to sell the G11 as low as $300 as that would make it as cheap as their lower end A and SX-series PowerShot models! One could argue that for a bit more, you can get a low end dSLR, such as the Rebel XS, the Nikon D3000, Sony A300...whatever.

    But here's the thing: Canon wasn't pitting the G11 against entry level dSLRs. Well guess what...not everyone who can afford low end dSLRs necessarily want one in the first place. They don't want a big and bulky digicam with an interchangeable lens that requires eventual shutter replacement and periodic sensor cleaning.

    I don't know why a lot of people are hyping up the S90 against the G11. Although they both share the same 10MP sensor, they were meant to cater for different consumer markets.

    The PowerShot S90's biggest ace up its sleeve is its maximum aperture of f/2.0 and its smaller sized body.

    But you get that f/2 aperture only at the widest angle and it's not a constant aperture lens. With a shorter zoom ratio of 3.8x vs the G11's 5x ratio you can see that the G11's lens has a longer reach.

    At full telephoto, you won't get f/2.0 with the S90 but a slow f/4.9 (at 105mm equiv), which is slightly slower than the G11's f/4.5 (at 140mm equiv). Any S90 user who claims to take photos only at 28mm focal length to get that sweet f/2.0 aperture, without using the zoom has got to be the biggest liar in the photographic world.

    And let's not forget that the S90's fastest shutter speed is just 1/1600sec while the G11 goes all the way to 1/4000sec, rivaling many entry level dSLRs' max shutter speed.

    And btw, before anyone says the Panasonic Lumix LX3 outperforms the G11's sensor qualities can talk to the hand. ;-)

    I'll get off the soap box now....

  • nick February 12, 2010 04:34 am

    it is a fun feature but I imagine that it wasnt wanted enough to be included after g9

    Mind u I dont think half those 'scenes' are needed, most are gimmicks and the others are merely things most people can do anyway with shutter/aperture combos

    n

  • Mark February 12, 2010 04:16 am

    I have a G9. One noticeable omission to the G11 - and one that may make a creative friend of mine sell his 11 and try to find a 9 - is the lack of time-lapse video on the 11. The 9 has it and it's quite fun. Not sure if the 10 has it or not but the 11 doesn't. It's just a fun feature to have.

  • Newport Doc February 12, 2010 03:17 am

    In the interest of providing a complete review and specs-the G10 produces a 12-bit image vs. a 14-bit image in Canon's higher end DSLR. Higher bit equals less banding and smoother transitions between similar colors.

  • nick February 12, 2010 03:08 am

    @chio But for someone just getting into photography, this might be a good choice.

    What a patronising thing to say. I use a G11 as well as the analogue Nikon F2 that I have used for over 20 years for b&w photography. The G11 delivers all I want from a digital camera, except the ability to shoot sport or action owing to the inherent design limitations of a compact, as well as the shutter lag. These things I never expected it to excel at anyway.

    If you have an eye for an image, the G11 does more than fine. You don't need anything better unless you want what Terence Donovan once called 'male jewellery' to hang around your neck and slow you down,

  • tamil February 12, 2010 02:25 am

    G11 or fz38 which is best

  • HB February 11, 2010 07:18 pm

    Lets be honest. Other than the Panansonic LX3 most compacts are rubbish compared to DSLR's in the picture stakes. I agree that the G11 is suitable as a compact but it is suitably way overpriced for the picture quality you get. It will be great in good light like other cheap compacts and ok in bad light. Probably better than most compacts but that's about all.

    I agree that its great that it has lots of manual controls but the really problem is that the manual controls have minimum effect on the actual images themselves. For thecnical buffs the small sensor means its very difficult to get any major depth of field effects from a compact. Not a bash on the G11 but more that the user is paying a lot for a camera (same as an entry level dslr) but for imge quality close to other comapcts that are a 1/4 or 1/4 of the price.

    I do believe the biggest benefit is having access to an external flash tho. As a personal who likes bounce flash or control of external strobes the flash hotshoe is the greatest benefit of this camera.

    So overall, way overpriced compact relative to the image quality but great if you like external flash.

    My two cents.

  • Stephen van Scoyoc February 10, 2010 10:46 pm

    My purchase of the G11 was carefully considered and it was intended to replace a much aged Leica model. I have been a photographer for over forty years, most of those years in a professional capacity of one sort or another. I have only recently given up all film photography although, if it was top image quality and flexibility that I was concerned about I would still be using it rather than digital.

    The G11 is not a replacement for a good DSLR (and I'm not talking about all thinking, all dancing consumer DSLRs). It is a competent, almost-rangefinder camera. Nor is it for people who are not photographers or who spend all their time comparing "specifications". It is a good enough camera for 99% of all photographs that are ever taken and capable of some exceptional quality work.

    I have used the G11 everyday for several months now and have come to use it the same way I have, over the years, used rangefinders. It is quick to power up. Most controls are intuitive and quick to set. The optical viewfinder is as good as most ever made which is to say adequate only. It is 77% of the actual image so shoot tight and know there will be some juggle room later. Those of us who wear specs and have aging eyes find even a poor diopter equipped viewfinder more comfortable than an LCD (for those not familiar an LCD only camera often requires bifocals for composing and normal range for the subject). I have disabled most gee-whiz items like tones, built-in flash, auto-focus assist light, and I tend to use only aperture priority, manual, and shutter priority in that order. For flash, I was pleased to find that my Canon 188A is safe to use and works most satisfactorily. Of course, it means setting the camera manually, but how hard is that?

    I have had no trouble pulling in RAW images to my Mac either with the included Canon software or Adobe Photoshop Elements 8, which pulls them in directly.

    The image quality is superb and dynamic range is noticeably better than cameras of a few years ago. As with most small sensor cameras (the G11's is bigger than most at 15mm) the usable aperture range is pretty narrow ie. f2.8 to f8 and depth of field control is pretty much out of the photographer's hands. Even with the 3X neutral grey filter it is difficult to make long exposures without being able to stop down to f16 or f32, but it's a rangefinder type camera and not a pro rig.

    The camera is solidly constructed and will feel pretty familiar to those of us still around who used the older equipment. Controls on top for exposure modes, bracketing, and film speed are a godsend and allow very capable handling in most shooting situations.

    This is an excellent camera with few actual competitors and the price tag reflects this. It is a solid but not perfect camera. I chose it over the Leica/Panasonic equivalent because of the controls and the existence of the viewfinder. The fast lens also held some sway for me. Avid photographers who know their craft and want a high level of control on their everyday, pocket (big pocket) camera, will find the G11 well thought out and very usable.

  • Richard Taylor February 10, 2010 12:37 pm

    It will still shoot movies however it is at 640x480 or 320x420 both at 30fps

  • Chris Hudson February 10, 2010 04:28 am

    I own a G2 that I bought back in 2001. Great camera for someone who wants a P&S with more control than most. I am glad I went to the DSLR, though.

  • Michael Herzog February 10, 2010 03:15 am

    Hm, I recommended a G9 some time ago to my mother and I remember it having a 1024x768 video mode. Did Canon remove this mode on the G11?

  • Richard Taylor February 9, 2010 07:25 am

    @Adam
    I havn't used it seriously for that but it would be OK.

    @ Cathy
    You will probably need to use DPP as Adobe do not update replaced versions of their products, like CS3, when new cameras come out. The other alternative is to update to CS4.

  • Cathy B February 9, 2010 12:57 am

    I have the G11, but have yet to use it as intended. I can't seem to find a way to pull the RAW files off of the camera. I have PS CS 3 and there are no updates to bring them up in the raw converter. Any ideas.

    Cathy

  • Radityo Pradipto February 8, 2010 11:33 pm

    Is it worth the money to buy a G11 as a backup for a DSLR or just for accompany me when I'm too lazy to take up my DSLR out?

  • Adam Backer February 8, 2010 07:39 pm

    Hmm , I would be interested to know if someone who have used this cam, can tell if this is good for street photography.

    I know the frame rate is less, but the advantage lies in the fact that one wont get noticed with cam like this in hand.

    www.adambacker.com

  • Jodi Friedman February 8, 2010 05:02 am

    I picked one of these up so I could get pictures when I did not have my Canon 5D MKII with me.

    I did a way more informal review of it in case you want to check it out:
    http://mcpactions.com/blog/2010/01/07/faq-informal-review-of-the-canon-g11-ps/

    The conclusion: it is nice for when I do not want my "big" camera - but is nowhere close to SLR quality. I take it with me when I have no expectation of professional portraits. But I will say in the right light, I may get something of professional quality anyway...

    Thanks,

    Jodi
    http://mcpactions.com

  • jpm8jpm February 6, 2010 09:46 pm

    tnx congojoe...start looking for it in the net!!!

  • jpm8jpm February 6, 2010 09:45 pm

    tnx congojoe....i must start looking for that model here in the Philippines

  • vitsee February 6, 2010 09:02 am

    i got this camera as an alternative to a dslr - i felt that it was a better option at the time as i wasnt too fussed about buying more lenses or printing at massive sizes.

    i havent been disappointed - its a cracking camera.

    plenty of pictures on my blog taken with the g11 (click my name!)

  • Jess February 6, 2010 07:53 am

    I'm looking for a camara to take pictures on tennis tournaments... there are so many option I don't know now what to look for :(

  • amit February 6, 2010 12:47 am

    I can't possibly understand why some people praise the G series so much when it has had nothing but over-priced cameras with less features than what cameras half its price have been providing. For a $450 P&S which is kinda in prosumer category, the 5x optical zoom is just pathetic, not to say its burst rate is any decent either. The optical viewfinder is just about a joke with its vertical parallax, Canon should've just removed it. 14.9mm sensor, sure my Panasonic FZ50 has one too & it has a Leica lens & 12x optically stabilized zoom lens as well giving it a range of 35-420mm (in 35mm terms) & it was cheaper than G7 which had come out back then in 2006.

    Since then cameras have progressed a lot, even Canon's other offerings have improved quite a lot but the G series has hardly moved at all with Canon practically bringing out same camera every year with a bumped up model number.

    I expected a bit better from DPS! :(

  • CongoJoe February 5, 2010 08:15 pm

    @jpm8jpm : The Lumix LX3 will shoot 720p video.
    I use one for when its not convenient to carry my dslr.
    Its a great little camera with a fabulous lens, it can be a bit noisy though.

  • jpm8jpm February 5, 2010 03:24 pm

    i must buy this stuff...can anybody answer my query? is there a digital camera, the small ones not the DSLR, that has already a HD movie recording capability?

  • Richard Taylor February 5, 2010 11:03 am

    I have owned one for nearly 4 months now.

    Negatives:
    The optical viewfinder is not good and I only use it when I can't see the LCD in really bright sunlight.
    Controls can be a bit fidlly especially when shooting manual.
    No "B" shutter speed. 15 secs is the max.

    Good:
    IQ - even shooting jpgs.
    The tilting LCD display (great for low level shots & macros etc.)
    Canon external flashes (580EX) work with it, and the STE-2.
    Quick acces to a lot of functions vial dials & not menus.
    Battery life.

    Mine sees use as
    (1) a backup for my 5D or 40D
    (2) when I want to travel real light.
    (3) when I want to grab a quick shot around the house
    (4) When I want a huge amount of DOF
    (5) When we are out & my partner says "take a picture of that and that and that".
    I just stick it on Auto and hand her the camera.

  • David February 5, 2010 07:44 am

    This review could be straight from a G9/G10/G11 review as well.

    The most hilarious part about the review is the conclusion - where we are left to believe that someone might buy this rig because of its optical viewfinder! Clearly the OP did not attempt to use this sad excuse for a viewfinder! I think it has something around 80% coverage from what I remember reading. Mine as well get a rangefinder!

    Pro Tip: Pick up a Canon S90 and skip the tank styling and extra bulk. Gain f/2.0 + a pocket size camera!

  • Sandy Redding February 5, 2010 07:40 am

    Like Ben, I got the G11 to complement my DSLR. Sometimes, it's just not practical to carry my D300. My only issue thus far has been getting used to the menu system and that's more of a Canon versus Nikon sort of thing. Great camera. I'm thoroughly pleased with it.

    A few images using the G11.

  • lynda February 5, 2010 07:39 am

    i wanted this for times when i couldn't take my DSLR with me but this could easily slip into my purse. maybe it's just me because no one else ever mentions it in the reviews but the ergonomics of this camera is horrible! i feel like there is no good way to hold it without pushing a button. i find it completely awkward. i'm still learning how to use it and get used to it but will opt for my DSLR any time that i can. i still feel like there's too much noise in low light situations with the G11.

  • Ben Jamieson February 5, 2010 07:13 am

    Unlike Jason and Chio, I'm actually looking at one of these to complement my DSLRs.

    There's times when I don't want to carry my 7D rig with me - the G11 is an awesome camera for those times. tops my list in the "P&S with manual controls" sector.

    I've seen a lot of 'pro-shooters' carrying G9/10/11's, so I guess I'm not too original on this one!

    Ben

  • Chio February 5, 2010 06:55 am

    Nice little camera. At least I, after I upgraded to DSLRs, would never ever buy a P&S camera again. Mostly becuause of noise, sensor size, speeds and autofocus. But for someone just getting into photography, this might be a good choice.

  • Jason Collin Photography February 5, 2010 06:28 am

    A Canon G11 is something, barring winning the lottery, I think I'd never buy for myself, but would love to receive as a gift to play with and feel like I was carrying around a spy camera with me.