Nikon D90 vs D5100

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nikon D90 vs D5100

I had been planning on buying the D90 body as an upgrade from the D60 I currently have. Now that the D5100 has been announced I'm not sure hwich way to go. What do you think? I'm not a beginner, but not a pro either, sort of in the middle.
    Ed Bickford

Flickr

The D5100 is going to be more of a sideways step from your D60- new imaging sensor and processor and all, but the same ergonomics. No built-in screw motor, top LCD, etc. If those things didn't bother you with the D60 and you really want the swivel screen then the D5100 is the way to go. (It also has a newer sensor/processor than the D90 which had the same internals as the D5000).
    Almond Butterscotch
    The Almond Tree
    Facebook Page
    My Equipment

Comment

Agreed. The "upgrade" would actually be the D7000
      I am responsible for what I say; not what you understand.
      adammontpetit.com
      Gear List
      500PX | Graphic Design

Comment

I agree with the others. Go for the D90 or if your budget will stretch that far the D7000
        Nikon D7000 with 50mm f1.8 prime and 18-1055mm VR with 55-200 mm Nikkor Zoom len's

Comment

I'm agree with you too!. This cam have good quality have a menu with a good number of options but keeping the simplicity and also have good lens.

At least that is the opinions of some friends of mine, you could read it with more details here.

Comment

a D90 is CERTAINLY an upgrade to a little old D60
            you should get a D90 pretty cheap now that the D7000 is around.

I would NOT consider a D5100
            it doesn't have built in CLS,
            lacks the dual control dials,
            does not support HighSpeedSync, (so you're limited to 1/200th with flash photography)
            does not have a built in focus motor like the D90 does., the menu based system of changing settings is painfully slow.