Fujifilm Finepix S2000HD Review - Digital Photography School

Fujifilm Finepix S2000HD Review

The Fujifilm Finepix S2000HD one is a big surprise, with many attractive features — not least being the reasonable asking price of $399.

Basically, it’s a mini DSLR look-alike, nearly pocketable, with a 15x zoom lens, imaging to a CCD capable of acquiring 10.0 million pixels. In stills shooting, the camera uses an optical stabiliser; when shooting movies, a less desirable digital stabiliser is used.

Fujifilm S2000HD.jpg

Fujifilm Finepix S2000HD Features

Ten megapixels gives you access to a maximum image size of 3648×2736 pixels as well as 1920×1080 pixels for an HD ratio image; print sizes at these resolutions are, respectively, 41×31 cm and 22×12 cm at 225 dpi.

Then it gets really interesting, because this is the first Fujifilm camera with 16:9 HD video capability. Note: the video image is 1280×720 pixels at 30 fps, so it’s not Full High Def, but it’s still pretty impressive all the same to shoot big stills and HD video with the same stills camera. The only flaw in the picture is that the camera’s HD terminal is a proprietary one, so you have to buy an optional camera to component video cable to connect the TV set’s input.

The S2000HD has a continuous speed of up to 13.3 fps for a maximum run of 33 shots but only at the 2048×1536 pixel size; if you want 3648×2736 pictures, the burst rate falls to 1.1 fps for three images.

Like every camera on the market, or so it seems, the FinePix has a face detection mode which can detect up to 10 faces in the frame, adjusting focus and exposure, regardless of the background. The automatic red-eye removal feature then checks each detected face for red-eye and routinely corrects it.

There’s a new mode called zoom framing that should make the framing of a shot less of a nerve-racked challenge for the digital newbies. Tap the four way rocker and you’re presented with a series of cropping shapes; choose one and, when you fire the shot, the zoom automatically frames tighter. Just great!

Then there’s zoom bracketing: each time you hit the shutter the camera fires three shots at three differing image sizes. Should save you some image editing later.

And then the FinePix goes even further: it shoots two images in rapid succession — one with flash and one without — then saves both.

Surprisingly for such a camera in this price range, it shoots auto, Program AE, shutter priority as well as manual. There are also 13 scene modes, ranging from sport to fireworks to snow/beach.

Startup Time

In four seconds after power-up I was shooting my first shot, then follow-up shots were taken at about a second apart.

Distortion

There was noticeable barrel distortion at the wide end of the zoom but minimal pincushion distortion at the tele end. An excellent performance for a camera at this price level.

Comment

The camera takes SD or SDHC cards … is Fujifilm’s support for the xD-Picture card faltering?

Quality: I felt the camera recorded colours quite naturally and with an appreciable lack of noise.

In so many respects this is a phenomenal camera — image size, lens power and HD video capability.

Order the Fujifilm Finepix S2000HD at Amazon.

FUJIFILM FINEPIX S2000HD Specifications

  • Type: Fully automatic, fixed lens digital compact camera.
  • Lens: Fujinon f/3.5-5.4/5-75 mm (28-414 mm as 35 mm equivalent). 5.7x/3.0x digital zoom (stills/movies). (* 5-15 mm becomes 5-75 mm.*)
  • Focusing Range: W/T 70/250 cm to infinity; macro 10 cm to 100 cm; super macro 1 cm to 30 cm.
  • Shutter Speeds: 4-1/1000 second.
  • Metering: Multi zone (256 segments), averaging, spot.
  • Exposure Control: Auto, Program AE, shutter priority, manual.
  • Sensitivity: ISO 100/200/400/800/1600/3200.
  • Sensor: 11 mm CCD, 10.0 million pixels.
  • Image Size: 3648×2736, 3648×2432, 3648×2056, 2592×1944, 2048×1536, 1920×1080, 1600×1200, 640×480.
  • Continuous mode: 3 shots at 1.1 fps; other rates at smaller image sizes. Movies: 1280×720, 640×480, 320×240 at 30 fps.
  • Formats: JPEG, WAV, MPEG4. PictBridge and DPOF compatible.
  • Flash: Auto, red-eye reduction, forced off and on, slow synchronisation. Flash range (ISO Auto): W/T 50/ cm to 6.4/4.1 m, macro 70 cm to 3.0 m.
  • Viewfinders: EVF (200,000 pixels) plus 6.9 cm colour LCD (230,000 pixels).
  • Storage: Removable SD/SDHC memory card (none supplied), 55 MB internal memory.
  • Interface: USB 2.0, PAL/NTSC AV, HD output, DC input.
  • Power: 4 AA alkaline, lithium or NiMH batteries, optional AC adapter.
  • Dimensions (WHD): 111×78.9×75.7 mm.
  • Weight: 390 grams (without card, batteries).
  • Price: $279.95 at Amazon.

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category.

Barrie Smith is an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas.

  • Odyn

    Lens: Fujinon f/3.5-5.4/5-15 mm (28-414 mm as 35 mm equivalent)
    That would be 5-75 mm 5-15. would make it 3x zoom ;)

    Interesting little camera though.

  • http://www.meltedrubber.com The_Stig

    I just inherited a Fuji S9100. This is the first time I’ve used a Fuji camera and I have to say I’m pretty impressed. This one sounds like it would be a good p&s. Nice to see that they’ve moved to SD cards instead of XD. That should allow for more (and sometimes cheaper!) memory options.

  • stephen

    A noticeable improvement over other camera reviews due to an actual opinion. The more the merrier!

  • http://www.aperturedaily.com Diyan Yap

    First what i love with Fujifilm Finepix S2000 is the price , reasonable price.

  • Judy St. John

    I bought this camera just after Thanksgiving last year as my next step up from my Canon A530 and I couldn’t agree more with your assessment. I love this camera and am really having a great time learning to use it.

    I’m so glad I bought it and after reading your review, I am really excited to have made the choice I did!

  • Roger

    Have owned one since Christmas , I was skeptical at first as I read all the reviews too! Yes… is is not a DSLR and it is not priced as such, but for a Crossover it packs a serious set of features that would typically put it in a much higher price point. I paid $200 online so it is possible to get it less than mfg sug. Shutter lag is a little slow but I can live with it. Highlights are overblown frequently, but have no problem adjusting with some decent post edit software. Overall loving this camera more and more.

    Cons , Limited capabilities in Manual mode. No aperture priority, Propriatary cable, Only 4 sec Max exposure.

  • Terry

    Sounds like a great camera. I’m sold on FUJI. Have been since I used their VIVItar film. Presently own a S5200 and Im not about to trade it in just yet.

    Keep the reviews for FUJI products coming. Tired of Canon, etc.

  • Carlos

    Hi…

    I’m thinking buy this camera, but so you know if the flash rise (opens) automatically when is needed or must be “opened” manually pressing the pop-up flash button?

  • Ivars

    Flash must be opened maually..! ;)

  • charlie

    im an amateur to the camera world and was wondering if the pictures are HD aswell. if you can answer me i would be very grateful

  • http://n/a warren

    hi there!

    i was wondering if anyone could please tell me how to use panoramic shots on this camera? i could not find any settings on the camera for it. this is my first camera of this type so any help would really be appreciated.

    thanks
    Warren

  • http://n/a warren

    im an amateur to the camera world and was wondering if the pictures are HD aswell. if you can answer me i would be very grateful

    yes they pictures are also.

  • Brian

    Hey Warren
    I have had this camera since last Christmas. To get panoramic the setting is in the “fuji” menu.
    press the ‘F’ button the select quality…the select 16:9 quality voila panoramic..
    Hope that helps.

  • ian

    recently bought the S2000HD…..have to say, after reading reviews i was almost put off them but having had Fuji’s in the past with excellent results i decided to go ahead, pleased i did.
    it will never replace a true pro DLSR or even (dare i say) an SLR film camera but that was not why it was designed, it was designed to ‘fill the gap’ between decent compacts and DSLR…..and i feel it does a perfect job in this respect.
    straight forward for the learner with (i think) enough to keep the more experienced/pro happy for basic shots while out and about.
    some say they are slow but you can set the time a shot is displayed which speeds it up a bit but it is faster than any other i have owned….think i have to say the major ‘downside’ is most likely the size as it wont fit most standard pocket sizes, but then, where there is so much good, there has to be at least a little bad.

  • Mwabi

    I am very interested in photography and I bought this Finepix camera earlier this year. I found your site today. I am really interested in pictures with the subject in focus and the blurry background. It seems my camera starts at f3.5, do I need a f2.5 to get that effect? Also it would be cool if users of this camera could give specific shooting tips and pictures for us beginners. Thanks.

  • Judy St John

    Mwabi, I took this camera to Alaska with me on a cruise in September and got exactly the shot you are talking about. Use the portrait setting on the programmable settings and you’ll get it.

    Good luck!

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/neurebec/ rebec245

    I suggest the older fujifilm finepix s1000fd, which you can still find new on amazon. It’s a great bridge camera, with excellent image quality and control. The camera has a shutter priority, manual, aperture priority, auto, and specific scene modes, which are very useful. It also has macro and super-macro modes, which are very fun, as well as a panorama helper mode.The aperture goes from f/2.8 to f/5.0, and this gives you great control over your depth of field. It is also durable; mine has survived many bumps, drops, and a dunking in snow. It is a little smaller than the s200hd, meaning it is easy to just throw it in a bag and go. I don’t know much about the s2000hd, but fuji is a great brand, and they hit a grand slam with the s1000fd!

  • Hamitoc

    I bought this camera about 6 months agol, but still cannot find how to use the ‘wide angle lens’ reportedly part of the spec on the manual….any help would be very much appreciated! I am very new to this! Thank you

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/neurebec/ rebec245

    hamitoc,
    i believe that the lens itself is by definition a wide angle lens. when you zoom out with the s2000hd, the lens acts as a wide angle lens, which means that it takes in a larger field of view when you take a picture (it goes farther out to the sides). this can produce some barrel distortion (like a more minor effect than a fisheye lens), but the s2000hd probably has software to correct this distortion automatically.

    here’s the wikipedia article about wide-angle lenses, it should explain things a little better!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wide_angle_lens

    i hope that helps!

  • RowdyBlue

    I have owned the S2000HD for a year and 5 months. I love it except the image quality is not as good as I would like. You have to really hold the camera steady or use a tripod or else you will experience blurry pictures. It is very sensitive to any movement, even with stablizer. I have enjoyed learning with it. (It is my first and only digital camera.) I am wanting to upgrade to a DSLR. I also agree with Roger about the cons. Aperture priority will not lock when in manual mode. No Ap. priority.

  • Brittany Smith

    I bought a Fujifilm Finepix 1800 and i LOVE IT! The pictures come out just beautifully! It took me awhile to get use to different settings and see which ones i like the most. Im still learning. I just wished it came with a manual or something, but i like to learn on my own. I’ve done a lot of portraits and all of my clients love them!! YEAY! I really want a Nikon one day…when i start making some more money lol. but i love this camera!!!!!!

  • http://www.mikecoopermusic.com Mike

    Hello!

    I have just bought the s2000HD from Fujifilm…It’s an amazing camera.

    I have read the manual and can’t find the solution to this issue anywhere:

    When recording movies, the camera adjusts the light balance automatically.

    I am recording myself playing guitar and when I do, I move. If I move around, the camera seems to adjusts the balance extremely. It gives the movie a “LIGHT, DARK, LIGHT, DARK” feel that’s quite annoying.

    Does anyone know how to STOP this from happening?!

    Please email me if you know!

  • Travenus

    I received a Fujifilm s200 EXR for xmas last year. Does anyone have a review for this yet? and wondrering why when i’m using the mf mode can i not get a clear image? Help!

  • Djhon

    I have a few Fuji cameras

    The S2000HD is awesome

    Amazing video quality for the price

    panoramic. settings still not sorted this out

    Press F ( f ) and do not see the panoramic. option on quality mentioned on a previous post

    Hey Warren
    I have had this camera since last Christmas. To get panoramic the setting is in the “fuji” menu.
    press the ‘F’ button the select quality…the select 16:9 quality voila panoramic..
    Hope that helps.

    HELP on that please

    HELP

  • Shoaib

    Hi All
    I’ve had an S2000HD for about a year – overall quite happy with it but the lack of aperture priority is really annoying and I can’t find an answer in the manual to my question which is: How the heck do you take a picture where you want to focus in on one object or person and leave the rest out of focus (shallow DoF) ?

    Thanks for any help or advice – and can anyone figure out why Fuji decided to omit AP function ?

  • http://www.sohbet-odasi.net Sohbet

    I’m planning on going back to give it another try—I figure there must be a reason people line up out the door and down the block on weeke ds waiting for a table for brunch. But whatever the reason, it apparently has little to do with a seasonal menu.

Some older comments

  • Sohbet

    July 31, 2012 02:43 pm

    I’m planning on going back to give it another try—I figure there must be a reason people line up out the door and down the block on weeke ds waiting for a table for brunch. But whatever the reason, it apparently has little to do with a seasonal menu.

  • Shoaib

    January 27, 2012 04:21 am

    Hi All
    I've had an S2000HD for about a year - overall quite happy with it but the lack of aperture priority is really annoying and I can't find an answer in the manual to my question which is: How the heck do you take a picture where you want to focus in on one object or person and leave the rest out of focus (shallow DoF) ?

    Thanks for any help or advice - and can anyone figure out why Fuji decided to omit AP function ?

  • Djhon

    October 3, 2011 03:02 am

    I have a few Fuji cameras

    The S2000HD is awesome

    Amazing video quality for the price

    panoramic. settings still not sorted this out

    Press F ( f ) and do not see the panoramic. option on quality mentioned on a previous post

    Hey Warren
    I have had this camera since last Christmas. To get panoramic the setting is in the “fuji” menu.
    press the ‘F’ button the select quality…the select 16:9 quality voila panoramic..
    Hope that helps.

    HELP on that please

    HELP

  • Travenus

    October 24, 2010 11:10 pm

    I received a Fujifilm s200 EXR for xmas last year. Does anyone have a review for this yet? and wondrering why when i'm using the mf mode can i not get a clear image? Help!

  • Mike

    August 30, 2010 03:28 am

    Hello!

    I have just bought the s2000HD from Fujifilm...It's an amazing camera.

    I have read the manual and can't find the solution to this issue anywhere:

    When recording movies, the camera adjusts the light balance automatically.

    I am recording myself playing guitar and when I do, I move. If I move around, the camera seems to adjusts the balance extremely. It gives the movie a "LIGHT, DARK, LIGHT, DARK" feel that's quite annoying.

    Does anyone know how to STOP this from happening?!

    Please email me if you know!

  • Brittany Smith

    July 12, 2010 11:18 am

    I bought a Fujifilm Finepix 1800 and i LOVE IT! The pictures come out just beautifully! It took me awhile to get use to different settings and see which ones i like the most. Im still learning. I just wished it came with a manual or something, but i like to learn on my own. I've done a lot of portraits and all of my clients love them!! YEAY! I really want a Nikon one day...when i start making some more money lol. but i love this camera!!!!!!

  • RowdyBlue

    May 14, 2010 04:19 am

    I have owned the S2000HD for a year and 5 months. I love it except the image quality is not as good as I would like. You have to really hold the camera steady or use a tripod or else you will experience blurry pictures. It is very sensitive to any movement, even with stablizer. I have enjoyed learning with it. (It is my first and only digital camera.) I am wanting to upgrade to a DSLR. I also agree with Roger about the cons. Aperture priority will not lock when in manual mode. No Ap. priority.

  • rebec245

    May 11, 2010 08:30 am

    hamitoc,
    i believe that the lens itself is by definition a wide angle lens. when you zoom out with the s2000hd, the lens acts as a wide angle lens, which means that it takes in a larger field of view when you take a picture (it goes farther out to the sides). this can produce some barrel distortion (like a more minor effect than a fisheye lens), but the s2000hd probably has software to correct this distortion automatically.

    here's the wikipedia article about wide-angle lenses, it should explain things a little better!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wide_angle_lens

    i hope that helps!

  • Hamitoc

    May 11, 2010 06:14 am

    I bought this camera about 6 months agol, but still cannot find how to use the 'wide angle lens' reportedly part of the spec on the manual....any help would be very much appreciated! I am very new to this! Thank you

  • rebec245

    January 18, 2010 04:54 am

    I suggest the older fujifilm finepix s1000fd, which you can still find new on amazon. It's a great bridge camera, with excellent image quality and control. The camera has a shutter priority, manual, aperture priority, auto, and specific scene modes, which are very useful. It also has macro and super-macro modes, which are very fun, as well as a panorama helper mode.The aperture goes from f/2.8 to f/5.0, and this gives you great control over your depth of field. It is also durable; mine has survived many bumps, drops, and a dunking in snow. It is a little smaller than the s200hd, meaning it is easy to just throw it in a bag and go. I don't know much about the s2000hd, but fuji is a great brand, and they hit a grand slam with the s1000fd!

  • Judy St John

    December 27, 2009 04:16 pm

    Mwabi, I took this camera to Alaska with me on a cruise in September and got exactly the shot you are talking about. Use the portrait setting on the programmable settings and you'll get it.

    Good luck!

  • Mwabi

    December 27, 2009 03:51 am

    I am very interested in photography and I bought this Finepix camera earlier this year. I found your site today. I am really interested in pictures with the subject in focus and the blurry background. It seems my camera starts at f3.5, do I need a f2.5 to get that effect? Also it would be cool if users of this camera could give specific shooting tips and pictures for us beginners. Thanks.

  • ian

    November 8, 2009 04:43 am

    recently bought the S2000HD.....have to say, after reading reviews i was almost put off them but having had Fuji's in the past with excellent results i decided to go ahead, pleased i did.
    it will never replace a true pro DLSR or even (dare i say) an SLR film camera but that was not why it was designed, it was designed to 'fill the gap' between decent compacts and DSLR.....and i feel it does a perfect job in this respect.
    straight forward for the learner with (i think) enough to keep the more experienced/pro happy for basic shots while out and about.
    some say they are slow but you can set the time a shot is displayed which speeds it up a bit but it is faster than any other i have owned....think i have to say the major 'downside' is most likely the size as it wont fit most standard pocket sizes, but then, where there is so much good, there has to be at least a little bad.

  • Brian

    November 4, 2009 12:55 am

    Hey Warren
    I have had this camera since last Christmas. To get panoramic the setting is in the "fuji" menu.
    press the 'F' button the select quality...the select 16:9 quality voila panoramic..
    Hope that helps.

  • warren

    October 22, 2009 10:54 am

    im an amateur to the camera world and was wondering if the pictures are HD aswell. if you can answer me i would be very grateful

    yes they pictures are also.

  • warren

    October 22, 2009 10:53 am

    hi there!

    i was wondering if anyone could please tell me how to use panoramic shots on this camera? i could not find any settings on the camera for it. this is my first camera of this type so any help would really be appreciated.

    thanks
    Warren

  • charlie

    August 7, 2009 05:34 am

    im an amateur to the camera world and was wondering if the pictures are HD aswell. if you can answer me i would be very grateful

  • Ivars

    March 16, 2009 02:45 am

    Flash must be opened maually..! ;)

  • Carlos

    March 14, 2009 08:47 am

    Hi...

    I'm thinking buy this camera, but so you know if the flash rise (opens) automatically when is needed or must be "opened" manually pressing the pop-up flash button?

  • Terry

    March 7, 2009 04:25 am

    Sounds like a great camera. I'm sold on FUJI. Have been since I used their VIVItar film. Presently own a S5200 and Im not about to trade it in just yet.

    Keep the reviews for FUJI products coming. Tired of Canon, etc.

  • Roger

    March 6, 2009 02:18 pm

    Have owned one since Christmas , I was skeptical at first as I read all the reviews too! Yes... is is not a DSLR and it is not priced as such, but for a Crossover it packs a serious set of features that would typically put it in a much higher price point. I paid $200 online so it is possible to get it less than mfg sug. Shutter lag is a little slow but I can live with it. Highlights are overblown frequently, but have no problem adjusting with some decent post edit software. Overall loving this camera more and more.

    Cons , Limited capabilities in Manual mode. No aperture priority, Propriatary cable, Only 4 sec Max exposure.

  • Judy St. John

    March 6, 2009 02:16 pm

    I bought this camera just after Thanksgiving last year as my next step up from my Canon A530 and I couldn't agree more with your assessment. I love this camera and am really having a great time learning to use it.

    I'm so glad I bought it and after reading your review, I am really excited to have made the choice I did!

  • Diyan Yap

    February 27, 2009 02:42 pm

    First what i love with Fujifilm Finepix S2000 is the price , reasonable price.

  • stephen

    February 27, 2009 10:00 am

    A noticeable improvement over other camera reviews due to an actual opinion. The more the merrier!

  • The_Stig

    February 27, 2009 12:43 am

    I just inherited a Fuji S9100. This is the first time I've used a Fuji camera and I have to say I'm pretty impressed. This one sounds like it would be a good p&s. Nice to see that they've moved to SD cards instead of XD. That should allow for more (and sometimes cheaper!) memory options.

  • Odyn

    February 26, 2009 11:14 am

    Lens: Fujinon f/3.5-5.4/5-15 mm (28-414 mm as 35 mm equivalent)
    That would be 5-75 mm 5-15. would make it 3x zoom ;)

    Interesting little camera though.

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Sign up to the free DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER

DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed