No announcement yet.

Canon Speedlites over 3rd Party Flash ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Canon Speedlites over 3rd Party Flash ?

Hi I am new to flash photography and is thinking of getting a 580ex ii for my 600d to venture into flash photography. I have also seen many 3rd party alternatives such as Nissin / Metz that can produce the same guide numbers at much lower prices.

Before actually buying, I would like to understand what are the advantages of getting a canon speedlite compared to getting a cheaper 3rd party flash ?

Is it also possible to use a Canon master to activate 3rd Party slave flashes ?

Thanks

I don't know much about Nissin or Metz products, but I do know that if you use canon gear you will not void your warranty if something goes wrong.

be careful with aftermarket stuff, including lenses, if they bugger up your camera, then you're on your own. The resale value is also important. Buy cheap, sell cheap. You can buy a Daewoo for under $20,000 new, but sell it second hand and you'll be lucky to get $6,000 just 12 months later.

Cheers,

John W

Canon 7D, Canon EOS 450D, Canon EF 100-300 f5.6, Canon EF 50 f1.4; Canon Speedlite 430 EX11, Fuji FinePix F40 Sigma 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 DC and Mamiya ZE-2 35-70mm F3.5-4.5 Macro and a brand new Canon EFS 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM; EF 70-200 f2.8L USM; Canon EF 24-70 2.8L.

Comment

Canon Speedlite 430EXII

Where can I learn about using my Speedlite? At the moment I am turning it on and letting luck prevail. Luck is doing Ok but there must be more to it.

Comment

I'm in the market for a 580ex II. I found a couple of good resources for learning how to use them:

Canon DLC: Article: Speedlite Tip Series, Part 2: Beyond the Instruction Manual

I like Joel Grimes tutorial videos too. Just YouTube him or YouTube search for "Speedlite tutorial"