onOne's New Perfect Layers Review - Digital Photography School
Close
Close

onOne’s New Perfect Layers Review

Hey folks, I am very excited to announce that Perfect Layers from onOne Software is now available (currently $30 off)! If you haven’t heard about this program, just know that it is incredible! Perfect Layers is the (perfect) program for anyone who doesn’t have $800 to drop on Photoshop or for those who simply prefer to do all their work in Lightroom or Aperture.

Instead of writing out a full review/preview of this product, I though it would be more beneficial to make a screencast. After the screencast, be sure to read on for details on the giveaway. Here we go!

See what I mean!? Perfect Layers unlocks so many doors to those who don’t have, don’t prefer, or don’t know how to use Photoshop. It takes one of the biggest advantages of Photoshop (layers and masking) and turns it into a quick roundtrip program that can be used right alongside of Lightroom or Aperture.

Conclusion

I highly recommend anything from onOne. Before making the purchase, feel free to put Perfect Layers (or any other product from onOne) through the ropes during a 30 day free trial. If you love the program(s) as much as I do it will be a no brainer!

If you’re reading this just as the article drops, onOne is currently offering Perfect Layers for a discounted intro price of just $99. Once the sale is over the price will go up to $129, but you can always get 15% off the full price by using the coupon code DPS15.

As always, be sure to follow me on twitter (@jamesdbrandon) if you don’t already! Cheers and good luck!

Update: this post has been updated. Previously it included a limited time giveaway competition which has now concluded. The winner was announced here.

Read more from our Tips & Tutorials category.

James Brandon is a photographer located in Dallas and a lover of iced tea, Chipotle and his wife Kristin (but not in that order). Be sure to sign up for his newsletter for a free ebook along with in-depth photo tips and videos! You can find his work at his website or on social media. Links below.

  • AJ Finch

    Perfect Layers is fantastic. I haven’t begun to scratch the surface with the beta version.

  • http://www.rockoutshots.com Dirk Belligerent

    Very snazzy.

  • http://Www.scarboroughfarm.com Beth Wieland

    This seems like the perfect software for getting the most out of your pictures!

  • Beverly

    I am new to photography and want to learn all I can. This program seems like it would be easy to learn and very beneficial to my learning process on how to make my pictures even better. Thank you for showing us how this works.

  • Amon H.

    I have been interested in the onone suite for quite some time now. I have always downloaded the trial software but never had the actual opp to buy and. This Perfect Layers seems very beneficial on the time and editing side! Maybe I’ll find a way to pick this one up seeing as how we use light room on a daily basis.

  • Keith

    Love the fact that you can use layers and masking without having to blow the budget by buying Photoshop.

  • Phil Fenske

    Looks like this could be a good alt to upgrading photoshop – again.

  • Ken

    I really like the video. I’m one who struggles with Photopshop but I love Lightroom. I see where this could help me with the whole composite thing which gives me fits. Thanks for the review and the possibility to win Perfect layers Keep up the great work!

  • http://www.candidexposures.com nicholas

    Using the Prefect layers the beta, I was able to use it for the swapping of heads at ease.

  • http://www.abhishekscariya.com Abhishek

    Wow this is great. I don’t have PS (can’t afford it yet) and a suite like this will be ‘perfect’ (no pun intended) solution for a photographer like me who takes post processing as a very integral part of my workflow.

  • Ken

    I downloaded a copy of the pre-release version of Perfect Layers to experiment with. Having never used Photoshop, I think the features are awesome and this definitely opens a whole new world from what I’ve done in Lightroom alone! Would love to get a copy of the full software suite!!! Thanks

  • G. Edward McAuley

    This looks amazing! Have been dreading the big expense of Photoshop and Perfect Layers looks like the perfect solution. Will buy, even if don’t win. :)

  • Randy

    Great Program! Thanks for sharing this.

  • R Kennedy

    Never understood how to use layers properly. Till I had a look at the video of James Brandon screen cast on perfect layers. The good thing about it is you can use it as a stand alone program it is a certain winner.

  • Jake

    Thanks for the giveaway! Count me in for an entry!

  • bill caskey

    Well, I’ll tell ya, I’m hot. I purchased Perfect Layers three wks ago. Pd. $99. Now, it’s available everywhere for $69.

  • Elizabeth

    I bought Perfect Layers to install into Aperture 3.0. I tried & tried , but could not get this P Layers application to work at all.
    I am a very experienced Mac user of many years.
    I tried multiple down loads and each time also stripped out all serials and parts of the previous attempt to install the application in the System library.
    Nothing worked.
    sad really as this application looks great and just what I want.
    any suggestions ?

Some older comments

  • Elizabeth

    August 20, 2011 04:15 pm

    I bought Perfect Layers to install into Aperture 3.0. I tried & tried , but could not get this P Layers application to work at all.
    I am a very experienced Mac user of many years.
    I tried multiple down loads and each time also stripped out all serials and parts of the previous attempt to install the application in the System library.
    Nothing worked.
    sad really as this application looks great and just what I want.
    any suggestions ?

  • bill caskey

    July 17, 2011 05:20 am

    Well, I'll tell ya, I'm hot. I purchased Perfect Layers three wks ago. Pd. $99. Now, it's available everywhere for $69.

  • Jake

    June 27, 2011 05:33 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway! Count me in for an entry!

  • R Kennedy

    June 25, 2011 05:32 pm

    Never understood how to use layers properly. Till I had a look at the video of James Brandon screen cast on perfect layers. The good thing about it is you can use it as a stand alone program it is a certain winner.

  • Randy

    June 25, 2011 12:15 am

    Great Program! Thanks for sharing this.

  • G. Edward McAuley

    June 23, 2011 08:07 am

    This looks amazing! Have been dreading the big expense of Photoshop and Perfect Layers looks like the perfect solution. Will buy, even if don't win. :)

  • Ken

    June 23, 2011 04:47 am

    I downloaded a copy of the pre-release version of Perfect Layers to experiment with. Having never used Photoshop, I think the features are awesome and this definitely opens a whole new world from what I've done in Lightroom alone! Would love to get a copy of the full software suite!!! Thanks

  • Abhishek

    June 23, 2011 04:13 am

    Wow this is great. I don't have PS (can't afford it yet) and a suite like this will be 'perfect' (no pun intended) solution for a photographer like me who takes post processing as a very integral part of my workflow.

  • nicholas

    June 23, 2011 03:35 am

    Using the Prefect layers the beta, I was able to use it for the swapping of heads at ease.

  • Ken

    June 23, 2011 01:54 am

    I really like the video. I'm one who struggles with Photopshop but I love Lightroom. I see where this could help me with the whole composite thing which gives me fits. Thanks for the review and the possibility to win Perfect layers Keep up the great work!

  • Phil Fenske

    June 23, 2011 01:30 am

    Looks like this could be a good alt to upgrading photoshop - again.

  • Keith

    June 23, 2011 12:57 am

    Love the fact that you can use layers and masking without having to blow the budget by buying Photoshop.

  • Amon H.

    June 23, 2011 12:48 am

    I have been interested in the onone suite for quite some time now. I have always downloaded the trial software but never had the actual opp to buy and. This Perfect Layers seems very beneficial on the time and editing side! Maybe I'll find a way to pick this one up seeing as how we use light room on a daily basis.

  • Beverly

    June 23, 2011 12:43 am

    I am new to photography and want to learn all I can. This program seems like it would be easy to learn and very beneficial to my learning process on how to make my pictures even better. Thank you for showing us how this works.

  • Beth Wieland

    June 23, 2011 12:40 am

    This seems like the perfect software for getting the most out of your pictures!

  • Dirk Belligerent

    June 23, 2011 12:02 am

    Very snazzy.

  • AJ Finch

    June 22, 2011 10:26 pm

    Perfect Layers is fantastic. I haven't begun to scratch the surface with the beta version.

  • Karen N.

    June 22, 2011 10:01 pm

    I would love to have Perfect layers. It sounds like a very good thing to have to work with.

  • Marc Mason

    June 22, 2011 08:54 pm

    I have been impressed with their products for a while with the demo's. Even if I don't win I might purchase one of these products in the future. Keep up the good job team!

  • Jeff hintzman

    June 22, 2011 02:42 pm

    Major time saver - I really am impressed with these products.

  • Subhajit Mitra

    June 22, 2011 02:32 pm

    I'm using Light Room 3.3 and it really Suite it.

  • Carrie

    June 22, 2011 01:43 pm

    This looks just 'perfect' for what I need! I'm excited to see it!

  • Debbie

    June 22, 2011 01:40 pm

    I don't have PS but I do have LR & would love to have Perfect Layers. It looks like a relatively easy program to use. Thanks for the giveaway. If I don't win then I'll go download the beta version.

  • C Wood

    June 22, 2011 01:24 pm

    Looks like a great program. I chose LR over PS due to price recently so am definitely going to check out the 30 day trial. Thanks for the post James.

  • Malcolm Miller

    June 22, 2011 01:09 pm

    I do photography for a children's theater group. I have been trying out Perfect Layers and have found it simplifies a number of tasks I face in doing theater work, e.g., fixing cast photos, changing backgrounds. Perfect Layers is another demonstration of OnOne's thoughtfulness and creativity in developing tools that make the photograph processor's task easier.

  • Ed R.

    June 22, 2011 11:53 am

    Up until now I've used PSE 8 to avoid the learning needed in PS and the huge expense. In doing so I've dropped to 8 bit processing. Now I can avoid the cost and learning curve by using Lightroom and onOne to get it all without losing control. Nice work, making my postprocessing more efficient and much, much easier.

  • Jo

    June 22, 2011 11:34 am

    Excellent! I only have Lightroom, so layers would be awesome!

  • Brett Cox

    June 22, 2011 11:29 am

    As with their other software this looks like a great addition. Personally I think I will just continue to keep using photoshopfor layer work and wait for Adobe and Apple to add it to their software. However I would love to have the other tools available in the OnOne Photo Suite.

  • Sergios

    June 22, 2011 11:08 am

    Looks really amazing; cool and user friendly!
    My computer doesn't "tolerate" PhotoShop and just got my new prime lens. Can't wait to use Perfect Layers!

  • Dave Whittaker

    June 22, 2011 11:00 am

    The three keys to good post processing are:
    Workflow
    Workflow
    Workflow

    ... and the simpler the better.
    The conflict comes from wanting to create more creative, more stunning and more original images. Most smart software companies have made it easy to integrate products -- but having a more transparent (pun intended) process is always welcome. Fast is good... Fast and good is better!
    Perfect layers looks very promising. Like most techie oriented creative souls I have watched the preview videos. Very intriguing indeed.

  • Rex

    June 22, 2011 10:06 am

    Seems to be a very good add-on. Would be interested to trial.

  • Rafael

    June 22, 2011 10:03 am

    Looks like a great plug in for Lightroom. I work almost entirely on Lightroom and use I Photoshop only for blending or adjusting the white balance on several lights.

  • Sean

    June 22, 2011 09:26 am

    Interesting software. Nice if you don't need all of Photoshop's tools. I can see how this would streamline my workflow.

  • Andrew

    June 22, 2011 08:40 am

    The new Perfect Layers is cool and Perfect Photo Suite will help my post processing workflow as it speeds up the whole post processing experience.

  • Valerie Mitchell

    June 22, 2011 07:31 am

    Well, I hate to be the one negative voice, but I don't really see the advantage of using Perfect Layers over Photoshop. With either one, you leave Lightroom, edit the image with layers, and go back to Lightroom. Am I missing something? I can see that it would be a great help to someone who doesn't have Photoshop, though!

  • Laura

    June 22, 2011 07:06 am

    I like the frames a lot! Didn't try this software before, but what I read and saw so far it's goooood.... so it would be totally awesome to have it :D

  • David

    June 22, 2011 07:01 am

    This software is pretty great. I ran it through some hoops in the trial I downloaded, and it looks promising. There is a lot to learn tho (for me... still)...I'm hoping to tinker with it more before deciding to buy/keep, Although if i win one, that would rock, ;) hint hint!

    seriously though, this software makes PS not necessar to do the basics to an image in LR now, awesome!

  • Phillip S.

    June 22, 2011 06:44 am

    Great review Brandon, that is certainly a neat way to do a little more advanced editing without having to go fully hardcore with photoshop.

  • Justin

    June 22, 2011 05:53 am

    Wow, how much time could we all save not having to export into Photoshop. That would give me that much more time to spend outside with my camera in hand.

  • Robert Jaudon

    June 22, 2011 05:51 am

    That would be friggin awesome! I would love that. I use both PS and LTRM but love the LTRM interface. The OnOne Suite would make my year!!!

  • paul duggan

    June 22, 2011 05:50 am

    Would love a copy of onone's suite
    Have played with the demo version, but unfortunately funds are short.
    In particular the layers and the enlargement tool, previous genuine fractuals would be amazing
    Also, the frames WOW

    Hope I get lucky with the drawing

  • Phil Gooselaw

    June 22, 2011 05:40 am

    Lightroom has been the perfect complement to Photoshop and my workflow and with Perfect Suite 5 and Perfect Layers, it means an even better and simpler, more efficient means of product flow...Kudos...!!!

  • wingman

    June 22, 2011 05:21 am

    I will download this and try it out. Photo shop way to much money!

  • Dee Shneiderman

    June 22, 2011 04:33 am

    I use Photoshop Elements 9 and have been testing onOne's Perfect Resize. It installed nicely in both PSE and my ancient copy of Photoshop 6, and it does a fantastic job. I hate noise (grain) but sometimes sometimes it's unavoidable especially in wedding shoots. Perfect Resize really helps improve the quality of larger images.

  • Carl Thorpe

    June 22, 2011 04:16 am

    This program looks like it would really help me speed up my workflow. I really like that you can do all this inside of Lightroom. I have seriously considered the entire Suite, but it's a little out of my pricerange at this time. It would allow me to avoid upgrading Photoshop, however, so that would be a major plus.

  • Erik Hawkinson

    June 22, 2011 04:02 am

    I think it would eliminate my need to use photoshop.

  • Diana

    June 22, 2011 03:47 am

    I love the way this software make is so easy and quick to work layers ;-) Perfect to ease you through your workflow. Can't wait to get my hands on it ;-)

  • Jennifer

    June 22, 2011 03:40 am

    I can see this as a major time saver...

  • Bonnie

    June 22, 2011 03:33 am

    I am downloading the free trial now. It looks awesome and does the kinds of things I want to do most. I keep thinking I'll upgrade to Photoshop but it's so darned expensive that I haven't done it yet--but this... this looks great!

  • DJ Schulte

    June 22, 2011 03:06 am

    Thanks for the video review of Perfect Layers. Seriously tempted by it as it is the killer feature missing from Aperture and Lightroom (I have used both).

  • PBall

    June 22, 2011 02:24 am

    WOW watching a Perfect Layers webinar right now and I have to have this. What a great tool to help slimline workflow. Sorry I spent so much money on CS5.

  • Carl Crumley

    June 22, 2011 02:23 am

    I like the look of Pefect Layers. As a compliment to Photoshop it makes production of composite images simple without using that resource-hungry program.

    It would make a nice tool to have on my laptop when I’m shooting on location as I can quickly demonstrate the results of minor editing.

  • Christy

    June 22, 2011 01:55 am

    Anything that improves workflow and I'm all in. Looks like a great compliment to LR and PS. Thanks for the contest giveaway. You rock!

  • J.Ed

    June 22, 2011 01:48 am

    Looks Great
    Should allow me to edit when afield and away from my home system

  • Bob Spaith

    June 22, 2011 12:42 am

    Perfect Layers is GREAT.

    It will save me so much time by not having to go back and forth to Photoshop.

    Thank you - Thank you - Thank you!!!

  • Brian Fuller

    June 22, 2011 12:40 am

    I am looking forward to trying Mask Pro and Perfect Resize. I do a significant amount of cropping in most of my pictures and could quickly implement the resize in my workflow. The Mask Pro may reduce the time I spend on masking hair on my beautiful daughters.

  • Pablo Fagioli

    June 22, 2011 12:33 am

    I'd really love to have this software. Please help me stay within the law and let me have it for free! ;-)

  • Christie

    June 21, 2011 11:50 pm

    I aspire to be a professional photographer, and have seven children. I certainly can't afford the software. I have been doing some photography work for the last 2 years, slowly. This perfect layers would be a wonderful program to help push me further in my goal!

  • Chuck Culpepper

    June 21, 2011 11:37 pm

    Just what Lightroom is lacking. Layers offers so many more fine tuning options. Great potential with Perfect Layers.

  • Scott Lewis

    June 21, 2011 11:12 pm

    I recently went from CS5 on Windows to Aperture on a Mac and Perfect Layers looks like the perfect complement to my new setup.

  • Cindy

    June 21, 2011 10:54 pm

    Wow! I love Lightroom. But I love the layers feature of Photoshop & Elements. Perfect Layers would give me the best of both worlds. And it would get me back out and about with my camera. Thank you for offering this as a giveaway.

  • Deborah Frans

    June 21, 2011 10:53 pm

    I love Photoshop and I use it everyday both for my job as well as for recreation. To me, Perfect Layers would be a great addition to use with Photoshop as well as a stand alone.

  • Rich

    June 21, 2011 10:49 pm

    Well I don't have $800 to drop on photoshop!

  • Brian

    June 21, 2011 10:16 pm

    Using layers in Lightroom would really streamline my workflow.

  • Bob L.

    June 21, 2011 10:04 pm

    The Perfect Layers program will provide a signiifcant plus to my efforts to show the scenic wonders of Western New York.

  • Susan A

    June 21, 2011 09:46 pm

    This would make a great addition to my workflow! i would love this!!

  • Wendy

    June 21, 2011 09:32 pm

    As another person who cannot afford Photoshop, I'll love using Perfect Layers, especially the Perfect Resize & Focal Point features to add extra zap! to my photography.

  • Michelle Pearson

    June 21, 2011 09:24 pm

    I have PS and love it except for it's ease of use and time it takes ... Especially with some of the things Layers wraps up so nicely. Layers would sure save me hundreds of hours in editing from resizing to background editing. So hoping to win such a gem!

  • Lori Barrett

    June 21, 2011 09:22 pm

    Wow! It would be wonderful to be able to stay in lightroom to the majority of my edits. That would surely speed things up.

  • Andrea Baggio

    June 21, 2011 09:20 pm

    Awesome! It would be great to win this software because it would give me the right instruments to finally open my own photography store here in Italy.

    I use LR3 and Photoshop but with this one I'm all set to really be able to be a photographer as my full time job with my own store.

  • Che

    June 21, 2011 08:18 pm

    it would save both cost and time for budget photography lover...

  • Marek

    June 21, 2011 08:10 pm

    Aperture Shop CS5! You guys in OnOne rock

  • Jason

    June 21, 2011 08:09 pm

    I'm just starting to learn LR3. I'd love another program to learn! :-)

  • Ilhan Aksoy

    June 21, 2011 07:20 pm

    This is a great addition to my Lightroom-Workflow, awesome!

  • Kris

    June 21, 2011 07:02 pm

    onOne rock!!!! Anything from them is great. This would be awesome as I use Lightroom quite a lot and hate leaving it to get to Photoshop, mainly because of the size of photoshop.

  • scott allan

    June 21, 2011 06:56 pm

    This is very exciting. As a newbie trying to learn the digital darkroom side of things, photoshop is more than a wee bit intimidating, thus I find myself running out of patients and getting stuck in bad habits just to hurry up and have something to show. I now have Lightroom but want to learn how to use layers for obvious reasons. Perfect Layers would help me learn to do it right without feeling like I'll never get it all. Winning this sweet suite would simply be ridiculously... sweet. Thanks for the chance!!!

  • PJ White

    June 21, 2011 05:50 pm

    Wow. JUST WOW! I downloaded Layers and played with it for awhile. What a great product! My favorite aspect is having control over my photographs without having to break out the PhotoShop;. As a longtime photographer, I have thousands of photos and I need to streamline my process in order to deal with them. What could be better than this suite of apps?

  • Ceri Vale

    June 21, 2011 05:21 pm

    WOOOOOHOOOOOO

    David trumps Goliath yet again.

    What pleasure there is to be had when the giants (the EXPENSIVE giants) are beaten at their own game by thought, planning and careful programming. It begs the question - if one company can offer such sophistication at an affordable price, why can't they all?

    The beta works fine for me, by the way.

  • rmettier

    June 21, 2011 04:35 pm

    Looks interesting. I've been using GIMP for most of my postprocessing until now, but I'd love to give this a try.

  • lindy

    June 21, 2011 04:26 pm

    Perfect for my laptop where I don't have enough grunt for Photoshop. Thanks

  • Nathan Chapman

    June 21, 2011 03:46 pm

    I have a copy of Photoshop CS3, but it's not even installed on my new machine yet... and I am really hoping not to! It really is overkill for something as simple as what Perfect Layers provides... so here's hoping!

  • td

    June 21, 2011 03:37 pm

    Looks awesome! This suite would save me so much time which would either allow me to get more done in the same space of time or allow me to get things done much quicker allowing more time to be spent photographing or for leisure. WIN!

  • Daniel

    June 21, 2011 03:28 pm

    I love it and yes it will help us people who are not very familiar with layers in PS, for me its wonderful...

  • NotYourAvgJoe

    June 21, 2011 03:04 pm

    This is something that Adobe should have built into Lightroom, THANKS ON 1

  • Flavia

    June 21, 2011 02:58 pm

    As an amateur photographer I cannot afford Photoshop. Perfect Layers seems like a great solution to my editing needs.

  • Ramona P

    June 21, 2011 02:54 pm

    I have used Photoshop for years and years but recently started using Lightroom 3. Wow . . I have fallen in love with Lightroom and the ease at which I can import, keyword, edit, watermark and export my files now. BUT. . I sorely miss the benefit of LAYERS!! Jumping from Lightroom 3 to my older version of Photoshop and then back again was time consuming for the few shots that needed "fine tuning" with layers.
    Now here comes Perfect Layers and it looks like a dream come true! :D
    I am going straight over to OnOne to download the trial.
    My fingers are crossed!!! I want to win this awesome package!!!
    It would make my editing time so much more of a pleasure instead of a chore!
    Yaaaaah for OnOne!!

  • vangelis

    June 21, 2011 02:49 pm

    Never tried onone software, looks promising...

  • Bryn

    June 21, 2011 02:44 pm

    Wow. I already spend less time in Photoshop with Lightroom, and this may be the tool that means for 90% of client shoots i can stay out of PS altogether. Great release. Fingers crossed i win one to play more with

  • James

    June 21, 2011 02:40 pm

    I use lightroom to process and upload to my web site. This would be awesome to be able to edit and come right back to lightroom for upload!

    Thanks for the chance to get this here,
    James

  • Wayne63

    June 21, 2011 02:32 pm

    Looks like a magic program, as a avid beginner with digital photography I have never edited any of my photos but seeing what some of these programs can do is amazing. Unfortunately financially I'm unable to buy any such programs as I have just purchased a Canon 450D which is my first DSLR, so the opportunity to have a program would be great.

  • Richuardo

    June 21, 2011 02:13 pm

    That looks wicked awesome! I loved the previews of the different levels of the layers, that was sweet. I also like how you can easily change between programs, and how it even automatically imports the new image. This would definitely elevate my images to a higher level!

  • Jake

    June 21, 2011 02:02 pm

    I hate round tripping so I'm very excited to play with Layers! Hopefully I win do I can do just that! :)

  • Austin

    June 21, 2011 01:50 pm

    This looks great! Considering I'm using Photoshop elements and I have no money to upgrade, it would be so much nicer.

  • Chris Y

    June 21, 2011 01:38 pm

    This looks awesome!

  • Houry

    June 21, 2011 01:23 pm

    Great post and info :)) Worth trying!!

  • Amy

    June 21, 2011 01:20 pm

    I would love this! It doesn't seem too complicated, which means I can do more of what I love--taking pictures!

  • Nicole Voth

    June 21, 2011 01:05 pm

    Wow, this would be amazing to win! I love the idea of not having to open up big clunky PS to use layers!

  • Melissa Ives

    June 21, 2011 12:58 pm

    I just saw Perfect Layers demonstrated at a Kelby Training seminar today in Milwaukee. This would be so beneficial to my workflow as I'm primarily using Lightroom 3 and some Photoshop CS2. I would love to stay in Lightroom! Thank you!

  • Agustín

    June 21, 2011 12:49 pm

    Perfect Layers has to be awesome. This and the entire suite will help me in the process of tweaking all kind of photographs for editorial and web projects that I may do. Thanks you!

  • Kris Olsen

    June 21, 2011 12:23 pm

    I think this will be just the ticket. I've been wanting something like photoshop but cant justify it as i'm just a hobbiest.

  • allyson

    June 21, 2011 12:20 pm

    This product is great. I work in Aperture and it would be nice to have a program that can do some light manipulating with my images without changing the original too much all in the same program. It seems less cumbersome than Photoshop, especially if you aren't doing too much editing. Thanks, can't wait to try it out.

  • Iain

    June 21, 2011 12:10 pm

    Looks great, and I'd love to be able to spend ALL my time in Lightroom, just using plugins. Bring it on!

  • ikaikap

    June 21, 2011 12:08 pm

    Being that I work primarily with lightroom and the nik suite of software, this would give me a great excuse to jump into OnOne's suite of products! Perfect layers looks great!

  • laurashleyphotography

    June 21, 2011 11:37 am

    i think it looks great! i'd love to have processing software available to use, but cannot currently purchase photoshop as i'm a full time student. hope to be able to give this a try!

  • Joe

    June 21, 2011 11:34 am

    Sounds great, I would love to try it out to compare it to Photoshop CS5. Please put me in the drawing....Thanks

  • Michael Van der Tol

    June 21, 2011 11:30 am

    onOne's Perfect Layers will make me re-think owning a copy of LightRoom.

  • deb kiely

    June 21, 2011 11:22 am

    onONe has several great products, I just can't afford to get the full series, being a new photographer trying to start a business. I tried the 30 day free trial...I needed to use more or watch more tutorials to get it to work really well. I do like to use layers and masking. I enjoy several of the tools avail in LR and start all my photos in that program.

  • Terri

    June 21, 2011 11:18 am

    Perfect Layers looks great! I had OnOne's Suite for Adobe Elements, but never swung for the PS version. Their plug-ins really helped make my photo 'fixing' easy.

  • brent

    June 21, 2011 11:12 am

    I would love to use the onone's programs. As someone who is going to school in Sept. I could really use this to expand my eyes beyond Photoshop. Plus show others in the process. Thanks for the chance.

  • David

    June 21, 2011 10:30 am

    Love the idea of Perfect Layers. The last frontier to allow me to do all my work in LR3!

  • HR

    June 21, 2011 10:30 am

    PerfectLayer seems to very well complement Lighroom. Excellent!

  • Tww

    June 21, 2011 10:15 am

    So far, I have been struggling with Elements to edit photos as I can only dream of Adobe Photoshop. Perfect Layers would be a great addition to my minimal post processing software. I can see this software helping me create better photos with its editing abilities. Thanks for putting the product out there for review.

  • MattG

    June 21, 2011 10:14 am

    This greatly expands the editing features in Lightroom and with excellent integration. I would love to win to try it!

  • Christine

    June 21, 2011 09:57 am

    I use Lightroom and love it. I am still learning and would love to be able to use Perfect Layers to advance my editing skills.

  • Brian

    June 21, 2011 09:57 am

    I am just learning how to use CS5 & LR and would love to try out the OnOne package to see what it will do

  • Leroy

    June 21, 2011 09:56 am

    WOW! Finally, the ability to do layers in Lightroom. Layers, and the rest of the Perfect Photo Suite, would greatly expand my capability to create the images that I saw when I took the shot.

  • Clinton

    June 21, 2011 09:31 am

    I love photography but unfortunately I cannot afford to buy the Adobe Photoshop software. Finally, there is an option for me, a photo editing software that is within my budget or even better - to win. Thanks onOne software for releasing Perfect Layers - a wonderful mix of useful features that I would love to get my hands on.

  • James

    June 21, 2011 09:27 am

    The beta of Perfect Layers was incredible. Based on my experience with it, I'd love to try the full suite!

  • Xposurepro | Digital Photo Tools

    June 21, 2011 09:19 am

    I was a bit disappointed in the beta .. crashed .. crashed a lot. In fact I never really got the chance to give it a proper evaluation. I'll just continue popping from Lightroom over to PS while they work on version 2.

  • Kai

    June 21, 2011 09:18 am

    onOne Perfect Photo Suite giveaway? Me want!

  • Miran Kramar

    June 21, 2011 09:13 am

    Photoshop is great but not something a lot of us can afford, this looks like a really efficient and promising alternative! I'd really love to try it out. It looks simple to use yet powerful enough to deliver all the features I'd like to see for my post processing. Thumbs up for a nice review!

  • Jaron

    June 21, 2011 09:11 am

    i'd like to try this!

  • Caroline Miller

    June 21, 2011 08:57 am

    Wow, this program seems so user friendly! It would introduce me to a whole new and efficient world of work post-processing.

  • mcsader

    June 21, 2011 08:56 am

    I have Photoshop on my computer. So I really don't know what to do with Perfect Layers. But I think for people without Photoshop is it a good and much cheaper way to get a good workflow.

  • Fernando Villamizar

    June 21, 2011 08:55 am

    I have been using OnOne software for a while (Photo Tools, Mask Pro and PhotoFrame) becoming part of my everyday workflow. Awesome products. Now, Perfect Layers seems to be a great addition for composites and other "layers related" stuff w/o needing PS. So far, very good experience.

  • Ryan

    June 21, 2011 08:50 am

    This looks like something I could really benefit from. I'm new to photography and really new to photoshop. Lightroom has been a very big help in my post processing but I miss a lot of the masking functions that photoshop provides. I'm a big fan of streamlining as much of the post processing as possible. I think this new software will do just that.

  • Carrie

    June 21, 2011 08:50 am

    This product looks awesome for people that can't afford the full photoshop! Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Manuel

    June 21, 2011 08:46 am

    Lightroom is my only photo procesing tool but sometimes I need a litle bit more, Photoshop is a very complex software for me so this suite is PERFECT for that simple magic touch

  • Thomas

    June 21, 2011 08:31 am

    seems like something that will be very useful for me, esp with the limited budget for buying software. =)

  • wen mai

    June 21, 2011 08:27 am

    Perfect Layers would make my work process much easier since I primarily use Lightroom

  • wen mai

    June 21, 2011 08:27 am

    Perfect Layers would make my work process much easier since I primarily use Lightroom

  • wen mai

    June 21, 2011 08:27 am

    Perfect Layers would make my work process much easier since I primarily use Lightroom

  • Donna

    June 21, 2011 08:18 am

    I don't think I could ask for a better product, and to win it, that would be icing on the cake! Thanks for the opportunity!

  • Guido Fokkema

    June 21, 2011 08:10 am

    O men, this is the BOMB!!!! I can't wait to try it out. Being familiar with photoshop I can't imagine the endless new creative (and more intuitive!) possibilities are waiting to be found.

  • Kevin Wallace

    June 21, 2011 08:00 am

    looks like the ideal tool for a amateur like myself. Would love to win it!

  • javier

    June 21, 2011 07:58 am

    I've been looking at getting a application for my work flow. This looks like an affordable and productive tool to enhance my photography.

  • Noel

    June 21, 2011 07:45 am

    This looks amazing! It's versatility would really help out my photo editing process. I also just got a new computer, and this would be a great addition!

  • PG

    June 21, 2011 07:23 am

    I've always thought LR could benefit from a layers feature - glad to see someone did something about it. Being able to use layers within LR without having to go to PS would allow me to get my work done faster. That leaves more time behind the lens!

  • Reba baskett

    June 21, 2011 07:12 am

    I use aperture a lot but am always having to take my photos into photoshop to tweak them a bit more. This software would help me stay in one program and speed up my workflow. You can't beat that.

  • Dan

    June 21, 2011 07:10 am

    This would be great to speed up the post-processing work and streamline work! :) Looks really simple as well!

  • Leona Headley

    June 21, 2011 07:06 am

    This program looks like everything I need.

  • Sandy

    June 21, 2011 07:05 am

    What a great giveaway! Thanks!!

  • Dan Cooksey

    June 21, 2011 07:01 am

    I would love to win this software.

    Dan

  • Rob Dixon

    June 21, 2011 07:00 am

    Looks great, easy for beginners and much better value for money!!

  • Howard George

    June 21, 2011 06:55 am

    I love everything I seen and know of the OnOne software and know that it would really help my workflow and end results. Thanks for the opportunity to enter.

    Howie

  • abel sanchez

    June 21, 2011 06:55 am

    Perfect layers is the bomb!!!!

  • Przemek Hybel

    June 21, 2011 06:50 am

    I've tried the beta of perfect layers and it really speeds up the workflow in Lightroom. Other tools from the bundle are also great time-savers.

  • Nicolas

    June 21, 2011 06:44 am

    First of all, thanks for the opportunity. I've been tracking this software for a long time, and I tried it about a month ago and I loved it, but I haven't had the chance to buy it, can't really afford it so far, this is an excellent software that can really improve my post-processing! Thanks!

  • Jim Denham

    June 21, 2011 06:39 am

    I'm not crazy about how the Perfect Layers works with Aperture, but the software itself is quite nice! I'm guessing it would be a bit more compatible with Lightroom. As far as the Suite goes, it would be awesome to have, but it does not work with Elements, which is what I have. Hopefully, that will change in the near future. Otherwise, it would give me great flexibility and one-click edit options that would free up my workflow! Great giveaway!

  • Eli

    June 21, 2011 06:38 am

    Well, let's see, GIMP can do layers, and is free, forget about Photoshop, only advantage to Perfect Layers is that it integrates with LR and Aperture.

  • Cinghia

    June 21, 2011 06:36 am

    You can actually buy Photoshop Elements for less and get the same results as there PLUS a lot more editing power. so when you say in your screencast that you need to spend $800 for adding a texture to a photo, you're not telling the truth.

    Perfect layers it's a nice toy, but the only thing useful i see is the realtime preview of the blend mode, which I'm pretty sure that we'll see it in the future version of PS or PSE.

  • Dominic

    June 21, 2011 06:30 am

    Very impressive!

    It would greatly help me and I wouldn't have to switch from Lightroom to Photoshop.

  • Bill Hauck

    June 21, 2011 06:28 am

    Would love to use this with LR!

  • John

    June 21, 2011 06:27 am

    Perfect layer would help me get better looking pictures because I do not know how to use photoshop.

  • Alex Solla

    June 21, 2011 06:13 am

    This is a fantastic addition to the Lightroom toolbox. Cant wait to see more tutorials using OnOne's software!

    -Alex

    _________________________________________
    Alex Solla Photography
    4088 Cold Springs Road
    Trumansburg, NY 14886

    web: www.alexsollaphotography.com
    blog: http://alexsollaphotographyblog.blogspot.com

  • anne-marie

    June 21, 2011 05:57 am

    woo hoo!! how fabulous!!, gave the trial version a go & its just so much fun & really easy to use. .;))
    I am so intimidated by PS3, 4, & now 5!!, I won't be going down that road but OnOne seems to have nabbed my vote well with this. .;))
    annems1@bigpond.net.au

  • Rod

    June 21, 2011 05:48 am

    I'm a Lightroom 3 user that would like to see this functionality included. The Add-on innovation provided is a great asset. The a-la-carte method allows you to add just what you want. With Photoshop I'd be buying tons of functionality that just does not interest me. I've an older version of Photoshop that does not integrate well with lightroom's metadata functionality. If I want it to integrate I have to spend the $$$ on Photoshop. Having masking and layering available where I do most of my work will definitely help with a faster, more efficient, and less error prone workflow.

  • Steve

    June 21, 2011 05:47 am

    SPEED! It looks like it'll be a lot easier to churn out great looking images!

  • Nate

    June 21, 2011 05:45 am

    I'm usually pressed for time during editing so being able to do all this in one app (LR) would be a huge time/headache saver.

  • Judy

    June 21, 2011 05:34 am

    This is so perfect for me. Photoshop is so confusing and expensive. I have Lightroom and I love it. So glad you wrote this up and I found this program...Thanks!

  • Daniel Lemay

    June 21, 2011 05:30 am

    I love the flexibility and creative options that onOne's software opens up. I really like the idea of their focal point and perfect resize software.

  • Michael

    June 21, 2011 05:28 am

    It looks great! Let me win! :)

  • Wolfmah

    June 21, 2011 05:28 am

    This sure look like a promising addition to the suite. I for one will be glad to get rid of the complexity of Photoshop for the most basic of its feature, layers. I will gladly give this free trial a try.

  • Ryan C.

    June 21, 2011 05:24 am

    Reduced workflow! And more of a chance ill do more creative work since I wont have to go to ps!

  • Beverly Bisbee

    June 21, 2011 05:21 am

    Would love to try out this product!

  • Rick

    June 21, 2011 05:07 am

    I use Lightroom 3 for most of my photo processing but I find myself going to PhotoShop more than I'd like to. Having layer support in Lightroom would be awesome. I have a couple OnOne plunging for PhotoShop & love them. I use them all the time.

  • Larraine

    June 21, 2011 05:07 am

    As a budding photographer, digital scrapbook and collage enthusiast, this software would be an invaluable addition to my applications. It sounds like it would cut a lot of my post processing time in half, not to mention giving me the opportunity to be more creative and worry less about technical details. I am unemployed right now and can't afford new software. Would love the opportunity to win this!

  • Teri OBrien

    June 21, 2011 04:58 am

    Perfect layers appears to be a terrific solution for people who love Aperture (me), but would like the additional functionality of layers. Thanks!

  • Leonardo

    June 21, 2011 04:51 am

    Woa, layers without Photoshop, this idea is great!

  • Kimberly

    June 21, 2011 04:50 am

    I cannot wait to try Perfect Layers-I currently use Lightroom 3 exclusively and would love to extra creative freedom that PL offers!!

  • Dhruv

    June 21, 2011 04:42 am

    Well I am an amateur and just do not have the money to buy Photoshop. I have been trying my hand and using Photoshop Elements 9, but it is not working out for me. So I would not mind a copy of an awesome piece of software at no cost :).

  • Leejo

    June 21, 2011 04:38 am

    I am very happy with Lightroom for basic processing, but to move on I know I need somethng else - and instead f searching each time for a shareware, trial version or lowcost software for each additional feature a packet such as onOne Perfect Photo Suite where everything is neatly integrated would be an amazing saving in time and effort.

  • Bertrand Gillis

    June 21, 2011 04:31 am

    Wow ! Thanks for this great giveaway.
    Perfect layers will definitively be a great addition to Lightroom.
    Cheers from Belgium ;-)

  • Mike

    June 21, 2011 04:30 am

    Looks great. I'm traveling. Can't wait to trial when I return.

  • John Newton

    June 21, 2011 04:26 am

    Perfect Layers looks like the ideal add-in to Light Room. No more having to call up Photo Shop. Adding the rest of the Perfect Suite would be like a major sugar high with all those yummy tools available in Light Room available without having to resort to Photo Shop. Oh that'd be so cool.

  • michael

    June 21, 2011 04:15 am

    looks great, love to have it on my netbook for "on location" work when my work-room server in not available.

  • Prairie Mother

    June 21, 2011 04:08 am

    Wow! That looks awesome! I'm still new to photography and post processing and have been doing edits on picnik.com, but I've been wanting to buy a better program. Photoshop Is pricy so winning this would be fabulous! I'd love to be able to work with layers in my photos too.

  • Patrick Images

    June 21, 2011 04:07 am

    That is exactly what Lightroom needs. Will be trying it out.

  • Braden

    June 21, 2011 04:03 am

    That could definitely help streamline the workflow!

  • missy

    June 21, 2011 04:01 am

    I was surprised how user friendly Perfect Layer's looks to be. Looks to be a great edition! Heading over to get the trial now!

  • Graham Moss

    June 21, 2011 04:00 am

    Perfect layers helps me to put on screen or print the picture that I originally saw in my minds eye.

  • Cliff

    June 21, 2011 03:54 am

    I have been wondering when Lightroom would get layers. I think for most photographers, this will nearly eliminate the need for Photoshop. I can't wait to try it out.

  • Ken Stead

    June 21, 2011 03:43 am

    Perfect Layers and Lightroom = paradise for my workflow!

  • Geoff Ridenour

    June 21, 2011 03:43 am

    Looks good!

  • Kent Brede

    June 21, 2011 03:40 am

    This product looks great. It should really help me create photographs with a wider dynamic range than I'm capable of ATM. I would be great to win this. I'm going to download the demo today. Thanks.

  • Sara M

    June 21, 2011 03:39 am

    I use Adobe Elements so this would be a big improvement, I'd use for editing photos and hopefully some photo simulations I need for work. Can't wait to learn all the features. Keeping finger crossed.

  • Mitch

    June 21, 2011 03:37 am

    I am a Photoshop user since v2.5 (and the 6 floppy discs you had to load) and new to Lightroom. Would love the chance to work with this new software. Great work!!

  • michael p

    June 21, 2011 03:31 am

    i just recently picked up photo tools and focal point, great products from ononesoftware. I would love the rest of the suite as it would help my workflow in Lightroom. I'm bouncing back and forth between lightroom and photoshop and would love to stay within one environment.

    Focal Point alone has saved me money, not having to rent or buy lens as often as i used to.

  • Szymon Wolny

    June 21, 2011 03:24 am

    I'm happy to see onOne introducing new products. Can't wait to find out what Perfect Layers can offer!!!

  • Aaron

    June 21, 2011 03:18 am

    It would speed up my editing of the 450 photos I took at a wedding yesterday!! Thanks for the contest!

  • Felicia Broschart

    June 21, 2011 03:18 am

    Looks like a cool software suite. Would love to give it a try!

  • Kelly

    June 21, 2011 03:13 am

    Does anyone know if I can use Photoshop book templates in Layers? I have PhotoTools and use it with my portrait work. Love it!

  • Ken S

    June 21, 2011 03:09 am

    I am not familiar with the whole suite of products, but working with one software maker for your plugins must help speed up your worlflow. I will definitely consider giving it a shot.

  • Jeff Parker

    June 21, 2011 03:07 am

    Perfect Layers would reduce my workflow dramatically! Currently having to use Lightroom and Photoshop to achieve the desired result is very time consuming. There is a large number of shoots that do not need to go into Photoshop and this would be the tool to make that happen.

  • Paul

    June 21, 2011 03:03 am

    looking forward to using layers with lightroom - maybe do some HDR photos?

    Thanks for the vid.

  • John Nichols

    June 21, 2011 03:01 am

    No matter how many years I spend with Photoshop I am still not comfortable with layers and masking. I use Lightroom 3 for about 90 % of my work and Perfect Layers looks like a needed addition to my workflow in Lightroom.

  • Ray Barr

    June 21, 2011 02:59 am

    Watched the webinar just now and was totally impressed how easy it was to use PerfetLayers in Lightroom. Fantastic time saver as are the other components of the suite.

  • BryanP

    June 21, 2011 02:52 am

    Really need to get this program at some point. I don't really use PS much anymore as it is. This could pretty much eliminate using it for the most part.

  • Andre Garant

    June 21, 2011 02:50 am

    Superb plug in that will ease the workflow and get our photos the way we wanted a lot faster with one program only..

  • Jessica Perez

    June 21, 2011 02:49 am

    How exciting! I can only afford LR and love it! The creators of oneones are creating diversity for photographers like me who are amateurs but strive for the best quality picture! Good luck to everyone! I will do my best to save my pennies! A worthy investment! :D

  • Judy R

    June 21, 2011 02:44 am

    Perfect Layers looks like the last nudge I need to move over to Lightroom as so many friends have "gently" urged me to do. I have only so much patience with fiddling to get photos blended the way I want so I love the ease of switching among looks as demonstrated in your video.

    As someone else said, I have the OnOne Plug-In Suite 4, predecessor of Perfect Photo Suite, and use it constantly. I managed to squeeze in CS5 on my educator's discount before retiring, but--alas--PPS doesn't fit into the old budget. So my "workflow" includes both CS4 and CS5 since I can't give up Plug-In Suite. :-)

    And I agree that anything from OnOne is worth buying when possible. Great, great products!!

  • Bruce Hergert

    June 21, 2011 02:42 am

    I have been on the sidelines for too long. I want to become one of the P"layers".

  • Darren Williams

    June 21, 2011 02:41 am

    Perfect layers simply subtracts the complications from masking and layers in photoshop , which i honestly hate doing. The perfect layers beta really helped me to do more exposure fusions manually and do more complicated composures with out the need for having to resort to the many photoshop tools, which i don't understand very well yet. I've trial used most of onOne's software and my favourite are definitely focal point and phototools. They allow for quick selection and adjustment of my images so i could spend less time at photoshop and more time shooting. That's something any photographer would want more of, and having these plugins would be a great line up to my arsenal!

  • John Duff

    June 21, 2011 02:40 am

    I use Lightroom and James Brandon hits the nail right on the head when he calls Perfect Layers a game changer. We are all trying to find ways to produce the best possible results without sacrificing time that could be spent behind the camera and Perfect Photo Suite seems to be a huge step toward this goal. Thank you for the great presentation.

  • a dub

    June 21, 2011 02:38 am

    Love the new Perfect Layers. The Perfect Photo Suite will for sure help my post processing workflow

  • Robert

    June 21, 2011 02:37 am

    All you have to do is leave a comment below telling us what you think of the new Perfect Layers and how the Perfect Photo Suite will help your post processing workflow. Doesn’t get much easier than that

    Perfect Layers seems like it could be useful for quickly adding textures and effects to a photo without having to go into Photoshop. I think the whole suite would help my workflow by helping to correct/change a photo quickly and mask out hair and/or fur with ease.

  • SaijaL.

    June 21, 2011 02:35 am

    I have been using PhotoTools for the past 2 years & I love it! The Perfect Photo Suite is what I am dreaming about.... I use PhotoTools on a daily basis to give my images that "wow" factor. I have been using the trial version of "Perfect Layers" & it is fantastic!! Would love to have the complete suite, I can just imagine what I would be able to do with it!!! :D

  • nadia

    June 21, 2011 02:20 am

    I recently started photography as a serious hobby and do not have any photoshop or lightroom knowledge yet. I think Perfect Layers is an awesome software for beginners like me. Can't wait to try it out!

  • jarek celmer

    June 21, 2011 02:18 am

    As for a hobbyist photographer Photoshop is a tool that I simply cannot afford. Simple as that. Perfect Layers sounds like something that I could probably still fit in my budget. Even better if it came free :) I could then get my photos look like I want them to look. There are some open source tools but by the sound of it nothing sounds like what one can achieve with Perfect Layers. Sounds perfect for me

  • Beverly Everson

    June 21, 2011 02:18 am

    I would LOVE to have Perfect Layers AND Perfect Resize! What an incredible giveaway!!!!

  • Meyer Franklin

    June 21, 2011 02:13 am

    I've been anxiously awaiting this addition to the suite. I believe this would really help to take my images to the next level.

  • Kimberly Miller

    June 21, 2011 02:12 am

    Love the possibility of quick & easy layering. Being able to see the real-time changes should make processing so much quicker.

  • Doug Sundseth

    June 21, 2011 02:09 am

    I've been seriously considering Perfect Layers to reduce the need to round-trip through Photoshop. There will still be a few things that I want PS for, but this would significantly reduce the number.

  • David G

    June 21, 2011 02:06 am

    I think it is fantastic and a must have item!

  • Erik K

    June 21, 2011 02:02 am

    I mostly use lightroom to retouching photo, if it can use layer, this will be great, no need to trasfer to photoshop, so I say perfect layer is a great tools

    I think Perfect Photo Suite will help me handling large amount number of photo that I need to re-design, with Photo Frame, re-design a photo will be quicker, especially when applying same design to other photo, Perfect Resize or genuine fractal, will help me when I need to print to large size medium, MaskPro? whoa.... perfectly removing background is one of consuming time job... I will be glad if I have tools that can remove background near or even perfectly remove the background...

  • Martin Stepka

    June 21, 2011 02:00 am

    I have tested the beta and I was missing some crucial features. Let's see if the final version fills the expectations...

  • Bryan

    June 21, 2011 02:00 am

    A nice intro, thanks.

    I've been tremendously happy with Lightroom and have rarely needed more for editing my photos. The one catch to this, however, is the lack of layer support for composting multiple exposures to deal with difficult lighting or remove unwanted elements. The folks at OnOne have really come through for me with Perfect Layers.

    For anyone who used the public preview and found it wanting I encourage you to go back and try the full release. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

    -B

  • Julia H.

    June 21, 2011 01:57 am

    This program looks amazing! I love Lightroom, but it's always a pain to open Gimp (I'm not ready to take that $800 plunge for Photoshop yet) for more in-depth photo processing. Perfect Layers looks awesome!!

  • Erik Kerstenbeck

    June 21, 2011 01:51 am

    I think the Perfect Layers package is a welcome addition to Lightroom - Great Job!

    Erik Kerstenbeck
    http://kerstenbeckphotoart.wordpress.com/

  • Jason Hooper

    June 21, 2011 01:50 am

    I saw this demo at a Kelby Training in Tampa. Very cool. Very quick. This would help me increase my productivity during my workflow. Great product.

  • Jamison

    June 21, 2011 01:49 am

    I like that it has a lot of features that I could use instead of photoshop, I'd like to check it out for my small studio to see if I could do away with the expense of photoshop!

  • Edsel Adap

    June 21, 2011 01:48 am

    The whole suite seems really amazing. I don't know why Aperture doesn't have these things built in. Perfect Photo Suite has been on my wish list for a few months now. Hopefully it doesn't stay in the wishlist forever -- if only my entry gets picked for the free license. :)

  • TIM McADAM

    June 21, 2011 01:45 am

    I started using the Perfect Layers beta after hearing about it on a blog. This is the perfect addition for us Lightroom users that can't afford CS5 or don't have the time for it's learning curve but want to do MORE with our photos. I've been waiting for the release of the finished product and have been wanting to get the full suite but my funds have been limited lately by the usual bills and college tuition for the kids (like most people these days). It would be pretty "sweet" to win the full "suite" and an awesome addition since I'm only using Lightroom but want to expand my editing capabilities, this would change things greatly!
    Please enter me in the giveaway !!!!

    mcadamphotography@gmail.com

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/subconscience_sight/

    Thanks!!!!!
    Tim

  • Robert Hinshaw

    June 21, 2011 01:44 am

    Perfect layers loosk really good and since most of my editing is currently SUPER basic this would help me UP my game!!

  • Dion

    June 21, 2011 01:43 am

    Quicken up the workflow by not having to open and create large PS files.

  • jay mcintyre

    June 21, 2011 01:42 am

    Wow. Layers in Lightroom will greatly reduce post processing time. Can't wait to try it!

  • Aparna E.

    June 21, 2011 01:40 am

    I work for a software company so I've come to learn Photoshop. However, there are so many bells and whistles I just know I'll never learn. I like having ease when I edit photos. This sounds like the perfect way to accomplish that. everything you did was something I could in Photoshop, but a whole lot easier and quicker!

  • Francisco

    June 21, 2011 01:38 am

    This is gonna really change the business, layers look awesome I will try it right away!!!

  • ladywild

    June 21, 2011 01:37 am

    Photoshop can be a bear. Perfect Layers looks like it would take away a lot of the hunting time I spend trying to figure out how to do things in PS. It looks like it is pretty simple and straight forward.

  • AnneA

    June 21, 2011 01:34 am

    Definately looks very promising! Thanks for the screencast!

  • ScottC

    June 21, 2011 01:32 am

    This sounds like what I've been looking for. I'm trying to learn how to use GIMP (more complicated than I care for) and I simply won't put the money into PS, but I would love to have the ability for some added "touch" beyond Lightroom in my photos.

  • Hans

    June 21, 2011 01:31 am

    Great product. I love the fact that this has streamlined my post processing workflow. I no longer need to go into Photoshop. Maybe in the future, I won't have to purchase Photoshop.

  • Maximo Almonte

    June 21, 2011 01:30 am

    I been a photoshop fan for almost 5 years into my career. I have dealt with layers and it is kind of hard getting the right mix to make your artwork pop. Now One Perfect Layers is another ball game. The simplicity and ease of work to blend and adjust layers is just magnificent. Integrating this software into my lightroom workflow can give me so many possibilities with less time consuming post production as opposed to PS.
    Thanks for the Tutorial.

  • Chris

    June 21, 2011 01:30 am

    Perfect Layers is the 'perfect' solution for photographers. I am very pleased that someone has created a solution to allow me to stay within Lightroom and pull off Photoshop techniques! No more jumping between programs!

  • Ciccio Cicci

    June 21, 2011 01:28 am

    Perfect Layers is especially useful to stack different exposures for product photography.

  • Debbie Hanson

    June 21, 2011 01:26 am

    Wow! Looks like a wonderful product. I do not use Photoshop...mainly because of the price. This looks like a perfect solution for me. I am not a professional photographer, but do enjoy taking photos as a hobby.

  • MarkT

    June 21, 2011 01:24 am

    Love the screencast. This would be great for someone like me who doesn't use Photoshop. I'd use it to enhance my photos.

  • Jessica

    June 21, 2011 01:23 am

    This is awesome!!! I have to have it! I have Lightroom and have been thinking about upgrading to photoshop to add textures and layers to my images...if I have this program I won't have to!

  • David

    June 21, 2011 01:23 am

    Very interesting product. I particularly like that you can easily preview the effect that various blend modes will have without having to do the try and undo dance.

  • Brian Neary

    June 21, 2011 01:22 am

    Love the perfect layers. Not a big user of PS so this tool will definitely help my workflow and end product. As for the whole suite, wow. Every photo would be touched by magic.

  • toomanytribbles

    June 21, 2011 01:21 am

    i'm increasingly depending on LR, moving over to PS when i want to do layering work -- this would cut a lot of my editing time.

  • Fred

    June 21, 2011 01:20 am

    hi!
    good news ;)
    i've already the suite, missing this part :)
    fred

  • David Lambert

    June 21, 2011 01:19 am

    I'm a relatively new LR user, but I've always appreciated the layers in Photoshop Elements, so Perfect Layers sounds like a slam-dunk. I'd really love to get my hands on Perfect Resize, though, as I'm sort of struggling with getting print resizing to work the way I'd like. I've heard great things about Perfect Resize, so I'd like to see if that does the trick for me.

  • Kun-Ning

    June 21, 2011 01:18 am

    Ideally think of a good thirty-party plug-in and software that fully support aperture workflow without leaving or switch to other program, will definitely improve my post-processing workflow.
    Because I tried once with Photoshop and Aperture workflow with my friends' computer which is a totally disaster to an amateur photographer as I.
    Honestly to say, it is no needs for people be come high-skilled photoshopper with his camera.
    A good tool should save us from those long haul learning and training.

  • Jenny

    June 21, 2011 01:17 am

    I first came across onOne at the Adobe Photoshop for Photographers seminar with Scott Kelby and Ben Willmore in VanCity 2008/09. I was blown away by what I saw at the seminar, and saw the value of the Photo Suite immediately so bought the product on the spot. The customer service and support has been amazing and I love how easy and streamlined it has made my workflow. Layers/masking is certainly one aspect of Photoshop that I do not use to its full potential, but having Perfect Layers in my PhotoTool belt would certainly allow me to do so. I've recently converted to Mac too, so to be able to have onOne onTwo platforms, well that would be PhotoPerfect! :)

  • Marcus

    June 21, 2011 01:13 am

    I have the trial now and love not having to go into PS. This may make PS obsolete for my workflow.

  • Stian

    June 21, 2011 01:12 am

    Frest giveaway! Count me in :)

  • Tony Plewa

    June 21, 2011 01:12 am

    Perfect layers would streamline my post processing workflow.

  • Ovidiu

    June 21, 2011 01:11 am

    I don't have much need for the Perfect Layers since I use Photoshop but I'd love to get my hands on the Perfect Photo Suite since I am using the free (older) version and love it!
    I'd love to win this license!

  • Ed Steenhoek

    June 21, 2011 01:11 am

    I think that Perfect Layers is the best of both world. My digital workflow is in Lightroom. I'm a photographer. Although I know my way around Photoshop, I'm not a designer/graphical artist. Call it laziness, but I don't want to leave Lightroom if I don't have to. With presets and plugins. you can do most anything I need to. Except for layers.That is, up 'till know. I played around with the pre-release and it works the way I remember from Photoshop and even better: It sticks to my single flow. Do my thing in Lightroom and publish to wherever I need to go. Not to forget about it being part of my catalogue! Never again searching for those loose images that were edited in Photoshop directly. For me its just saving the money to get it... or better... win it ;-)

  • Marilynn

    June 21, 2011 01:09 am

    This sounds awesome! I love to take pictures but not play with them. I am still learning that part. This looks like the perfect place to start!

  • Daniel Cadden

    June 21, 2011 01:09 am

    I like the look of layers, even as an accompaniment to photoshop as it appears to make production of composite images simple and there are just times when I can do without running photoshop which is quite resource hungry when all I need are it's simpler image editing abilities.

    It would possibly make a great tool to have on the laptop too when I'm shooting away on location as I can quickly demonstrate the results of simple image tweaks to clients looking for more stylised work.

  • Brian

    June 21, 2011 01:07 am

    Interesting product. It sounds like it would be perfect for me. I have Lightroom and love the power and simplicity of it, but would really love to be able to work with layers like Photoshop users. I have been hearing more and more about onOne's software and I think I need to check out a trial version.

    Nice write-up by the way!

  • Zsolt

    June 21, 2011 01:07 am

    I like photoshop but it needs a lot of PC resources and would nice to try out and use other recommended applications for my photos.
    Thanks for review .

  • Geekgirly

    June 21, 2011 01:04 am

    Perfect Layers would definitely make my work process a little easier then what I have been doing in the past. Since I primarily use Lightroom this is just an added bonus!!

  • Karen Eveland

    June 21, 2011 01:04 am

    Perfect layers looks awesome! It would make life so much easier by being able to edit photo's much quicker. With today's busy lifestyle...I would love to win a copy. Anyone would! Thanks for showing it to us.

  • Dirk

    June 21, 2011 01:02 am

    I never really understood why this is not a default feature in Lightroom. I tried the beta version which was free and no I can't live without it!

  • Gail Frandsen

    June 21, 2011 01:01 am

    Love ON One. They have fantastic products. I would love to win as i have been unable to afford programs - even thou I know I would use all the time in my workflow

  • Rey

    June 21, 2011 01:00 am

    I tried the beta of Perfect Layers. Currently I use Aperture to manipulate my photos, Photoshop Elements 8 to do any extra stuff. I rarely want to use Elements, because it is another tool with more steps to do. Perfect Layers is simple to use and it gets the job done for photographers. if you still want to add other effects, then you need to go to Photoshop.

  • Zach

    June 21, 2011 12:59 am

    I think Perfect Layers is an awesome program! I was given Aperture 3 for my birthday but with such a tight budget haven't been able to afford Photoshop yet. This program could definitely replace my need for Photoshop, hopefully! I will definitely check it out!

  • John Davenport

    June 21, 2011 12:57 am

    Wow - very neat little program and I've always dreamed about being able to do a lot of work without the need for photoshop. It's not that I hate photoshop it's just that it's one extra step and with this being able to work right there in Lightroom I think it would significantly improve my workflow.

    Aside from just perfect layers, the other aspects of this bundle seem amazing. I'd love to try out Focal Point along with the others mentioned above.

    Unfortunately at this time even the 100 dollars is too much for me to spend, so I'll sit and dream, fingers crossed on being selected as the winner here, but just the fact that it was brought to my attention is enough of a bonus. Thanks for the review and screen cast! :)

  • redd

    June 21, 2011 12:57 am

    am a music/band/animal event photograher and some times there are time when you have the perfect photo. get home and there a mircophone in or lead or something in a bands face...or with animals theres a lead/rain or hand in the photo...if i got the software this would help me alot to perfect my photos...i dont use photoshop..so Perfect Layers would be great for me,,,i love the way it bring the best out in the photos..

  • Ibrahim

    June 21, 2011 12:56 am

    I'm going to try this software thank you very much for your tutorial

  • MuzafferB

    June 21, 2011 12:55 am

    It's cool and it's gonna speed things up!

  • Scott Prock

    June 21, 2011 12:54 am

    Brilliant! ... I'm an avid Photoshop user and I can see this speeding up my work. Anything that can make me more efficient is money well spent.

  • Kyle Andrus

    June 21, 2011 12:45 am

    Perfect Layers looks great! Been having some issues getting my colours and my photos the way that I would like them. Would love the Suite from OnOne to help me out!

  • Cody Allen

    June 21, 2011 12:33 am

    That software seems pretty "suite"! It could definitely save me some time with editing product photography.

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Sign up to the free DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER

DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed