PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone shopped here / is this place reputable?


psykon99
09-03-2007, 07:14 AM
I found this online camera store, and they have some unbelievable prices - on what they say is U.S.A. equipment. Is anyone familiar? Is it worth it?

http://www.expresscameras.com/

odark30
09-03-2007, 07:25 AM
They are a HUGE rip-off!!! I bought a Tamron 2x Teleconvertor ($140.00) but when my Credit card statement came, they had charged me $649. I have filed a complaint with my CC Company because they (express camera) wouldn't talk to me or respond to my emails. They did at first say to return the merchandise...right, and have NOTHING for 649???
B&H Photo, Adorama, Amazon...You can't go wrong there!

psykon99
09-03-2007, 07:34 AM
They are a HUGE rip-off!!! I bought a Tamron 2x Teleconvertor ($140.00) but when my Credit card statement came, they had charged me $649. I have filed a complaint with my CC Company because they (express camera) wouldn't talk to me or respond to my emails. They did at first say to return the merchandise...right, and have NOTHING for 649???
B&H Photo, Adorama, Amazon...You can't go wrong there!

Wow! That's terrible! Has anyone else had a similiar or better experience?

Saralonde
09-03-2007, 02:39 PM
From resellerratings (http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Express_Cameras). In general, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I'd avoid them.

psykon99
09-03-2007, 02:58 PM
From resellerratings (http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Express_Cameras). In general, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I'd avoid them.

Thanks. I did a little Google hunt earlier this morning and found some pretty terrible stuff. I'll stick with BH.

Thanks!

RussHeath
09-07-2007, 08:22 AM
I did some research into these guys before buying my gear. They are a bait-and-switch operation all the way. They sell you what seems to be a straightforward piece of gear, then call you after you place the order to ask if you want to "upgrade." Their "upgrade" is actually just getting all the stuff your camera was supposed to come with in the first place!! If you insist on only getting what you originally agreed to, they tell you it's on backorder indefinitely.

I got my Canon SD800IS from a similar operation and felt completely violated. The premiums charged by Adorama, Ritz, Amazon, and B&H are worth the piece of mind that they provide.

Amigone201
09-07-2007, 01:32 PM
How about Vanns? I'm looking to buy from them soon. Their Reseller Rating is very good, but I want to hear from you guys.

Saralonde
09-07-2007, 04:09 PM
I am not familar with Vanns, but their ratings look ok. Are they local for you? Their internet prices seem a little high.

xxpinballxx
09-07-2007, 04:21 PM
From agonizing over what some sites offer the D80 for I have learned that there are not too many places online to buy that are worry free. The majority are scams using bait nd switch of overcharging CC's. I been trying to buy a camera for over 2 months it seems but am so leary to buy online. Especially a 1300 dollar purchase. I say if resellerratings doesnt list them and you can't talk to someone then no way buy from them. I'm just going to say forget the notion of finding a phenomenal deal and just get a fair price on this type of stuff.

Amigone201
09-08-2007, 12:19 AM
I am not familar with Vanns, but their ratings look ok. Are they local for you? Their internet prices seem a little high.

Unfortunately, no, they're in Montana. But they have free shipping and no tax, and this is their deal on the camera I'm looking to buy:

http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/item/features/495704253

I'm also pleased with the stuff it comes with, just for that price: lens hood, charger, and USB cable.

Saralonde
09-08-2007, 03:23 AM
Yeah, their price looks good for that camera and their seller ratings look pretty good.

Sumo Budah
10-26-2007, 01:46 PM
I know this thread is a bit old but a friend of mine tried to order the XTI off from this site and has been waiting for his camera for 8 months, no charges on his Credit Card and absolutly no communication from them no matter how many times he calls and emails.

Saralonde
10-26-2007, 02:30 PM
Is your friend sure they got the order? Is there a way he can cancel the order through his credit card and reorder from another place?

yokolok
10-26-2007, 02:46 PM
i would think that after 8 months and no charge, the order was possibly not processed...maybe he missed a step in the order? was it done online? did he print out the order form? by the way, which store was this?

best would also be to call the credit card company and as them what he/she should do...

Sumo Budah
10-26-2007, 02:48 PM
They responded once right after the order and said that they didnt have it in stock but would ship it right after they got it in. He only orded it because it was like $230 for a body and he has an XT so its not a huge deal that he hasnt got it. Its just that they arnt responding anymore. He has been watching his Credit Card Statement waiting but there hasnt been anything.

I'd like to get a 40D, their kit is $689 but with his expirence im thinkin its not a good idea.

http://www.expresscameras.com was the store and he has all of the confirmation emails

yokolok
10-26-2007, 02:55 PM
Sumo - go back to the first few posts in this thread...count your friend lucky he wasn't charged!!! and he should call the credit card company to make sure he doesn't get charged in the future!

it doesn't seem like it's on the up and up...

Sumo Budah
10-26-2007, 03:05 PM
Yea, he found the reseller ratings (http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Express_Cameras) site after he placed the order and figures that his order was canceled because he didnt take the offer to switch when they called.

JAHphoto
10-31-2007, 06:21 PM
For shopping advice.. I always use froogle.com and sort the search by seller rating.. never been ripped off yet :p

mangia
10-31-2007, 11:50 PM
Before you buy please check http://www.resellerratings.com

That is the only way to avoid problems... Unfortunately this is not the only one company who has similar business principles...