Close
Close
    LionKing18 is offline I'm new here!

Default Need advice on equipment

I am wanting to purchase a good digital camera to shoot High School sports (i.e.) Football, Basketball, Baseball, etc. I was thinking of purchasing a Nikon D3200. I understand that I am a beginner, but I intend to learn how to get the best out of the equipment that I buy. What I am wanting to know is what would be a good camera to get without being "too simple" but not "too compicated". I hope that makes sense. I would also like your advice on what lenses would be good also. Thank you!!

Tzetsin is offline dPS +1000 Club

Quote Originally Posted by LionKing18 View Post
    I am wanting to purchase a good digital camera to shoot High School sports (i.e.) Football, Basketball, Baseball, etc. I was thinking of purchasing a Nikon D3200. I understand that I am a beginner, but I intend to learn how to get the best out of the equipment that I buy. What I am wanting to know is what would be a good camera to get without being "too simple" but not "too compicated". I hope that makes sense. I would also like your advice on what lenses would be good also. Thank you!!
    What you want to do requires the best performing equipment. You will not get it cheap no matter how badly you want it. What you want to do is on one end of the scale, and what you want to buy is on the exact opposite side of the scale.

I'm not going to say that you "can't" shoot sports with a 3200, but you will be extremely limited.

Sports photography combines all the things a camera does badly. Very fast action in low light, from far away. You'll need a long, fast, sharp lens, on a body that can take high quality images at a very high ISO, at a fast frame rate, with a very accurate autofocus system. These are the challenges of the sports shooter, and only the very best equipment will allow you to get professional looking shots.