Close
Close
    Shaun_H is offline I'm new here!

Default Christmas Card Photo

Hi all,
    I'm relatively new to digital photography (this is my first post here). Thought I'd share how I captured our Christmas card photo this year, since it was entirely new to me as well.

What I was looking to capture was my son + my Saint Bernard + a Christmas tree in a single shot. How could you go wrong with a shot like that? It sounded like a grand slam to me.

The only thing missing was a backdrop. I decided to try my hand at a DIY white backdrop. I obtained the following materials from my local Home Depot and a Michael's craft store:

• Bayco 75-Watt Incandescent Clamp Light (x3)
    • EcoSmart 19-Watt (75W) Daylight Household CFL Light Bulbs
    • Thrifty White 32 sq. ft. Hardboard Panel Board (x3)
    • White Plastic Table Cover Roll 100ft

I setup this makeshift backdrop in my 2-car garage. I hung several layers of the white plastic table cover on the backside of my garage door. I then laid out the 3 panel boards (which is like whiteboard material, so it's somewhat reflective) so that it made a 8'x12' area on the floor and pressed it up against the hanging table covers. I setup the 3 clamp lights on either side of this "stage" about 2 feet or so from the backdrop and shined the lights directly and evenly across the plastic backdrop (I clamped them to ladders I had positioned). The light bulbs were "Daylight" type (5000K). I positioned my subjects about 8 feet away from the plastic backdrop to help keep any "blemishes" becoming in focus. All other artificial lighting in the garage was turned off.