Nikon D3000 DSLR Review - Digital Photography School
Close
Close

Nikon D3000 DSLR Review

If you’ve always hungered for a DSLR and more importantly, a Nikon DSLR, but never had ‘the ready’ to fill your ambition … The Nikon D3000 DSLRcould be your opportunity.

It’s hard to quantify the allure of the breed but undeniable is the bloodline, the technical excellence and innovative achievements of Nikon cameras and lenses. Priced just above point-and-shoot fixed lens digicams and well beneath the semi pro and full pro model DSLRs, the D3000 is an excellent pathway to the higher quality such a camera can deliver.

Nikon D3000.jpg

Nikon D3000 DSLR Features

In the hand, the camera is delightfully compact, light and — to the novice’s eye — ‘unsplattered’ by intimidating external controls. You view via an optical turret viewfinder or the rear 7.6cm LCD screen.

The review camera was supplied with the f3.5/18-55mm VR lens that handles hand-induced vibration. With this lens attached the gear weighs just under a kilo — no penalty in my book.

Of course, there are a few issues when you deal with a Nikon DSLR: image stability is provided by the lens’ internal optics, and some of the attractively-priced kit lenses usually offered with the D3000 do not provide this.

Nikon D3000-front.jpg

With 10.2 million pixels on its CCD the camera can shoot a maximum 3872×2592 pixel image; when printed this accounts for a 33x22cm output at 300 dpi.

nikon-d3000-Bookcase flash blur 1.jpg

The mode dial has settings for auto, Program AE, aperture and shutter priority as well as manual exposure plus a number of scene modes (landscape, sports, portraits etc).

The built in flash can be useful especially as a ‘fill’ for portraits; the more adventurous can also experiment with light trails thanks to the flash’s ability to sync with the rear shutter curtain.

And note: DSLRs at this level have a macro mode, not available on the upper level reflex cameras. So, if you’re into ECUs (extra close-ups) of bugs and beetles, a camera like the D3000 is ideal.

Fire up the camera and the first thing you see is the LCD display confirming that the CCD is being cleaned — pre-shoot; post-shoot, cut the power and the camera cleans the sensor again. With an interchangeable lens camera, this function is important, eradicating dust that may enter when you switch lenses.

Right from the start the beginner can feel at home, thanks to the Guide, selectable from the mode dial and shown on the LCD display. This will hold your hand through the various shooting modes and even help you move through some of the more advanced techniques. As well as this, settings made with Guide mode can even be tweaked before making the shot.

nikon-d3000-People.jpg

There is a Scene Recognition System that optimises exposure, white balance and autofocus; continuous shooting can be made at up to 3 fps and an 11-point selectable autofocus scheme tracks focus in any of four modes (static or moving subjects, auto area and 3D tracking).

The D3000’s photo editing functions give you in-camera retouching, and here again is a Tilt-Shift mode that I first encountered in the Ricoh CX2 … it creates a miniature mode effect from normal shots. Cute.

The ISO range runs from 100 to 3200.

Nikon D3000 ISO 100 f7.1 1:13 second.jpg
Optimum ISO at 100.

Nikon D3000 ISO 400 f7.1 1:50 second.jpg
Still very clean at ISO 400.

Nikon D3000 ISO 800 f7.1 1:100 second.jpg
Minimal noise at ISO 800.

Nikon D3000 ISO 1600 f7.1 1:200 second.jpg
Noise becoming evident at ISO 1600 but still useable.

Nikon D3000 ISO 3200 f7.1 1:400 second.jpg
Hitting its straps at ISO 3200 this is only when you really have to!

Statue State Theatre ISO 3200 2.jpg

A movie house foyer, shot at ISO 3200 — with the right subject, quite a useable setting. Detail in the picture covers the noise.

Photography at this level lets you into the exalted arena of RAW capture, where you can manipulate your shots to a degree not achievable with JPEG shooting. However, the D3000 will still shoot JPEGs, if you sometimes need only snapshot quality.

Digging around the manual I found a terrific mode that can shoot stop motion clips from a series of stills. You can make short video sequences from puppets or even hand-drawn animation that will run successfully on an SD TV set at 640×480 pixel res or you can even smaller create clips for use on the Web. Magic!

Nikon D3000-review.jpg

Comment

A great piece of kit. Beginners star here!

Why you would buy the D3000: attractive price for a DSLR; entrée to Nikon system and lenses; RAW capture.

Why you wouldn’t: no Live View; no video capture (but you can make a stop motion movie from still shots!); low resolution LCD.

nikon-d3000-Ferry and bridge.jpg

I figure the D3000 is a perfect entry-level camera, with some modes (like stop motion movies) that will give you a lot of fun, without the need for a lot of techy knowledge. Good one Nikon!

Nikon D3000 Specifications

Image Sensor: 10.2 million effective pixels.
Metering: Matrix and centre-weighted metering, spot.
Effective Sensor Size: 23.6×15.8mm CCD.
35 SLR Lens Factor: 1:5x.
Compatible lenses: Nikkor AF-S and AF-I.
Exposure Modes: Auto, Program AE, shutter and aperture priority, manual.
Shutter Speed: 30 to 1/4000 second, Bulb. Flash sync: 1/200.
Memory: SD/SDHC cards.
Image Sizes (pixels): 3872×2592, 2896×1944, 1936×1296.
Viewfinders: Optical pentamirror, 7.6cm LCD (230,000 pixels).
File Formats: RAW, RAW+JPEG.
Colour Space: Adobe RGB, sRGB.
ISO Sensitivity: Auto, 100 to 3200.
Interface: USB 2.0, AV, DC input.
Power: Rechargeable lithium ion battery, AC adaptor.
Dimensions: 126x97x64 WHDmm.
Weight: Approx. 485 g (body only).
Price: At Amazon the Nikon D3000 is $448.93 with 18-55mm lens or $369.95 Body Only.

Body only: $799. With Nikkor f3.5/18-55mm VR lens: $949.

If you enjoyed this article, you might also like...

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category.

Barrie Smith is an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas.

  • http://www.manindezorg.nl johan

    good camera, the nikon d3000
    see my movie of my pics
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haowoxGnmUk

  • Kristi

    I bought mine in February at walmart for 449 it was the kit maybe it was 499… Anyways I love love love it… I went from point and shoot slr like to this and its awesome, have since purchased a large lens, 80mm x 200mm… For a beginner its easy to use, lots to learn, still learning…

  • http://www.habbycam.com Larsen

    Wow what a great camera! Better get some gear for it! I’ve used http://www.habbycam.com before. Really good stuff there. never had a problem with them!

  • Madison Raine

    I got a Nikon D3000 and was very pleased with it. It’s an awesome camera.

  • Madison Raine

    Got the camera, case, lens, book, for only $499. ( at first the people messed up and gave me a display model so I got free overnight shipping) I took many great photos with it so far, I love the detail I can get with it, my macros are great. I’m planning on getting other lens oneday and can’t wait. This camera is very good for first timers on SLR. I love it.

  • http://iseekwithallmyheart.blogspot.com/ elizabeth

    i have had this camera for about a year and a half now and i still only have the lens that came with it. i want to get a new one … but i can only afford but so much. if i could only purchase one lens for a reasonable price, what would you suggest would be the most bang for my buck? right now, i shoot mostly family/kids for friends and family.

  • Ramesh T

    I just bought nikon 3100 camera last 3 weeks before, its really very nice, i learned how to take a smart picture with this camera, i shoot mostly kids and naturals stills, right now i have taken 800 pictures. The Nikon DSLR 3100 camera is very good for first timers on SLR. I love it.

  • libby

    i have this camera and i have to say not having live view doesn’t bother me. it makes the battery last so much longer… plus i actually like looking through a viewfinder
    this camera is my first dslr and it was incredibly easy to learn.

  • Austine Ashio Gregory

    how do i blur a baground while taking an outdoor shot

Some older comments

  • libby

    December 21, 2011 01:17 pm

    i have this camera and i have to say not having live view doesn't bother me. it makes the battery last so much longer... plus i actually like looking through a viewfinder
    this camera is my first dslr and it was incredibly easy to learn.

  • Ramesh T

    September 29, 2011 08:40 pm

    I just bought nikon 3100 camera last 3 weeks before, its really very nice, i learned how to take a smart picture with this camera, i shoot mostly kids and naturals stills, right now i have taken 800 pictures. The Nikon DSLR 3100 camera is very good for first timers on SLR. I love it.

  • elizabeth

    August 18, 2011 04:16 am

    i have had this camera for about a year and a half now and i still only have the lens that came with it. i want to get a new one ... but i can only afford but so much. if i could only purchase one lens for a reasonable price, what would you suggest would be the most bang for my buck? right now, i shoot mostly family/kids for friends and family.

  • Madison Raine

    August 12, 2011 08:27 am

    Got the camera, case, lens, book, for only $499. ( at first the people messed up and gave me a display model so I got free overnight shipping) I took many great photos with it so far, I love the detail I can get with it, my macros are great. I'm planning on getting other lens oneday and can't wait. This camera is very good for first timers on SLR. I love it.

  • Madison Raine

    August 12, 2011 08:06 am

    I got a Nikon D3000 and was very pleased with it. It's an awesome camera.

  • Larsen

    July 19, 2011 07:25 am

    Wow what a great camera! Better get some gear for it! I've used www.habbycam.com before. Really good stuff there. never had a problem with them!

  • Kristi

    April 21, 2011 12:49 pm

    I bought mine in February at walmart for 449 it was the kit maybe it was 499... Anyways I love love love it... I went from point and shoot slr like to this and its awesome, have since purchased a large lens, 80mm x 200mm... For a beginner its easy to use, lots to learn, still learning...

  • johan

    April 13, 2011 05:28 pm

    good camera, the nikon d3000
    see my movie of my pics
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haowoxGnmUk

  • Ardentphotog

    March 26, 2011 05:10 am

    I just bought this camera, and I only opened it ot look at it. I will be testing it out this weekend, and I hope to get great results. I've heard more good reviews than bad ones, so I'm excited!

  • Nikon D3000

    January 27, 2011 02:03 pm

    Nikon D3000 Camera is really great. Once you try you will become a great fan of it. Really Nice...

    For Best Price visit Buy Nikon D3000

  • PoPoL

    December 2, 2010 08:10 am

    Nice review, I just bought a D3000 (yesterday), and having lived wit Nikon 35mm camera's since the 1970's, I was somewhat disappointed by the light weight and the plastic feel of the camera. My older D70 gave up on me, and I still regret it. That digital SLR was as sturdy as an F3. I hope the new D3000 will convince me that lightwight can be good too.

  • Robert Carmona

    November 27, 2010 06:00 am

    I love my Nikon D3000. The images I have captured so far are unquestionally dreamy. Although I bought my D3000 on the street and I had no guide to come with it, it is brand new out the box! I am more of a hobbiest with Photography and I am so eager to learn all the operating functions on it. I'm always shooting on AUTO mode. I'm hoping that this site can teach me how to shoot proffessionally. Thank you Nikon for making something with such quality but still easy to use.......
    Robert Carmona, http://www.flickr.com/photos/ibexclusive/[img]

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ibexclusive/5194596347/[/img]

  • j rose burn

    November 22, 2010 11:18 am

    I loved that I got into this thread, i'm planning to buy a DSLR soon and I'm looking forward for Faerie's review of Canon XS soon, I guess. After much of the reviews I've read from cnet, dpreview, kenrockwell, cameralabs, and now this, and also with some of the local blogs here in my country (Philippines), I'm stucked too between the Rebel XS and d3000. Well I guess with one of the posts above that says canon XS will be phased out (or may have already here), then I guess the nikon d3000 will be it for me. I'll get back to this thread after which I made my final verdict.

    Thanks to everyone here especially to dan foy, orel, nexxus007 and gradyphilpott

    PS. Faerie, looking forward on your notes

    warm regards,
    rose

  • Doug

    October 22, 2010 09:21 am

    True Chris...know it's beeen since Mar 2010, but you're right on the movie bit....why would you need a camera for photos and movies. The small point and shoot has that capability..but in the more expensive models, play with the one function....photos alone! Like you mentioned, use a separate cam for movies..and food for thought, as least if you have one camera down for repairs, you still have the other for photos and/or movies. Plus, the small point and shoot (Kodak C-813) is just as good as a D5000. Outside movies are great because of the lighting - inside, grainy, I don't care what camera you're using!

  • Doug

    October 22, 2010 09:15 am

    So what were the Nikon cameras before the DLSR camera called....baby cameras! Don't know why that reference got stuck on the D3000. In that case, so would the D3100, and D90 be called entry level!! Give me a brake. People buy it just because it's and up-grade from their point and shoot. I know of 2 people and perhaps thousands more, will never WANT to learn to get off the AUTO setting and go play with MASP!!

  • Jose Valdez

    September 6, 2010 02:50 am

    I need all information on the camara D3000 Nikon
    Thanks

  • Morach

    August 27, 2010 11:13 am

    Looking over several cameras and choosing one for someone who has outgrown point and shoots, I came back to the Nikon D3000. By no means will this model blow away the seasoned photographer, however it does cover the basics and more. We picked it up and tried it out over the weekend.

    First time DSLR users will enjoy the Guide Mode. It literally walked us through different shoot scenarios via the fixed 3" LCD screen. An excellent tool, its step by step instructions allowed my niece to move from the operating booklet in no time. After a few more runs, I am sure that she will feel quite comfortable shooting in the manual mode. The quick shutter release was a nice surprise.

    Upon completing two days of shooting with the Nikon D3000, I walked away impressed. In manual mode, indoor shots were a balanced and perfect mix of shadow and color. As usual with shooting in low light, noise will make an appearance. However this system can be tweaked to deliver some outstanding indoor photographs. The bottom line is proper settings.

  • Faerie

    July 31, 2010 12:24 am

    So I have done alot of research on this camera and found out It's a pretty good camera,
    But then I found the Canon Rebel XS
    And that's where I started to get stuck
    I'm caught between the two cameras and I don't know which ones better.
    So I read this review and the comments beneath it,
    And I have seriously changed my mind..
    I think I'm going to go for the Canon Rebel XS.
    But what if i make the wrong decision?

  • RAJ

    July 10, 2010 09:33 pm

    can any one plz explain about 3d tracking in d3000

  • steph

    June 8, 2010 07:40 pm

    I am a beginner and I have the Nikon D3000. I am obviously still learning but I have done a newborn shoot and a wedding with this camera and I absolutely love it. And everyone is overly impressed with the photos it produces. It is a great camera to practice with and then eventually if I decide that photography is my chosen field I may decide to upgrade to a better model, but for now I am extremely happy with it.

  • GradyPhilpott

    April 22, 2010 11:31 am

    This is a fair review in my estimation. It's not cluttered with technical jargon that I'll never understand or shots of charts that give me headaches. Just as the reviewer promises, he tells us about the user experience, which though subjective, is what most people who would buy a D3000 are interested in. As for objectivity, he covers the weaknesses and offers real world photos to illustrate.

    I own the D3000 and it may just be that if there had not been a D3000, I would never would have made the jump to DSLRs. It's not a perfect camera, but it's far and away the best I've ever used or would have used if I hadn't made the jump.

    The D3000 takes wonderful pictures, can be as easy or complex as you care, doesn't cost a fortune (although a photography habit might), and doesn't have extraneous features.

    This camera is really for beginners, even if beginners might do quite well with the higher-end cameras in its league. That's not the point. The point is to have a true entry-level camera that will nurture an interest in picture taking. The Nikon D3000 is exactly that a heck of a lot more.

  • lateef

    April 13, 2010 06:06 pm

    nice came

  • Atishay Mathur

    March 27, 2010 01:33 pm

    an excellent camera. just bought it. can do wonders with it! just started shooting plants with a dark background with it and am loving it!

  • Em Kay

    March 19, 2010 03:41 pm

    I hope i can help a few of those here to decide. I'm a beginner, got the D3000 4 months ago. I have a few photog friends who showed me the ropes so I don't really made use of all the guide things that the camera offered. It is very limited anyway. I guess if u don't have a mentor of sort and don't want to go to any photography classes or workshops, this is a good camera to start with. If u don't really know if u r talented, then this is a not so expensive way to find out too.

    I'm taking it on hikes n the weight or lack of it was a major point when i made the decision to get this model. The D3000 doesn't have a motor so I have to manually focus when i am using my newly acquired 11-16mm Tokina F2.8. (which cost more than the D3000). Not really an inconvenient since I do mostly landscapes. I don't do videos and the lack of live view forced me to bend or lie down on the ground once in a while but that's not too much trouble. My only regret is that now since I'm printing, i wish i cud shoot with more pixels count so that i cud have larger prints.

  • chris

    March 14, 2010 01:21 pm

    I picked up the D3000 last week and now have to upgrade my editing software because Nikon apparently changed the way the camers records the raw files and I cannot oprn them with my old CS3 program. Picked it up for $570.00 taxes in. I looked into the D5000 but could not justify the cost when compared to the D3000 because I did not want the extra features (live view, tilt and swivel screen.) As for the movie mode!! If I want to shoot movies I'll buy a movie camera.
    Chris

  • Sapphire

    March 13, 2010 01:55 am

    'mash' ,I think your views about people buying this camera are a bit harsh.Yeah the D40 and D80 are better models,but not everyone can afford them.I brought a D3000 and would have loved to have brought a D90 but it wasn't in my budget .I think that's the same for alot of people.

  • NikonDad

    March 12, 2010 04:49 pm

    Great review!!This is a entry level Camera and that what was said in the review and what Nikon sell the camera as and it does a GREAT job!!
    Bracketing,don't you mean Auto Bracketing??Here's a hint. Learn how to do it yourself..It's NOT that Hard!!

  • Mark Gottschalk

    March 12, 2010 02:24 pm

    Been using one since first day of availability as my "combat" DSLR. Very happy with the images and the usability. Yes, there are some limitations as compared to other models. Bt, I do not need the variable angle screen, video capability, or GPS features found on other models. So for the beginner AND for those who shoot other models and find the need to use a quick to use camera for some occasions, I give this a big thumbs up.

  • FunkySonicO

    March 11, 2010 09:53 am

    Cool review! Thanks to this review now I have my Nikon D3000! Y que puedo decir de la cámara? Excelente, muchas opciones, pase de tener una Kodak Z950 a a una reflex Nikon D3000! Lo mejor desde mi punto de vista es poder sacar fotos en RAW y los 11 puntos de enfoque. Quizás mejoraría un poco el flash de la cámara ya que cuando tomo fotos cuando hay poca luz se nota la ausencia de luz pero todavía no probé con un mejor flash que gracias a dios se puede incorporar en la cámara. La falta de grabar video en HD no me importa mucho, igual puedo sacar buenas fotos y después hacer un time-lapse. Y el tema de no poder ver la imagen en el visor antes de tomar una foto tampoco me importa, otra cosa buena de la cámara es que puedo apagar el visor para ahorrar batería. Recomendable para los que quieren pasar de una compacta digital a una reflex!

  • nexxus007

    March 9, 2010 09:25 am

    ...to add to the commends about bracketing. Learning photography is like going to school. If you are in grade 5, you cannot comprehend anything from grade 7, for example. This is a step by step process. This SLR will help you in getting acquainted with the nitty gritty of photography, even though you might not get to try the advanced features. All those who are thinking of getting this model, i suggest you go for it, get your basics right on a SLR. Basics like, exposures, aperture settings, flash compensations, ISO settings, DOF, etc. Train your eye into getting the best of what you have. Train yourself to use the lenses, and then make the switch. I am sure whenever you 'graduate' to the big shots of these SLRs, your photographs will outshine all the dimwits here who just want to get the best but not know how to use the gear.

  • nexxus007

    March 9, 2010 09:21 am

    I have bought this. Mainly because i was on a budget. I dont regret buying this one bit. As i said, i was on a serious budget, and anything above 500 was a big NO. I got this, well within my budget, i can experiment with different lenses, and its all good. And no,, at no point do i feel i am using a point and shoot. Whoever said the D90 is almost the same price probably has a lot of money to play with. The D90 is close to $800, its not cheap. Last i read, Canon was in the process of pulling out the XS cameras. So people, if you do not want to go in for this, then i suggest the XSi. But if you are on a budget like me, then this is the perfect camera. Remember one thing, you will need to shell out money later on for lenses and other stuff, so choose wisely.

  • resiros

    March 5, 2010 08:43 am

    The big problem is there is no bracketing :( For Live View I never missed it until my first macro shot (with the bees :)
    Anyway, great Camera, check my flickr photostream for examples.

  • praveen

    March 3, 2010 10:25 pm

    I have read extensively the reviews given.Can pl anybody tell me for a amateur D3000 without a live view is good or not.Which is a better camera Canon EOS 1000D or Nikon 3000? Canon comes with live view facility. I am planning to buy one very shortly, Pl help me.

  • Shuklendu Ayachit

    March 3, 2010 07:24 pm

    Confused to purchase Nikon D3000 or Canon 1000D. Please suggest me which would be better I don't have much budget.

  • dan foy

    March 1, 2010 04:32 am

    In response to seb wilde, you get a sense that he is trying to be enthusiastic about his review in the way that a man in sunglasses that walks into a bar is enthusiastic about the genuine gold-plated rolexes on the inside of his jacket. It does not strike me as an educated insight from someone that knows what he's talking about.

    In all seriousness, for years I worked in electrical retail as my day job, and things like:

    "Right from the start the beginner can feel at home, thanks to the Guide, selectable from the mode dial and shown on the LCD display. This will hold your hand through the various shooting modes and even help you move through some of the more advanced techniques

    ...are exactly the sort of 'enthusiasms' we use to shift boxes. I'm a firm believer that independent reviews should read like honest, balanced, impartial reviews, rather than like a script for a telemarketer. This is especially true of the extreme ends of the market, where potential enthusiasts need to be educated about their purchases, not misguided by someone elses fervour for a particular brand or product. I would expect this from an amateur with some bizzare (but unfortunately common) need to defend his or her choice purchase, but not from someone who is allegedly "an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas."

    This is unfortunate, because actually Smith actually writes about different brands, product lines, and product levels in a more knowledgeable and unbiased-sounding fashion. It is common for consumer magazines to write similarly one-sided in the fashion so as not to piss of manufacturers that they may later rely on for advertising or competition sponsorship. This is not how the internet works, however.

    In closing I would like to point out that have nothing against Nikon, amateurs, cheap dSLRs, and as far I'm aware the D3000 is actually a fair camera for the money; ken rockwell is widely regarded as an ongoing joke, someone that makes sensationalist, often misguided, and sometimes incorrect statements about anything that will drive visitors to his site and ego; and that a rebel T1i (aka 500D) could well be an excellent recommendation to a beginner if he or she expects a camera to give him or her room to grow into, although I'll accept that a D90 is another class altogether and something that you need some knowledge to use.

  • sebastian wilde

    February 27, 2010 02:47 pm

    I like how the writer was not misleading. You got a sense that he was trying to be enthusiastic about his review. What did he do wrong? Did he forget to be pretensions? I don't think so. What bothers me more is that people are actually reading the comments section. Don't believe the hype!

    Telling a beginner to go out and buy a D90 or a T1i is misleading. It's not like you're a wedding photographer. It's not like spending an extra $200 is gonna make you better. Good luck.

  • boyet

    February 27, 2010 08:42 am

    hey!!!!! I have D3000 my wife bought for me last christmas. It's fun to used maybe because i am a beginner!? The only problem i have encountered is? there is no LIVE VIEW when i dont want to crawl down to take a shoot. For macro shoot? Pretty good if you are beginners like me but of course it is very much different if you have macro lens.......

  • SMae

    February 27, 2010 07:04 am

    Hello,

    I got this camera for Christmas as I have a new interest in photography and my boyfriend thought that this would be a good place for me to start.

    Experienced photographers seem to be slating it, but as a newbie that has never even owned a proper point and shoot digital camera I am loving it.

    I still don't know how to use all of the settings and I have been taking 1 photo a day since Jan 1st.

    I think that the photos in this article are ridiculous, the camera is capable of so much better.

  • TripleScoop

    February 27, 2010 04:53 am

    This review is a little Nikon bias. I use Nikon DSLR myself.

    The D3000 is a good entry level camera and it purpose it to get people interested if it turns into a passion then upgrade to a D90 or D300 or even a D3.

    Once you learn the basics and know what pictures and controls you like then upgrade. No need to jump into the deep end of photography. I know people who have D300 and only use the P mode.....

    We all know it not the camera it the photographer that makes the shot. The camera is a tool don't get me wrong..my tool of choice is a Nikon.

    Do your research and make up your own mind do just read 1 review.

  • Stace

    February 27, 2010 03:17 am

    I bought this camera for Christmas and I LOVE it. I am new to DSLR's and have no real comprehension of what I'm doing, but reading the manual and various web entries has allowed me to take pictures better than I ever have before. That said, the kit lens is really not good. I borrowed a friends 50 mm 1.4 lens and holy cow! The difference was immediate, even to a lowly amateur like me. Pictures came out with more color and they just looked more interesting due to the depth of field (obvious to others, but for me it was a revelation!) My advice is to skip the kit lens and get the 50 mm instead.

  • dblayn

    February 27, 2010 02:01 am

    I'm a nikon guy, but I'd rather read a unbiased review too.

  • Chris KKarr

    February 27, 2010 01:29 am

    Wow you guys. One makes out that this camera is great and the other breaks it down. Who to believe? I wanted to buy the DSLR 3000 as I am aiming to go into the Events Photography business. Now I am not so sure anymore I want this camera. Any suggestions will be appreciated!

  • Greg

    February 27, 2010 12:58 am

    This review really sounds like a description, and one written by Nikon. This is evidenced by a one sentence Pro's and Con's section. I would like to see some unbiased, real world reviews on a website such as this.

    -Greg

  • micro sd cards

    February 26, 2010 09:53 pm

    Photography at this level lets you into the exalted arena of RAW capture, where you can manipulate your shots to a degree not achievable with JPEG shooting. However, the D3000 will still shoot JPEGs, if you sometimes need only snapshot quality.

  • Marta

    February 26, 2010 04:20 pm

    Oh and I got the whole kit for $430.. on sale at Best Buy!

  • Marta

    February 26, 2010 04:17 pm

    I just recently bought my D3000 because it is an entry level and my first DSLR. It is very easy to work with, but I don't understand half the stuff I can do with it!!! Still learning!

  • Karthikeyan Ramnath

    February 26, 2010 01:13 pm

    Cant one just go for a D90 which is more or less the same price now and has better low light perf along with better lens support?

  • Gene

    February 26, 2010 01:04 pm

    Good review... thanks for the info!

  • Orel

    February 26, 2010 12:40 pm

    Agree with dan foy re: advertising copy. I was going to buy this camera, then changed my mind and got the Canon Rebel XS instead, mainly based on this [1] review. The Canon supposedly has a cheaper feel, but in terms of noise and color accuracy, it seemed to be the clear winner. Ken Rockwell's website also has a strong review panning this camera; he even swears the aging D40 is still a better deal.

    [1] http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/content/Nikon-D3000-Digital-Camera-Review-20977/Canon-XS-Comparison.htm

  • Mash

    February 26, 2010 10:35 am

    I totally agree with Dan Foy, what is it advertising Nikon? Not for a moment make no mistake man, I'm a Fan of Nikon and all my gear is Nikon except from a couple of Sigma lenses but it is called a review not bullshitting people how good it is and its blood line, breed and shit.
    This camera is the unfortunate and new policy of Nikon corp. to capture the sport/beginner photographers market, by offering a New light weight pretty basic level camera for duschs or tourists that wanna have a D-SLRs but too lazy to learn a bit more about it or too lazy too carry a bit stuff with it.
    I choose not to comment on the part article that says about close ups and macros, I just had a good laugh to it, Just in case you guys wanna know, Who the heck would be a beginner and wants have a macro photo?without a proper lens? I mean the lens that comes in the basic kit, is just a point shoot/ one have kinda lens, what is this Close up story then??
    Not a bad camera though but if you wanna start to get serious and be an amateur why you wanna buy something that you have to change the body after a few years? I'd still go for a D80 or D40x which is a bit heavier and bulkier but will take care of all your businesses in photography for a long while!

  • Daniel

    February 23, 2010 01:47 pm

    Tengo una D3000 desde hace 6 meses. Es muy buena camara, muy buena calidad de construcción (tipica de Nikon). La falta de botones dedicados es una condición de su bajo precio. La calidad de imagen es excelente en relación a lo pagado. No Live view, no video, ok, para ello compraría una videocámara, con mayor autonomía, mayor resolución y mayor tiempo de grabación. Esto es una cámara fotográfica, reflex, y económica. No se puede pedir algo que no se ofrece. Mucho recibido por el dinero pagado (u$s 600,00 el kit 18/55 VR + 55/200 VR). Saludos

  • dan foy

    February 22, 2010 04:13 am

    This reads like advertising copy, and I hope anyone reading the above article that was intending to use this article as an overview for the camera is smart enough to realise this. Parts of the review are inaccurate, such as the price point (as pointed out above), Smith's apparent misunderstanding of what a macro is and how to take one, and stating that the kit lens is a f3.5/18-55mm, amongst other things (the lens actually closes down to ƒ/5.6 at the 55mm lens, as is clearly visible in the photo, rather than being ƒ/3.5 constant aperture).

    From the first and second paragraphs it is clear that the author is significantly biased towards Nikon as a brand, and this cheapens the article and puts into question the accuracy and reliability of the rest of the points made. Zealous fervor should be left to manufacturers and retailers, and left out of reviews.

    I would advise anyone looking to buy an SLR to look to a less obvious biased source, such as DPReview or The Digital Picture.

  • David G

    February 22, 2010 01:19 am

    "Price: At Amazon the Nikon D3000 is $448.93 with 18-55mm lens or $369.95 Body Only.

    Body only: $799. With Nikkor f3.5/18-55mm VR lens: $949."

    Very different prices!

  • Debbie L

    February 22, 2010 12:52 am

    What a great camera for people stepping up to a DSLR. I teach a beginner class for senior citizens and this is a very popular camera for them. The ease of use, the lack of excess button are all features many beginners love. About 25% go on to buy a better camera.

    Anything that draws more people to the passion of photography is a good thing.

  • Mikel Daniel

    February 21, 2010 08:41 pm

    Some time ago I stopped trying to keep up with all the new camera bodies Nikon was literally throwing at consumers (D40, D40x, D60, D90, D300, D300s, D700, D3000, D5000) and I'm glad I did. I understand there is an intended market for this and all, but this one underwhelms in so many different ways. The images being showcased are really unimpressive, and could easily be mistaken for a regular point 'n shoot (though admittedly, the quality of such has really improved as of late).

  • Dragos

    February 21, 2010 06:08 pm

    Hi!

    Some of the stuff that entry-level nikons miss amaze me: no bracketing, very few button (which results to menu digging instead of some dedicated buttons). The sensor cleaning systems, except the one from olympus, are useless (so say all the reviews). Let's get serious: which dsrl user cares abut in-camera editing?

    I don't deny this is a beginner camera with good image results, but please show the cons as well, not only the pros. I've seen this in all your reviews.

    I recommend to everybody reading (a lot) more before buying a camera. Don't rely only on DPS reviews!

  • Tylerb

    February 21, 2010 08:37 am

    You might want to check the prices at the bottom, I easily found the body from 450-500$ and 500-550$ with 18-55VR and around 600$ for the 18-55VR and 55-200 lens bundle. Other than that great review!

  • koen kallenberg

    February 21, 2010 08:29 am

    i'm not shure about that macro mode, being able to shoot things ultra close. yes the 18-55 is a close focussing lens. but a macro mode on camera doesn't ensure that a lens (which is were it is all about how close you can focus) can focus much closer than on a body which doesn't have this manual mode.

    but of course, such a mode can be nice when you have a macro lens.
    (just to make clear there's no critique in this comment, but i would like make this clear to people who might think that a camera has influence about how close a lens can focus)

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Sign up to the free DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER

DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed