Capture - Camera Clip System | Review - Digital Photography School

Capture – Camera Clip System | Review

A note from Peak Design : When you shop on peakdesignltd.com, buy anything ($19.99 or more) and enter “dpschool” upon checkout to get 10% off the entire cart.

PLEASE NOTE : We have named a winner! Congrats Paul Seymour!

Two things I’ll mention first – We are giving away a Capture and a thinkTankPhoto Pro Speed Belt to someone that pops a comment on how they would use Capture below and likes the Capture Facebook page

Capture Camera Clip System | Review

Capture and thinkTankPhoto Pro Speed Belt play very nicely together

I’ve had ‘Capture’ for a while now. Being blind sided by products that I’m allowed to use for two weeks, review and send back is not one of of my favourite things. So I’ve chosen a path of using the gear for a good while before putting pen to paper – I hope in the long run, that this saves you guys buying rubbish!

Get Your Capture Here with your dPS special discount (Password at the end of the review)

Peak Design are a company I came to hear about through one of my clients, thinkTankPhoto, both based in California, capture were doing some product testing after a successful KickStarter campaign, and got in touch to try out their little gizmo with the thinkTank range of bags.

What is Capture? Very simply, Capture is a way to attach your camera to your person, and grab it when you need it, on the fly, and not worry about it crashing to the ground and smashing into a million tiny very expensive pieces! (Though, if you’re some sort of crazy camera gun slinger, and you’ve not practiced enough – nothing is going to save you from yourself!)

Would you like fries with that? Canon 5dMKII & 70-200 f/2.8IS on Capture

Capture is a sturdy as all hell, machined clip that screws onto your bag strap or belt with use of two large headed easy to turn screws and one large plate, then the included Arca compatible plate that you’ve attached to your camera (base plate also works well with my 3LeggedThing Brian) slips into the device, clipping firmly into place, and there’s a twist lock for if you’re not going to use your camera for a bit – you simply screw it shut and that camera ain’t going any place fast.

As you can see above, Capture isn’t simply for the smaller lenses and works fine with the mildly heavy Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS L lens, Make sure it clicks in solidly – as it did for me every time, thankfully.

The baseplate also has hand strap attachment loops for those of you that do, and the whole thing comes with a lifetime guarantee.

The baseplate with the strap loops visible…

I have to admit, I was initially a little skeptical, I have and use BlackRapid straps, and have never had a problem with them – I think Capture is a departure from straps for me, though. As soon as I screwed Capture down onto my camera belt system, and slotted the camera in – I thought to myself, I’ll be using this from now on.

But why?

Why indeed No straps getting in the way of anything, ever, and the ability to use Capture to change lenses changed the way I shoot – I used to take two cameras on every shoot (music, live, mostly) and to avoid the quick awkward changing of a lens, I’d have two bodies with a 16-35 and a 70-200 onboard. What Capture has allowed me to do is to slot the camera in facing up, or sideways (for those of you that are extra super dust precious) and clip off my lens, stick it in a modular pouch on my belt and slot the other lens straight in. That’s gold right there.

Changing lenses with the Capture is so awesome…

You might not change lenses every seventy four seconds, you may only have the one lens, and that’s totally fine too! Putting the camera on my backpack strap in full reach, popping the camera off when I see a photo that I want to take – hands free awesome. If I’m not taking my backpack out, if I have my Retrospective shoulder bag – I can attach it to that strap and let me camera sling down to my side – it’s just really versatile and a system that, over a few months, I’ve totally fallen in love with. Capture also happily worked with my second body which has a battery grip attached – it did pull down a little harder, with the extra angle, but gave no usage issues…

Canon 30D / 24-70L / Capture on the thinkTankPhoto Pro Speed Belt

In practice, I’ve not had any of those “argggghh!” moments, intact, I’ve only had “ahhh” moments with this thing – it really is very good.

Loves;

  • Solid CLICK tells you your camera is locked in.
  • Big screw downs for big fingers.
  • Fits every bag / belt I own (and that’s a lot!)
  • Machined like a brick.. if a brick was made from sweet aluminium that is..

DisLoves;
Ummm? That’s the sound of wind whistling through tumbleweeds….

A well thought out and brilliantly executed product – eleven stars (the Simon star rating system is out of eleven and based on quality, price, availability, ease of use and customer service)

–Sime

A note from Peak Design : When you shop on peakdesignltd.com, buy anything ($19.99 or more) and enter “dpschool” upon checkout to get 10% off the entire cart.

Summary
Reviewer
Sime
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Capture - Camera Clip System
Author Rating
4

If you enjoyed this article, you might also like...

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category.

Sime is the community manager of the dPS Forums and lead blogger in our Cameras and Gear Blog. He's a Melbourne based photographer, www.gtvone.com and please feel free to follow him on Twitter

  • Laura

    This looks like a great system! I spend a lot of time climbing, crawling about in mud and hanging off rocks and regular straps are no use to me at all! I swapped to a handheld – but that only leaves me with one hand free and I often need that for a light or torch. I don;t really know why this sort of solution had never occurred to me before! Thanks for the review! :)

  • Carrie

    I would love to get one as I think it will give me the freedom I need to get around easier in my wheelchair and not worrying about my camera moving or having to hold on to it.

  • Stephen Weisberg

    I already own one Capture and LOVE it!! Am thinking of getting a second one to use for my underwater camera while scuba diving. But, I think I’ll wait to see if I win this one before buying another! :-)

  • http://www.agdesignonline.com Shelley Franklin

    I recently went to the Ft. Worth Zoo and there is a lot of walking between the exhibits. My neck was killing me from carrying the camera around the whole zoo. This would be perfect for me on any of the photo walks that I love to go on, as well. Thanks for bringing this great product to my attention! I hope I win!

  • Irena

    Saw this on Kickstarter and immediately put it on my wish list. I would use it hiking and backpacking. I’m always having to either dig it out of my pack or hold the strap so it doesn’t snag something or bounce around. I’ve missed several shots trying to untangle myself or because my camera was not handy.

  • Lori

    I do only have 1 camera body, but a couple lens. This would be perfect so I don’t have to keep bending down to switch lens. Right now I volunteer a lot of my time at my kids school taking photos in the Performing Arts Center or I will go to my kids friends sporting events and take photos there. I do miss a lot of great moments because I am too busy switching the lens by sitting on the ground or a chair to make the switch. The belt would be great with the capture clip.

  • Corry Heinricks

    wow, this looks like something I’d love to have (especially the changing lenses tip which is soo awkard without a third hand) and am definitely going to add it to my wish list. Of course winning one would rock!

  • Patrick

    any comparisons versus the Spider-Pro and Cotton Carrier? i have the Spider-Pro, which probably started it all and I liked it with the exception of not being able to place my camera on a table once the “ball pin” is screwed into my camera. this looks like a better, easier option.

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/annarborandrew/ AAAndrew

    I bought this off of Kickstarter after having banged my 5-year-old son’s head with my camera hanging off my neck one too many times. It turns out to be one of the very best things I’ve ever bought, ever. Did I mention, ever? Walking around Duke Gardens, or around my son’s school events, and having my camera on the ready, and out of the way, is invaluable. I feel sorry now for those people struggling with their big cameras on their necks. I also have a jury-rigged system similar to the wonderful products of ThinkTank (who I just learned about), and even with just a simple waist belt pack the clip works great. It also allows me to clip the waist belt to my regular belt, which makes the whole thing even more secure. I slip the capture over both belts, so even should someone try and cut the waste pack and run off with it, they wouldn’t get very far. It’s all locked down with the capture system. Next birthday I’m looking to upgrade to a ThinkTank system, and then I’ll be truly set.

    I love my capture so much that when I had an opportunity last Christmas to buy another one at the original Kickstarter prices, I did. And I never buy something extra to sit around just because I like it. It’s that good. You’ll never go back to a neck strap again.

  • http://AlteredExposure.com Jesse Mount

    Wow, all the ways I would use this! The best reason I can think of to have one one these is to help with changing lenses when shooting an event when I don’t have anything to set the camera or lenses down on. I have many bags and cases that I could use this with. None of them give me as quick of access to my camera as I would like, so I always have my camera on my Blackrapid strap.
    This leaves my camera dangling and vulnerable to hit things. It’s also not so great for getting a shot over my head, or if I need to use a tripod either.
    Having the Capture would be great to use when I just go out with my tripod strapped to my back or when I’m using my regular non-camera gear holding backpack.
    Really, it would be so much better for any time I need to carry my camera and any other gear
    Having the blackrapid on one shoulder and another bag on the other like I often do doesn’t make things easy. Having a backpack and a blackrapid strap on at the same time is not very comfortable either. So, yeah. This would be amazing to have! I hope I win, because I am ditching all my Sony gear for Nikon and can’t afford it right now.

  • Cecilia Post

    Wow! What can I say! As a fledgling photographer, I find the neck strap that I currently use annoying and cumbersome and I “feel” so stupid when I am trying to maneuver my camera or do something with that thing around my neck! Not to mention that I feel like I’m going to swing it into something if I let it go! It’s very nerve racking!

    If I had the capture, it would make me want to bring my camera “stuff” everywhere! Right now, I get nervous when I go on hikes or anything because I’m so worried about dropping my camera equipment that I don’t pay attention to where I’m stepping! Yikes! Having Capture would be amazing and transforming for me and it would allow me the freedom of looking for that shot and not missing it when I found it!

  • http://www.maxalmontephotography.com Max Almonte

    Sometimes I hate having my to carry my bag all over the place, and in most situations having my camera in my bag. I know, I know! I shouldn’t have the camera inside the bag because of those important shots. Anyways, this Capture thing- a- ma- gig looks like it will really be helpfull when I hit the streets which means no shoulder tension from my bag or R-Strap and it will allow me to capture those moments much quicker. I would love to get my hands on it, either Free or Purchase, Free will be better since my motto is “If is Free, Its me”. Thanks for the insightful Review.

    PS>wish i could see a better picture of the plate holder.

  • Eric

    This looks amazing. I would use this when I go backpacking with my friends this summer. In the past I tried to bring my camera but it was either flopping around on my neck or stored in my backpack (out of reach!). Why bring the camera if you can’t get to it for those quick wildlife shots? What a great invention!

  • http://www.gtvone.com Sime

    Max – you mean the baseplate, or? —S

  • http://www.maxalmontephotography.com Max Almonte

    @ Sime. Yeah The base plate. The website show how to put it on a belt but is not clear, Perhaps a shot of how to secure it on a belt. Also what is your opinion on the two little knobs? are they hard to turn? Do you need to only turn them when you clip the system on a belt or everytime you clip your camera?

  • http://www.gtvone.com Sime

    Hey Max – it’s passed midnight and I should sleep – but I will take some shots for you tomorrow morning and post in the review as an update and drop you an email. Hope that helps!

    The two knobs – good and grippy, easy to turn – but you only need to use them when you fasten to your belt / strap – not when popping the camera in…

    Best,
    Sime

  • http://www.maxalmontephotography.com Max Almonte

    Thanks Sime. Totally forgot about the time difference. Have a good one. Will be waiting for those shots.

    Thanks again.

  • http://shilohacresphotography.blogspot.com HannahJoy

    I would love to have one!
    I live on a dairy farm, and would like to be able to carry my camera around with me more, whether I am working in the house, barn, gardens, playing with my 12 siblings, or just taking a walk in the woods or down the road, but I haven’t been able to figure out how to do it safely. This would be perfect!
    I also work at a camp in the summer and this would be perfect for that environment, also.

    Hannah
    P.S. I do not have Facebook, and, therefore, I can not like the Capture on Facebook.

  • marc

    Great looking system. I’d use it to carry two bodies, one in hand and one on the hip. I’d get a second connector plate to swap them out. Love to have one.

  • Matt

    This would be great to use while backpacking, in order to have the camera accessible quickly to catch wildlife.

  • pcman

    I normaly get sick and tired of carrying the camera with the default neck strap. In my last trip I finally decides to carry it on my hand with a hand strip and, although it was more comfortable than hanging on the neck, I had one hand occupied by the camera. I have found this new system and I think it would be awesome if I could have it.

  • http://www.pennysisland.com penny

    looks ideal..especially if you use a second camera on location photo shoots :)

  • http://funmommie.blogspot.com Elizabeth

    I think the Capture Clip System is awesome, and I’d love to have one, not for myself, but for my son ?. He is 16, homeschooled and a photography student in a virtual school.

    He has his own Disney Photography Blog and his dream is to be a professional photographer with his own studio in Toronto. He is very talented and I know that he can make this dream a reality.

    He has just gotten his first job at Disney, something he had been planning on for years. He was so excited to get a job, and start working so he could earn money to buy the camera equipment he needs and wants to help him take even better pictures.

    He has been helping us out though, times have been hard. I would love to win this wonderful clip to give to my son, to help his dreams come true.

    He never leaves home without his camera, and the clip is a great way to carry a large camera, and keep it handy on long photo excursions, which we often take.

    Thanks for holding this giveaway, and letting us know about such a wonderful product!

  • Newman

    I am a photo enthusiast but occasionally do favours for friends by photographing events. The last event I did was a children’s birthday party where I borrowed a second body which I carried on a Black Rapid strap. Whilst it worked well, I found it somewhat annoying that the camera was free to dangle and swing about. Every time I knelt down (which was quite often they were toddlers) the camera on the Black Rapid would hit the ground or bump in to something. Attaching the capture clip to my backpack or a thinkTank belt would eliminate the bumping whilst keeping the camera in an easy access position.
    I also often take my camera hiking. With the Capture clip my camera would be attached close to my body which would minimize the risk of it being caught on or knocked by tree branches.

  • Patty Q

    If I won this contest then you would see me rocking this at music festivals this summer!

  • http://www.photographyaxis.com Govind Vijayakumar

    Capture Clip system is indeed a useful strap. Usually my neck pains, when My camera is hung for a long time. There is an adverse effect on this while taking photos too. You start to loose patience while composing. Capture system rocks!!!

  • Bob

    I bought the Capture using the discount from DPS. Excellent service and it came in just 3 days USPS 1st class.

    I just received my Capture and went to try it out with my Think Tank Steroid belt. Unfortunately for this user there are two problems that will prevent me from using it as my main carry method for my camera. But 1st I must say it is everything that it is advertised to be. It attaches to the belt very well and the slide mechanism seems to be very sturdy and reliable and very smooth.

    But for me, I ran into a problem right away. I have a Canon 5D Mark III and attached to it my 100mm f2.8 macro with a tripod ring. The tripod ring is the problem. It is mounted on the lens close to the camrea body, so when I try to attach the camera to the capture mechanism, the locking knob on the capture just doesn’t quite clear the tripod ring. (Or vice versa :-). When I try to put the camera on the Capture device I have to wrestle with it and the same for removing it. My Black Rapid will deliver the camera much faster and more smoothly. Plus the Black Rapid strap clips to the ring on the bottom of the Manfrotto tripod plate so I never have to switch out the plate. I just have to put up with the strap and weight on my neck.

    The second thing about it, that others have made various comments about is the plate that goes on the bottom of the camera. I found that it attaches with a screw in mechanism that requires a screwdriver or thick quarter to tighten. Since I shoot with a Manfrotto tripod and use their plate, I thought oh well, I’ll just have to make the switch if I’m in the field and want to use my tripod. Unfortunately, unlike the manfrotto plate which has a little folding ring you would use to tighten and loosen it, the capture plate will not be that easy to remove to substitute my tripod plate.

    So the Capture is a good idea, but just not for this shooter… No regrets but just thought I’d share.

  • http://galostatik.com Simon

    Am still a 33 kid in the photography world. I’ve been playing with cameras for long, but the carrying part was always a set back. I just jumped in the thing, 3 years ago now. I just got my brand new D800 which can get pretty heavy when mounted with my heaviest lens. I got a messenger bag I use to carry light stuff around but nothing that can free my hands 100% until I really need the gun. It would help me get to places which might need both hands to access. I tried the shoulder strap, the neck strap, the hand strap, all of them need to be manipulated, so… no free hands…

    I got MS, which also dampers my ability to walk. My balance is bad and I need my hands to hold on to stuff when I lose balance. I think this system is the answer for most of my troubles :)

  • Jim

    Finally! This is the system I have been looking for. I’ve held off buying a Black Rapid strap, or many of the other holster/strap/bracket systems. I shoot a lot of high school sports, and I often have downtime between events, but when I put the camera in the bag, something always happens that I want to shoot. I would use this to keep my DSLR at the ready for all those perfect opportunities that I usually miss.

  • Peter K

    I take a lot of photos for my company on construction sites. They are testing and dangerous places if you are not fully aware of what you are doing and where you are.

    I can see from this review that this clip system would enhance the whole safety aspect of shooting in places where you have to climb ladders, brace yourself out of scaffold, work through confined places and the like. Your hand are free, when not shooting, to balance and keep points of contact with ladders.

    The camera is protected by being at you front and is not “swinging in the breeze” which can be a distraction and is likely to be just at the wrong time.

    This is just one benefit, I can see lots in other situations.
    Great product
    Peter

  • Cynthia

    I am travelling to St. Petersburg, Russia, this summer and the Capture would be perfect for me. I want to be able to travel quickly and change lenses in a flash. There will be a zillion photographic opportunities and I want to “capture” as many of them as possilble, to the best of my ability. From what I hear, the Capture is the BEST out there. I would LOVE to win one!

  • mercy

    Am going to Africa fo a Safari .I dont want to bring my laptop to download the pictures.I bought an external drive to recognize the card 500gb for 170.00 dol.Is it better to put that monney to buy the sony tablet 32 gb for 400 dol. and download the pictures and then have jumb drive and download to them.I dont know if I can do that and then I can use the tablet too..Any advise.Thank you

  • Bruce A

    I see in the photograpghs the ends of the lens seems to rub against the hip or leg. I think this would make it difficult keeping a hood attached or somewhat uncomfortable. If the clip had an angle adjustment to keep the lens pointed a little away from one’s leg it would be more suitable for those who wish to keep a hood on their lens. Also changing plates for my tripod would be a pain. Unfortunately, I don’t think it’s for me.

  • http://www.pbfphotography.com Patrick

    I just picked up the 5.11 Tactical thigh rig and their H2O carrier with the thought that can carry my 28-200 f/2.8 IS lens in it (sans hood) on my thigh for quick lens swaps. Combine that with this capture system and I can effectively go bagless and carry my camera and my main two lenses. I’ve already decided to get one of these and I haven’t even seen the price yet. You guys can thank ThinkTankPhoto for linking this page.

  • Frank Kohn

    Finally a no strap alternative for my second camera and a way for me to keep it out of the way when wading through deeper water! I can hold one camera and keep the second one clipped to a backpack strap or shoulder strap. And the handstrap option allows a secure hold as well.

  • http://liveseyimages.com dennis

    I have to do a rock concert in a club soon. I think my Think Tank belt and Capture would do it!

  • Sam d

    Seems like a great locution to shooting all the swim meets. I really like the idea of having a better place to change lenses at places where every surface if often wet

  • http://jvburton.smugmug.com/ Jeanette Burton

    This is GENIUS…as a 50 year old woman photographer. I began my career late, my biggest challenge is fibromyalgia. I shoot using two or three cameras and the weight, is mind blowing painful. The challenge is 100 fold when I’m shooting at Comic-Con…as an event photographer, the crowds are in the 100,000 and even with a backpack you can’t move. This new addition would be like manna from “Heaven”…

Some older comments

  • Jeanette Burton

    May 1, 2012 12:14 am

    This is GENIUS...as a 50 year old woman photographer. I began my career late, my biggest challenge is fibromyalgia. I shoot using two or three cameras and the weight, is mind blowing painful. The challenge is 100 fold when I'm shooting at Comic-Con...as an event photographer, the crowds are in the 100,000 and even with a backpack you can't move. This new addition would be like manna from "Heaven"...

  • Sam d

    April 30, 2012 11:27 pm

    Seems like a great locution to shooting all the swim meets. I really like the idea of having a better place to change lenses at places where every surface if often wet

  • dennis

    April 30, 2012 10:45 pm

    I have to do a rock concert in a club soon. I think my Think Tank belt and Capture would do it!

  • Frank Kohn

    April 30, 2012 10:34 pm

    Finally a no strap alternative for my second camera and a way for me to keep it out of the way when wading through deeper water! I can hold one camera and keep the second one clipped to a backpack strap or shoulder strap. And the handstrap option allows a secure hold as well.

  • Patrick

    April 30, 2012 06:34 pm

    I just picked up the 5.11 Tactical thigh rig and their H2O carrier with the thought that can carry my 28-200 f/2.8 IS lens in it (sans hood) on my thigh for quick lens swaps. Combine that with this capture system and I can effectively go bagless and carry my camera and my main two lenses. I've already decided to get one of these and I haven't even seen the price yet. You guys can thank ThinkTankPhoto for linking this page.

  • Bruce A

    April 28, 2012 07:15 am

    I see in the photograpghs the ends of the lens seems to rub against the hip or leg. I think this would make it difficult keeping a hood attached or somewhat uncomfortable. If the clip had an angle adjustment to keep the lens pointed a little away from one's leg it would be more suitable for those who wish to keep a hood on their lens. Also changing plates for my tripod would be a pain. Unfortunately, I don't think it's for me.

  • mercy

    April 28, 2012 03:39 am

    Am going to Africa fo a Safari .I dont want to bring my laptop to download the pictures.I bought an external drive to recognize the card 500gb for 170.00 dol.Is it better to put that monney to buy the sony tablet 32 gb for 400 dol. and download the pictures and then have jumb drive and download to them.I dont know if I can do that and then I can use the tablet too..Any advise.Thank you

  • Cynthia

    April 27, 2012 11:58 pm

    I am travelling to St. Petersburg, Russia, this summer and the Capture would be perfect for me. I want to be able to travel quickly and change lenses in a flash. There will be a zillion photographic opportunities and I want to "capture" as many of them as possilble, to the best of my ability. From what I hear, the Capture is the BEST out there. I would LOVE to win one!

  • Peter K

    April 27, 2012 09:10 am

    I take a lot of photos for my company on construction sites. They are testing and dangerous places if you are not fully aware of what you are doing and where you are.

    I can see from this review that this clip system would enhance the whole safety aspect of shooting in places where you have to climb ladders, brace yourself out of scaffold, work through confined places and the like. Your hand are free, when not shooting, to balance and keep points of contact with ladders.

    The camera is protected by being at you front and is not "swinging in the breeze" which can be a distraction and is likely to be just at the wrong time.

    This is just one benefit, I can see lots in other situations.
    Great product
    Peter

  • Jim

    April 27, 2012 04:29 am

    Finally! This is the system I have been looking for. I've held off buying a Black Rapid strap, or many of the other holster/strap/bracket systems. I shoot a lot of high school sports, and I often have downtime between events, but when I put the camera in the bag, something always happens that I want to shoot. I would use this to keep my DSLR at the ready for all those perfect opportunities that I usually miss.

  • Simon

    April 26, 2012 03:39 pm

    Am still a 33 kid in the photography world. I've been playing with cameras for long, but the carrying part was always a set back. I just jumped in the thing, 3 years ago now. I just got my brand new D800 which can get pretty heavy when mounted with my heaviest lens. I got a messenger bag I use to carry light stuff around but nothing that can free my hands 100% until I really need the gun. It would help me get to places which might need both hands to access. I tried the shoulder strap, the neck strap, the hand strap, all of them need to be manipulated, so... no free hands...

    I got MS, which also dampers my ability to walk. My balance is bad and I need my hands to hold on to stuff when I lose balance. I think this system is the answer for most of my troubles :)

  • Bob

    April 26, 2012 08:30 am

    I bought the Capture using the discount from DPS. Excellent service and it came in just 3 days USPS 1st class.

    I just received my Capture and went to try it out with my Think Tank Steroid belt. Unfortunately for this user there are two problems that will prevent me from using it as my main carry method for my camera. But 1st I must say it is everything that it is advertised to be. It attaches to the belt very well and the slide mechanism seems to be very sturdy and reliable and very smooth.

    But for me, I ran into a problem right away. I have a Canon 5D Mark III and attached to it my 100mm f2.8 macro with a tripod ring. The tripod ring is the problem. It is mounted on the lens close to the camrea body, so when I try to attach the camera to the capture mechanism, the locking knob on the capture just doesn't quite clear the tripod ring. (Or vice versa :-). When I try to put the camera on the Capture device I have to wrestle with it and the same for removing it. My Black Rapid will deliver the camera much faster and more smoothly. Plus the Black Rapid strap clips to the ring on the bottom of the Manfrotto tripod plate so I never have to switch out the plate. I just have to put up with the strap and weight on my neck.

    The second thing about it, that others have made various comments about is the plate that goes on the bottom of the camera. I found that it attaches with a screw in mechanism that requires a screwdriver or thick quarter to tighten. Since I shoot with a Manfrotto tripod and use their plate, I thought oh well, I'll just have to make the switch if I'm in the field and want to use my tripod. Unfortunately, unlike the manfrotto plate which has a little folding ring you would use to tighten and loosen it, the capture plate will not be that easy to remove to substitute my tripod plate.

    So the Capture is a good idea, but just not for this shooter... No regrets but just thought I'd share.

  • Govind Vijayakumar

    April 25, 2012 04:22 pm

    Capture Clip system is indeed a useful strap. Usually my neck pains, when My camera is hung for a long time. There is an adverse effect on this while taking photos too. You start to loose patience while composing. Capture system rocks!!!

  • Patty Q

    April 25, 2012 06:24 am

    If I won this contest then you would see me rocking this at music festivals this summer!

  • Newman

    April 24, 2012 12:40 pm

    I am a photo enthusiast but occasionally do favours for friends by photographing events. The last event I did was a children’s birthday party where I borrowed a second body which I carried on a Black Rapid strap. Whilst it worked well, I found it somewhat annoying that the camera was free to dangle and swing about. Every time I knelt down (which was quite often they were toddlers) the camera on the Black Rapid would hit the ground or bump in to something. Attaching the capture clip to my backpack or a thinkTank belt would eliminate the bumping whilst keeping the camera in an easy access position.
    I also often take my camera hiking. With the Capture clip my camera would be attached close to my body which would minimize the risk of it being caught on or knocked by tree branches.

  • Elizabeth

    April 24, 2012 05:45 am

    I think the Capture Clip System is awesome, and I'd love to have one, not for myself, but for my son ?. He is 16, homeschooled and a photography student in a virtual school.

    He has his own Disney Photography Blog and his dream is to be a professional photographer with his own studio in Toronto. He is very talented and I know that he can make this dream a reality.

    He has just gotten his first job at Disney, something he had been planning on for years. He was so excited to get a job, and start working so he could earn money to buy the camera equipment he needs and wants to help him take even better pictures.

    He has been helping us out though, times have been hard. I would love to win this wonderful clip to give to my son, to help his dreams come true.

    He never leaves home without his camera, and the clip is a great way to carry a large camera, and keep it handy on long photo excursions, which we often take.

    Thanks for holding this giveaway, and letting us know about such a wonderful product!

  • penny

    April 24, 2012 04:52 am

    looks ideal..especially if you use a second camera on location photo shoots :)

  • pcman

    April 24, 2012 04:35 am

    I normaly get sick and tired of carrying the camera with the default neck strap. In my last trip I finally decides to carry it on my hand with a hand strip and, although it was more comfortable than hanging on the neck, I had one hand occupied by the camera. I have found this new system and I think it would be awesome if I could have it.

  • Matt

    April 24, 2012 03:51 am

    This would be great to use while backpacking, in order to have the camera accessible quickly to catch wildlife.

  • marc

    April 24, 2012 02:51 am

    Great looking system. I'd use it to carry two bodies, one in hand and one on the hip. I'd get a second connector plate to swap them out. Love to have one.

  • HannahJoy

    April 24, 2012 01:56 am

    I would love to have one!
    I live on a dairy farm, and would like to be able to carry my camera around with me more, whether I am working in the house, barn, gardens, playing with my 12 siblings, or just taking a walk in the woods or down the road, but I haven't been able to figure out how to do it safely. This would be perfect!
    I also work at a camp in the summer and this would be perfect for that environment, also.

    Hannah
    P.S. I do not have Facebook, and, therefore, I can not like the Capture on Facebook.

  • Max Almonte

    April 24, 2012 12:39 am

    Thanks Sime. Totally forgot about the time difference. Have a good one. Will be waiting for those shots.

    Thanks again.

  • Sime

    April 24, 2012 12:28 am

    Hey Max - it's passed midnight and I should sleep - but I will take some shots for you tomorrow morning and post in the review as an update and drop you an email. Hope that helps!

    The two knobs - good and grippy, easy to turn - but you only need to use them when you fasten to your belt / strap - not when popping the camera in...

    Best,
    Sime

  • Max Almonte

    April 24, 2012 12:25 am

    @ Sime. Yeah The base plate. The website show how to put it on a belt but is not clear, Perhaps a shot of how to secure it on a belt. Also what is your opinion on the two little knobs? are they hard to turn? Do you need to only turn them when you clip the system on a belt or everytime you clip your camera?

  • Sime

    April 24, 2012 12:13 am

    Max - you mean the baseplate, or? ---S

  • Eric

    April 24, 2012 12:07 am

    This looks amazing. I would use this when I go backpacking with my friends this summer. In the past I tried to bring my camera but it was either flopping around on my neck or stored in my backpack (out of reach!). Why bring the camera if you can't get to it for those quick wildlife shots? What a great invention!

  • Max Almonte

    April 24, 2012 12:04 am

    Sometimes I hate having my to carry my bag all over the place, and in most situations having my camera in my bag. I know, I know! I shouldn't have the camera inside the bag because of those important shots. Anyways, this Capture thing- a- ma- gig looks like it will really be helpfull when I hit the streets which means no shoulder tension from my bag or R-Strap and it will allow me to capture those moments much quicker. I would love to get my hands on it, either Free or Purchase, Free will be better since my motto is "If is Free, Its me". Thanks for the insightful Review.

    PS>wish i could see a better picture of the plate holder.

  • Cecilia Post

    April 23, 2012 09:26 pm

    Wow! What can I say! As a fledgling photographer, I find the neck strap that I currently use annoying and cumbersome and I "feel" so stupid when I am trying to maneuver my camera or do something with that thing around my neck! Not to mention that I feel like I'm going to swing it into something if I let it go! It's very nerve racking!

    If I had the capture, it would make me want to bring my camera "stuff" everywhere! Right now, I get nervous when I go on hikes or anything because I'm so worried about dropping my camera equipment that I don't pay attention to where I'm stepping! Yikes! Having Capture would be amazing and transforming for me and it would allow me the freedom of looking for that shot and not missing it when I found it!

  • Jesse Mount

    April 23, 2012 09:15 pm

    Wow, all the ways I would use this! The best reason I can think of to have one one these is to help with changing lenses when shooting an event when I don't have anything to set the camera or lenses down on. I have many bags and cases that I could use this with. None of them give me as quick of access to my camera as I would like, so I always have my camera on my Blackrapid strap.
    This leaves my camera dangling and vulnerable to hit things. It's also not so great for getting a shot over my head, or if I need to use a tripod either.
    Having the Capture would be great to use when I just go out with my tripod strapped to my back or when I'm using my regular non-camera gear holding backpack.
    Really, it would be so much better for any time I need to carry my camera and any other gear
    Having the blackrapid on one shoulder and another bag on the other like I often do doesn't make things easy. Having a backpack and a blackrapid strap on at the same time is not very comfortable either. So, yeah. This would be amazing to have! I hope I win, because I am ditching all my Sony gear for Nikon and can't afford it right now.

  • AAAndrew

    April 23, 2012 08:50 pm

    I bought this off of Kickstarter after having banged my 5-year-old son's head with my camera hanging off my neck one too many times. It turns out to be one of the very best things I've ever bought, ever. Did I mention, ever? Walking around Duke Gardens, or around my son's school events, and having my camera on the ready, and out of the way, is invaluable. I feel sorry now for those people struggling with their big cameras on their necks. I also have a jury-rigged system similar to the wonderful products of ThinkTank (who I just learned about), and even with just a simple waist belt pack the clip works great. It also allows me to clip the waist belt to my regular belt, which makes the whole thing even more secure. I slip the capture over both belts, so even should someone try and cut the waste pack and run off with it, they wouldn't get very far. It's all locked down with the capture system. Next birthday I'm looking to upgrade to a ThinkTank system, and then I'll be truly set.

    I love my capture so much that when I had an opportunity last Christmas to buy another one at the original Kickstarter prices, I did. And I never buy something extra to sit around just because I like it. It's that good. You'll never go back to a neck strap again.

  • Patrick

    April 23, 2012 04:52 pm

    any comparisons versus the Spider-Pro and Cotton Carrier? i have the Spider-Pro, which probably started it all and I liked it with the exception of not being able to place my camera on a table once the "ball pin" is screwed into my camera. this looks like a better, easier option.

  • Corry Heinricks

    April 23, 2012 01:03 pm

    wow, this looks like something I'd love to have (especially the changing lenses tip which is soo awkard without a third hand) and am definitely going to add it to my wish list. Of course winning one would rock!

  • Lori

    April 23, 2012 12:38 pm

    I do only have 1 camera body, but a couple lens. This would be perfect so I don't have to keep bending down to switch lens. Right now I volunteer a lot of my time at my kids school taking photos in the Performing Arts Center or I will go to my kids friends sporting events and take photos there. I do miss a lot of great moments because I am too busy switching the lens by sitting on the ground or a chair to make the switch. The belt would be great with the capture clip.

  • Irena

    April 23, 2012 12:20 pm

    Saw this on Kickstarter and immediately put it on my wish list. I would use it hiking and backpacking. I'm always having to either dig it out of my pack or hold the strap so it doesn't snag something or bounce around. I've missed several shots trying to untangle myself or because my camera was not handy.

  • Shelley Franklin

    April 23, 2012 11:05 am

    I recently went to the Ft. Worth Zoo and there is a lot of walking between the exhibits. My neck was killing me from carrying the camera around the whole zoo. This would be perfect for me on any of the photo walks that I love to go on, as well. Thanks for bringing this great product to my attention! I hope I win!

  • Stephen Weisberg

    April 23, 2012 07:53 am

    I already own one Capture and LOVE it!! Am thinking of getting a second one to use for my underwater camera while scuba diving. But, I think I'll wait to see if I win this one before buying another! :-)

  • Carrie

    April 23, 2012 07:44 am

    I would love to get one as I think it will give me the freedom I need to get around easier in my wheelchair and not worrying about my camera moving or having to hold on to it.

  • Laura

    April 23, 2012 07:12 am

    This looks like a great system! I spend a lot of time climbing, crawling about in mud and hanging off rocks and regular straps are no use to me at all! I swapped to a handheld - but that only leaves me with one hand free and I often need that for a light or torch. I don;t really know why this sort of solution had never occurred to me before! Thanks for the review! :)

  • Min M

    April 23, 2012 03:30 am

    How would I use this? All the time, that's how. I do a lot of portrait sessions and shoots with models and I often need to use my hands to make set adjustments or demonstrate poses, and so on. I have an assistant who is on hand to grab my camera, but this Capture system would make it sooo much easier to just set my camera down for a second. Love it!

  • Sander Peters

    April 23, 2012 03:16 am

    Really something I need. I make photo's for a magazine for students Industrial Engineering. When getting a tour through a factory your sometimes just see the picture perfect moment, but it is a bit impolite to ask them to wait for it until you got the camera in place. So this would be the perfect solution. Furthermore on my trips though nature it will be very useful when climbing and walking up the mountain side, where you sometimes need your hands for climbing, the camera is in the way. Without putting it back into the bag it will bounce against several rocks, would be lovely to use my camera without need to worry about it hitting some rock when climbing. At all, it would be the perfect upgrade for my current photo gear.

    Next to that, it is a good review which gives a good view about the options and possibilities by combining those accessories to upgrade your gear to the next level when you use them. Good Job.

  • Chris McConnell

    April 23, 2012 02:56 am

    I have one "Capture" already and would love to have a second with the speed belt then my wife and I wouldn't have to fight over who uses the capture clip. Of course then we would fight over the speed belt but it's never really easy is it?? : )

  • Claudia

    April 23, 2012 02:37 am

    What a brilliant concept. My favorite thing to do is to go on long hikes with my camera and it has never been comfortable to either carry a bag or to have the camera hanging down from my neck. To be able to utilize a system like Capture would be perfect... my hands would be free for easier hiking and my camera and extra lens would be right at my fingertips. I also have a farm with rescued animals and they are some of my best "models" but are incredibly nosy as I am trying to get my camera out from my bag and get it all ready to shoot. If I had my camera on my Capture, it would be easy to see the perfect shot and grab the camera and shoot. I am loving this idea. Thanks for sharing the product on this post!
    Claudia

  • Jannette Davis

    April 23, 2012 02:17 am

    This sounds just what I need, the straps just don't work for me, I hate things around my neck. And having to worry about the swing when your out in the feild. I'd love to give this a try!

  • Sherri Graham

    April 23, 2012 02:02 am

    Oh, how I would use this! I would use this TODAY at Yosemite National Park! Then later this week as I traveled to San Francisco. Why do I NEED it? Well, I'm a homeschooling mom who incorporates travel with the teaching of my 2 boys. I've recently taken up photography as my own hobby and education but am struggling w a bag system and strap due to back surgery and a torn rotator cuff. This looks perfect for me and my D3100 and all our adventures!!

  • John Richards

    April 23, 2012 01:56 am

    I just ordered one, just what I need to help with the camera strap pinching on the nerves.

  • Yakov Shapovalov

    April 23, 2012 12:59 am

    Oh, I'd like to have this thingy several years ago on my geological studies. A heavy camera on a neck strap caused me all kinds of problems and regularly bumped into objects I had to climb upon. I think my D200 would have way less scratches in that case.
    I think Capture is a must have for every photographer who travels in the mountains or just goes hiking often enough. It is a perfect solution for keeping camera safe and within easy reach. I'll certainly buy one.

  • Paul Seymour

    April 23, 2012 12:45 am

    As a crime scene photography I would use this all the time because I am constantly going back and forth between photographing, bagging evidence , and dusting prints and it would free my hands up. Slinging the camera always seems to be in the way and it always seems to swing to the front and get in the way at the worst times. I don't like to set the camera down at some crime scenes and accident scenes it's just not practice to put the camera down at all. Looks like a great product for people who need to do multiple things including taking pictures with knowing their camera is safe and at the ready.

  • Mary Delagardelle

    April 23, 2012 12:37 am

    This would be a great addition to our equipment. Following several years of aggressive cancer treatment my pelvic bones are weak, fracture easily, and I'm not able to carry my own equipment. My husband totes everything for both of us so we can continue our joint hobby. This would be a tremendous help for him and I would love to be able to give him this for father's day. I'm really impressed with the review and the advertisement. Mary

  • Richard Ch

    April 23, 2012 12:30 am

    Excellent article and ideal piece of equipment. A 'Capture Clip' would be extremely useful to stabilise the camera for pony (or larger) -trekking, when a swinging camera or one carried in a bag is potentially risky at more than a walking pace. I have 'liked' the Capture Facebook page - how does that link to here?

  • Kathy Detweiler

    April 23, 2012 12:26 am

    I would love to have this. I carry a backpack and then my camera around my neck and I've actually developed a pinched nerve in my shoulder. :( This would allow me to carry my heavy DSLR without hurting.

  • Jessica

    April 23, 2012 12:22 am

    I am always taking my kids to lots of places that would make great pictures. I would love to capture some of those precious moments!

  • ryan

    April 23, 2012 12:09 am

    I have had one of these since they were first released and I love it. I usually leave the base attached to a strap on my backpack, or occasionally use it with a belt, but it has taken a lot of the frustration away from carrying an SLR around in public. By far, my favorite use has been for hiking because it's incredibly frustrating to carry a camera in the woods. I don't want to carry the camera around my neck because of the way it swings around, and if I put it in my bag I get tired of hauling it back out every time there's a shot - I end up making compromises and missing opportunities. With the Capture, my camera is always right there, ready to go.

    My only complaint is that in some orientations, particularly with belt use, pressing the release button can be a bit awkward - it's something I've gotten used to, but it would be nice if the button were a little bit larger or if it were L-shaped to make it easier to get at.

  • Cindy

    April 22, 2012 11:54 pm

    Just what I need. I get the grandchildren, ages 4, 5, and 6, to take long walks with me, which is a major accomplishment in itself. I often wish I had my camera with me on those walks, but it's too cumbersome to carry along another bag or have it hanging around my neck, swinging back and forth. Just not comfortable, therefore I miss many photo opportunities. An upcoming trip to Maine islands with them is in the works and this would make it so much easier, as I'm sure there will be times I won't take the camera due to lack of ease. This is a fabulous piece of photo gear.

  • Tony

    April 22, 2012 11:02 pm

    I think I'm in love! When I'm riding around Toronto on my bicycle... this would be brilliant for shooting on the fly!

  • Cindy

    April 22, 2012 10:59 pm

    My recently purchased Canon 70-200 f/2.8 would sure feel much lighter when I mount it on the Capture instead of holding it during an entire event. I currently find myself holding it even though my camera strap is hanging around my neck.

  • Paul Themens

    April 22, 2012 10:42 pm

    I have the R strap and I am very satisfied with it but, reading your comments on this camera clip system and the fact that I own 4 lenses (at this time) 300mm, 50mm, 28-135mm, 17-50mm, this system seems to facilitate lens changing with ease and I like that idea. On the same outing I can switch from bird photography to portrait and/or landscape in no time at all.
    Thank you for the info

  • Lucas

    April 22, 2012 10:07 pm

    I think, like you, this would be a perfect replacement for my black rapid strap.. or compliment if I needed to carry two bodies. Thanks for the solid and helpful review.

  • Graham

    April 22, 2012 09:56 pm

    It would be perfect, if only it worked with other Arca style plates. Many of us have an Arca-style L bracket already on our cameras and would love to use them with this device.

    I sponsored its development on Kickstarter and would use it MUCH more (and buy more) if only I didn't have to hassle and change plates.........

    Cheers

  • Mike

    April 22, 2012 09:33 pm

    I recently purchased this and love it! Gave my strap to my wife! However, I am trying to figure a retrofit to allow a tether/leash to be clipped onto the camera and the other end onto a strap (Think Tank shoulder strap connected to the pro belt?) for those times where you want a little extra security but less straps in the way (kinda like the cotton carrier tether)

    That will be nice when in situations where your camera could be bumped out of your hands or on a boat.

  • Terrell

    April 22, 2012 09:30 pm

    I own a Capture and it's great. I would like to have another for my belt, since I am using my current one on a backpack. Some days, a backpack is just overkill, so a Capture on a good utility belt would be ideal.

  • James Taylor

    April 22, 2012 09:30 pm

    Being an urban photographer, I'm always on the go. This would fit perfectly right on the waist. Besides, it would also make me look almost as cool as Batman. What photographer doesn't want that?

  • Alican Gültekin

    April 22, 2012 09:07 pm

    Having only my Nikon strap which came with the camera, I think this tool would be of great help when I'm out on the streets for spontaneous "capture". Instead of putting my camera in the not-so-good bag I have when I'm changing locations, I could just attach to Capture and not miss the opportunities which can come up while moving.

  • Benjamin Schleer

    April 22, 2012 07:09 pm

    I'd love to own one of these Things! I'm following them for a while now and the more I read about it, the more I want it. I Would use it on my Outdoor Tours, while hiking And more important I Would use it just every Time! Because the best Camera is the One you always have with yourself. Most good pictures Pop up when you are around in your daily life. Capture could help me a Lot to capture them! :)

  • Martin

    April 22, 2012 06:50 pm

    I remember reading about this a while ago when they were still in pre-production. It's nice that they're actually on the market now. I've been looking at this system, as well as the spider clips, but find this one to be one step ahead, as it has the ability to "lock" in place in order to reduce the opportunist from grabbing the camera. I tend to do a lot of travelling and sightseeing with my camera. It hasn't served in a "professional" purpose per say, but my friends and family always appreciate the pictures I bring back.

    Though, from experience, I can surely say that my shoulders and neck feel it by the end of the day when I carry that body, lens and flash around to shoot people and places from dawn 'til dusk. I would use it to attach the camera to a belt and leave the shoulders to carry the bag as I hike through the mountains and streets of the world.

  • Jay Hocking

    April 22, 2012 05:58 pm

    Would love to have enough to keep one on my belt and one on each of the bags I use, to make swapping cameras during a shoot easier. I can see that with just one, even with a plate on each camera, it would be an awkward operation to unclip one, and hold both cameras while you clip in the other. Hope I win one here!

  • Sarah Grace

    April 22, 2012 04:45 pm

    This might as well be Christmas Morning for me - this is EXACTLY what I have been looking for! :) Simply fantastic Peak Design!

    I am a portrait photographer, so I am seeing the awesome use of switching lenses easily - total brilliance - but what I REALLY want this for is when I travel with my little family. Disneyland in November would be so much more 'do-able' if I had a way to clip my Nikon onto my belt and/or backpack. Hands free at Disney is a must - but so are awesome photos! I could do both with this gear!

    Thanks DPS for introducing me to this!

  • Paul Tran

    April 22, 2012 03:56 pm

    I have two methods using the Capture, on my belt or on one of my backpack straps when going the distance. It'll be great knowing that my camera is secure and comfortable to wear, making me feel streamlined as I make my way through crowds. ;p

  • Alexx

    April 22, 2012 03:52 pm

    I want to enter!

    I'm a disney photographer (Site: http://disney-photography-blog.blogspot.com/ ) and I spend several days a week walking around the parks taking pictures of people and the atmosphere. Straps can begin to become a big and uncomfortable hastle nearing midday.

    Firstly, it's crowded and my camera sticks out like 23cm from my skinny chest.
    Secondly it's hot hot and a strap can become a heavy sweaty drag.
    And finally, it's hard to manage on things like rides and such (you can get some cool shots on rides).

    If I had a clip system I could attach the camera to my belt and hold it discreetly, lightly and low profile in between shots, and quickly release it when I need it. And trust me, it would be a REALLY great thing to have for my field of art.

    -Alexx.

    Btw, I liked the page.

  • Gail Wilver

    April 22, 2012 02:04 pm

    I am extremely interested in the Capture Clip System. I haven't seen anything that's interested me so much in several years. As I age, I find that I need two hands to do a lot more now than I used to, i.e. climbing over fences, getting on and off boats, climbing on top of stuff to get a better view, etc. Leaving my camera hanging on a strap around my neck definately doesn't work so I always have to put the camera in my Lowepro back pack (the kind that also swings around to the front for easy access). Before I purchase the Capture Clip System, I'd like a chance to win one.

  • Franklin

    April 22, 2012 01:45 pm

    I would use it to carry my camera around either on my backpack or black rapid strap (maybe, if it's comfortable), or maybe I'll get a belt, or maybe give it to my cousin.

  • Jonathan Dang

    April 22, 2012 01:23 pm

    I purchased the capture when it was first announced and released and have been using it constantly ever since then. It is an awesome camera holder that gives new look on camera holding. My photographic capabilities is wide ranged and has put me in a large number of situations where a rock solid support for my camera was needed or else i would be many bills out the door or well in the ground.

    I use the capture to carry my camera mainly while i shoot rock climbers. Rock climbing photography has put me in a number of non-camera smart locations. I would use the think tank belt along with the capture system to give me an extra edge while shooting in these situations. It puts the camera on my hip rather then dangling off my back or side. Knowing that my camera is safe and secured on the capture and think tank belt close to my body, I can climb even harder then i would be able to without both.

  • Rian Satterwhite

    April 22, 2012 01:15 pm

    I received one of these as a gift from someone who supported their kickstarter campaign so I've been using it for a while now. I have not found a better or more secure solution for keeping my camera handy walking around and it can definitely handle any load that I've thrown at it. Highly recommended. I can see myself picking up a second sometime soon for use with a second body.

  • RMCook

    April 22, 2012 01:06 pm

    "streets"

  • RMCook

    April 22, 2012 01:04 pm

    This would allow me to be "quick on the draw" shooting on the syreets of Italy.

  • Fiona

    April 22, 2012 12:48 pm

    I would strap one of these onto my DP to double his sexy level, and free him from his annoying camera straps and dangling camera. I've seen him eyeing my Capture, I know it's only a matter of time before he gives in to temptation...

  • adam

    April 22, 2012 12:34 pm

    I'd use it anytime I was taking photos!

  • Laura

    April 22, 2012 11:18 am

    I photograph for my family's farm businesses, and much of that involves some pretty vigorous hiking. I could certainly use something more comfortable, convenient, and safe like this for my camera! Looks great!

  • Jp

    April 22, 2012 11:07 am

    Looks like the password for the login page is disfunctional.
    :(

  • Mike Stahl

    April 22, 2012 09:31 am

    It gives you an extra hand. And that is awesome when you are juggling lenses or working with two cameras. You know your cam is locked in and safe. A great tool.

  • David Lambert

    April 22, 2012 09:12 am

    Looks interesting. Right now, I use a Lowepro TLZ on my chest when I'm hiking, and while I like the protection of the bag, something like this would really be handy every once in a while. I really like the discussion of quick lens changes, as I think this would be helpful quite often.

  • Ari K

    April 22, 2012 09:10 am

    Would be great to have when there's active precip...could keep my gear under a jacket safe and dry until the moment I want it.

  • Y. Chan

    April 22, 2012 08:48 am

    I currently use my cameras strapless. Hate the straps either dangling in front of the lens or catching on something. So I need to keep my cameras in my backpack or shoulder bag, which means my camera is just not at hand when I want to take a shot. The Capture system would be an awesome way to star strapless while keeping the camera where your hands are!

  • D S Douglas

    April 22, 2012 07:51 am

    There is no better way to explore cities than by bicycle. However, when I see something of interest, it is a pain to pull my d5000 out of my lowepro bag while holding up the bicycle too. This could really simplify things, letting me hang the camera off the back pack strap, ready to go at a moments notice.

  • Pavel Diatchenko

    April 22, 2012 07:27 am

    Thanks for this opportunity and a fine article. I'm going to travel around Italy in a couple of months and a Capture would be invaluable, both in and out of the cities. It will also give more peace of mind in crowded streets which is invaluable!

  • Ray McMullen

    April 22, 2012 07:21 am

    I would use this addition to my arsenal while on the street. no need to go in and out of the bag, it would be right there waiting for me.

  • Kyle

    April 22, 2012 07:00 am

    I also use BlackRapid straps, but lately when shooting crowded, all day, events, I've had to hand carry my main camera because I need to carry my bag during the event. I use a single shoulder sling style bag (Chrome Niko) and it just does not play well with BR style straps. This means a lot of boosting my camera up over the heads of crowds when trying to navigate through them and carefully cradling my camera when changing lenses. What looks like a great advantage of this Capture system is that it let's you keep the camera within the profile of your body, which is fantastic when dealing with crowds, and that is exactly how I'd use it.

  • P.

    April 22, 2012 06:27 am

    I own one. Been using it for few month. Great piece of gear, best used on backpack strap (rather than on a belt, in my opinion.
    Best companion for your camera, esp. if weatherproof !

  • Thomas Dral

    April 22, 2012 06:27 am

    It looks realy good and handy, the straps are always in you're way when you're shooting or the straps are to short if you want to shoot something special or above you're head . So the system like this will be verry handy no more straps on you're camera just let the camera rest on you're belt or bag for easy and quick acces without opening you're backpack to get you're camera,

    I see a lot of opportunities to use this. While working in a studio or out on the streets. And you have some extra security when changing you're lensens if needed. You can now use both hands to store you're lens and get other one to put on you're camera. Also when you're using 2 bodys with 2 different lensens is will be a good option to put the camera on you're belt and not on a strap on you're shoulder. On you're belt they are much more steady than on a a strap. So i deffinitly will be using this Capture clip system.

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Sign up to the free DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download
Today’s Deal: 100 professional Lightroom presets for $10!BUY NOW
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER

DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed