Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    imgr8stmom is offline I'm new here!

Default Is my Nikon equipment good enough?

I'm beginning to get really serious about photography, and honestly spend A LOT of time on this site reading all the forums, studying & trying to learn all I can. Although I think I'm a pretty good photographer, I know I still have a long way to go, and need a ton more experience before I start charging for any services.

In the mean time, I take a lot of candid pictures of my friends & family, and want to start venturing in photo session, such as Family group photo's, special events, like Bday party's, bridal showers, maybe a 2nd photographer at wedding, until such time I gain the experience & confidence I need to really consider myself "pro"

Below is the break down of equipment I currently have. I'd like to know what you think I might need as I go forward. Obviously I don't have major bucks to run out & get what I need all at once, so I plan to buy pieces a little at a time. With that said, I would like to know in order of necessity if possible.

Nikon d60- will be upgrading soon to D90
    Nikkor 18-55 mm AF
    Nikkor 55-200 mm AF
    Nikkor 70-300 mm AF
    Nikkor 50 mm 1.8 prime
    SB-600
    flash difuser
    Monopod
    Tripod
    Trigger release

Thanks for your help!!!
    Wendy
    Nikon D90, Tameron 17-55mm f/2.8, Nikkor 55-200mm, Nikkor 70-300 mm vr, Nikkor 50mm 1.8, SB-600

sk66 is online now Lovable Contrarian

It s perfectly adequate to learn with...as you advance you will find areas that are lacking, and THAT is where you spend your money.

IF you are seriously considering trying to "go pro" someday I would recommend new purchases allow for future pro upgrade compatibility. (i.e. FX lenses)

Elmo is offline Almost as Old as Dirt