#1 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 12:19 AM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philly
Posts: 29
Default Is this for real?

I found a website, Whirl Wind Software (softwarediscountsale.com). Downloadable Outlet Center. :: Home, and it has amazing deals on all types of software, including adobe products, it can't be real.. Photoshop CS5 for $99, Lightroom 3 for $40. Does anyone know what the deal is with this website? Is it a scam? I realize it is OEM, but what does that really mean for me?

Last edited by Zdaman; 12-09-2011 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 12:28 AM
brianxlt's Avatar
Shoots from the hip.
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Surprise, Az
Posts: 258
Default

If its to good to be true - it's a scam. I wouldn't buy anything from them.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 01:06 AM
maxharvard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nice try at spam Jackass
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 08:48 AM
BigFuzzy's Avatar
Mini-Mod
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Under a bridge, somewhere in northern Europe.
Posts: 2,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxharvard View Post
Nice try at spam Jackass
Looking at his post history, I'd not be so quick to jump the gun pal.
Right Z? Right?
__________________
Al Borrelli Photography (being re-awesomefied.. pls be patient!)
I'll make you look good

Flickr | Twitter | Tumblr | about.me | Vimeo | 500Px
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 10:21 AM
Bruce A's Avatar
Nah, just kidding!
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast Qld Australia
Posts: 3,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zdaman View Post
I found a website, Whirl Wind Software (softwarediscountsale.com). Downloadable Outlet Center. :: Home, and it has amazing deals on all types of software, including adobe products, it can't be real.. Photoshop CS5 for $99, Lightroom 3 for $40. Does anyone know what the deal is with this website? Is it a scam? I realize it is OEM, but what does that really mean for me?
I once downloaded CS5 from a similar site and it wouldn't register. They sent me all these work arounds which didn't work and I told them them to stuff it and got my money back.

Lesson learnt!
__________________
Nikon D700, MB-D10 grip, Nikon AF-s 16-35 f/4 VRll, Nikon AF-s 28-70mm f/2.8D ED, Nikon AF 80-200 f/2.8D ED, Nikon AF-s Micro 105 f/2.8 G ED VR.
My flickr
My500px
banphotography.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 12:30 PM
maxharvard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFuzzy View Post
Looking at his post history, I'd not be so quick to jump the gun pal.
Right Z? Right?
Just like that Xposurepro guy? Right? RIGHT?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 01:03 PM
BigFuzzy's Avatar
Mini-Mod
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Under a bridge, somewhere in northern Europe.
Posts: 2,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxharvard View Post
Just like that Xposurepro guy? Right? RIGHT?
hehe... yeah man.. get off my back.
__________________
Al Borrelli Photography (being re-awesomefied.. pls be patient!)
I'll make you look good

Flickr | Twitter | Tumblr | about.me | Vimeo | 500Px
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 01:39 PM
maxharvard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFuzzy View Post
hehe... yeah man.. get off my back.
Your mouth says 'no', but your back says, 'yes'.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 01:48 PM
Photoboothguy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've seen these sites before. It's pirated software.

If you going to pirate software, don't pay for it.

And don't pirate software...pretend to be a student like the rest of us.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2011, 09:22 PM
Peach's Avatar
Ninja Zombie Assassin
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxharvard View Post
Your mouth says 'no', but your back says, 'yes'.

Kinky......
__________________
Nikon D40x | Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 | Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G | Nikon 50mm f/1.8D | Adobe Photoshop CS3 | Adobe Photoshop CS5
--Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0