Shot in the Dark with a Fire Fighter

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shot in the Dark with a Fire Fighter

Wanting to take Portraits of our members in our Volunteer Fire Department I gave it a try. I am new to this so I wasn't to sure how to go about it so I thought I should think about what we wanted first. We as most Fire Departments do have the same old boring pictures of our members hanging on the wall. The same as always, sit there with your uniform on look at the camera and say cheese or in our case Fire...lol

What I had to work with is my D5000 and 3 lenses which are 50mm 1.8g , 18-55mm . 55-200mm which are two kit lenses. I have no flash or studio lights so how can I get a shot that we would like. Well I decided to set the camera into the scary manual setting and use a flash light. I tried it the first time and the light was just to bright. We look at each other and he said how can you dim a flash light. I looked around and there was a very cheap diffuser in a garbage can, it was a plastic whit grocery bag. I put the flash light in the bag and away we went for the second try at it.

This picture is the second one I took and I don't know if it is the best it can be but the Fire Fighter in the picture wants it the way it is for his wall and every member has sent me an email asking when it's their turn. I know this could be better and yes I shot in Raw and have the file if anyone wants to do some PP with it.

Let me know what you think and yes I am a big boy and nothing hurts but it is the best way to learn when people are honest with you.

The only PP as the watermark because some said I should mark it.

Thank you
    Art

Exposure: 10sec
    Focal Length: 50mm
    ISO: 200
    Flash: Did not fire
    Lens: 50mm 1.8g

Equipment used: Nikon D5000, 50MM 1.8G, Tripod, DD Battery Flash light, 1 Plastic grocery bag.