Tips wanted - Handling photos already on HD when installing Lightroom

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips wanted - Handling photos already on HD when installing Lightroom

I'm a newbie, about ready to install Lightroom for the first time. Like most people I've already got tons of photos on my harddrive. I know that Lightroom will catalog these for me. I understand how I want to handle things going forward. my basic workflow ideas, but I wonder if anyone has any tips for me on how to handle the import/cataloging of the existing files? Most of them, maybe 80%, currently reside in two main folders with lots of sub-folders. Since we're talking thousands of photos coming into Lightroom at once, I won't be able to apply keywords to each photo at this time. So I am hoping I can do a batch option to allow me to give everything in those folders an oddball tag so I know I can go back and add all the appropriate keywords over time.

I was going to just point to those two folders and ignore everything else but now I'm wondering about that other 20%. If I let Lightroom catalog everything on my computer I'll get every graphic, not just the photos I've taken. Is that what most people do? Do you then just ignore things like graphics that go with webpages you've saved, or things like that?

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm just trying to wrap my brain around the best way to handle this before I start the massive install/import.

I'll be installing Lightroom 3, if that matters, with no intention to upgrade to the Lightroom 4 since I'm still running XP.

And if you have any other tips for a new install, I'd love to hear them, especially if they fall in the category of things you wish you had done differently.

Thanks!
    Susan Taylor Brown, learning, always learning
    Nikon D7000, 18-105mm, 70-300mm, 35mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8, 105mm Macro f/2.8
    Flickr | Facebook | Tumblr
    Website where all my creative lives converge